2009 Honda Odyssey

Change Vehicle

2009 Honda Odyssey

Available in 4 styles:  2009 Honda Odyssey Passenger Van shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$11,921–$24,769

Estimated MPG

16–17 city / 23–25 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

Honda 2009 Odyssey

by Smokey from Philadelphia, PA | July 11, 2013

Bought this van used as I needed good space for vacations. The van has good space for 4-5 hour trips with adolescents.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Buyer's Remorse

by Leases 4evr from san francisco, CA | April 14, 2013

Purchased a new loaded EX-L before doing research on this model's longevity. Bad idea. A few things to note: this model has a well-documented reputation for major transmission issues, ie. failures, breakdown and also brake system issues (Google: Honda Odyssey transmission problems, " brake problems). Aalso, after talking with a few Honda technician friends my fears are further substantiated. The root of the problem is design flaw. Honda has decided to use a light duty transmission to operate a 5,000 pound family hauler. This results in an overworked system and premature failure. Same can be said for the brakes, which are too small for such a heavy vehicle. Many older Odysseys that you see on the road are on their 2nd or 3rd transmission. Recall? None in existence. Why would a manufacturer who consistently is rated as the top minivan spend the money to fix their top seller? Sienna's have some electrical issues (i've researched) and other stuff. But a bad transmission and brake system and battery/charging is expensive and unforgiveable oversight. Ridiculous!!! All I wanted was a convenient family hauler with sliding doors. If I could do it all over again, I would LEASE vans until the kids got old enough then just finance non-vans afterwards. FYI my '09 has just short 30k miles and is babied. It already has signs of transmission grinding and frustrating elecrical draws/battery problems (another bad design, also common to Siennas--Google this). I love the interior/exterior design, the performance, and the conveniences, but this is dwarfed by the mechanical problems. Don't even THINK of buying this vehicle used to save money, much less new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


great van!

by ddPp from lansdale | August 11, 2012

Fun to ride. Feels like a car. Great mileage and comfort. Safe to haul kids. Easy to change seating options.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Comfort and Reliability

by DangHolt from Mid Missouri | June 26, 2012

Having owned 3 minivans from other makers I have a pretty good handle on features and what being a minivan is all about. Convenience items are fine as long as there is build quality backing it and Honda excels in this. The seats are very comfortable, the cabin is well insulated and quiet. The seating position and ergonomics are well thought out and deliver the touch and feel of a well built design. By far and away the best minivan I've owned. However there are some features that are missing that I've become used to. No auto on/off headlamps. No multi-readout displays for ambient temp, avg. mpg or distance to empty on the fuel tank. The fuel mileage is a disappointment as it is a stretch to get 21 on the highway. No hands free bluetooth for the phone (an option with Nav system only) and not enough aux ports to plug in cell phone chargers and such that seem to travel with families these days. All of that aside the Odyssey is a joy to drive and with confidence that it will perform without hesitation in all aspects. The A/C does a great job of cooling a large vehicle and the interior room easily accommodates a load of 6' adults with storage room to spare. It will be hard to consider any other van after having this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Needed room for a third carseat

by Mommyof2boys from Orange county, ca | June 18, 2012

So far I love it! Very mommy friendly. Biggest complaint is no auto headlights and dvd/radio complicated to use. Gas milage not great, but okay.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Love My Odyssey!

by Daisy from | July 29, 2011

I absolutely love my Honda Odyssey!!! Best van I have had yet...very reliable van will never get any other make of van.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Honda's are built tuff

by Tally122 from New York ny | March 1, 2011

Bought a EX-L 2009 brand new on 7/7/09 I don't even have 2 years and I have 37 thousand plus highway and city miles and all iv done is the oil change when due nothing else no brakes nothings and it runs and feels like a champ..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Way Better Than an SUV

by New Van Owner from Wisconsin | February 26, 2011

This is the first Minivan I've owned as we have 1year old twins to transport. I have had other hondas along with many jeep products in the past. The comfort and refinement is unsurpassed in Minivan segment and get better milage than expected. I will routinely get 25mpg in the highway and the DVD player is excellent. If you want a great van for the family, the Odyssey is the best way to go!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Ride!

by Dartan from Upstate, NY | June 21, 2010

First Honda I have owned. The steering is responsive for a minivan and the ride is very smooth. Very solid construction, nothing rattles. Plenty of leg room for both driver and passengers. This minivan is wider than others allowing elbow room for the passengers in the back rows. The only improvement I would recommend is to have auto-sensing headlights for all models as opposed to my version which is manual.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


my second Odyssey

by second owner from Oakland, CA | April 18, 2010

Just pick up my second Odyssey i owned a 2005 EXL, we love it. We got a used 2009 EXL with 10K Miles on it. paided 10K less then MSRP. 09 drives better and less road noise compaired to 05. Honda did a better job on this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Honda Odyssey.


Featured Services for this Honda Odyssey

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.