2004 Honda Pilot

Change Vehicle
2004 Honda Pilot
Available in 3 styles:  2004 Honda Pilot 4dr 4x4 Sport Utility shown
Asking Price Range
$4,577–$12,009
Estimated MPG

17 city / 22 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

21 out of 23 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 23 reviews

Honda Pilot

by Taxi mom from Springfield, Mo | July 3, 2014

I love the spacing and the drive of this vehicle. It has split seats for hauling things and carry extra passengers. I love the fact that I can change radio stations at the finger tips on the wheel and has front and back window wiper blades. The fact that I haven't used the A/C on it due to the temperature control is excellent. There is a master cruise control button and then can set the cruise control and turn it off is amazing feature. I love the way it handles for a 4 wheel drive vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Reliable and Dependable Honda Pilot

by Jazzman from Columbia, MD | May 14, 2014

I have driven my Honda Pilot for the last ten years (210,000) and it is the most reliable and dependable car that I have ever owned. It is also the very best vehicle for moving stuff in and out of college dorms, packing things up for vacation (you can even drive it on the beach). This car has been comfortable for up to 7 people as their are extra hidden seats that fold up in the back.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


10-12 mpg; problem with shaking; bad transmission

by Josh from Rhode Island | July 17, 2013

1. Horrendous shimmy when I first bought the car; new tires, balancing and several alignments seem to have helped, but the shake is still there. 2. When the car hits overdrive or 5th gear (not sure which), sometimes there's a grind and sometimes there's a grumble - Not sure how this will end. 3. It's a big wide car - not like some large SUV's, but it took me some getting use to. Especially in Boston. 4. Over 100,000 miles and the engine does not leak oil between changes, so it seems solid. 5. The driver's manual suggests that you don't lock the differentials (VTM-4) when turning tight corners on on-road surfaces. You shouldn't need to lock them under those conditions, but it implies the differentials are weak. 6. Power is so-so, but the A/C really seems to draw from the power. Then again, who cares about the 0.5 seconds you might lose. Test driver advice: (a) take it up to 85 to see if it shakes, especially at the steering wheel (b) Make sure the transmission shifts smoothly

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great Grandkid Hauler

by Nana to Five from Suffolk, VA | January 27, 2013

Bought my 2004 Pilot used in Dec 2007 with 46,000 miles, now has 130,000 miles and going strong. Original brake pads just replaced at 125,000, and had the timing belt/105,000 mile service done, so should be good for at least 200,000 miles. Able to take all 5 Grandkids to the pool or park with no problems. Adding a rooftop luggage hauler makes the longer trips with adults and kids easy. Amazed at how the value has held. Paid $22K for the Pilot used, and the Credit Union recently listed it's value at $11K...and that's for a 9 year old vehicle that originally cost $34K new. Will buy another one when the time comes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Good buy

by Mother of 2 from Bethesda, MD | September 25, 2012

I bought my used 2004 Honda Pilot with 66,000 miles in it and had to pay $1300.00 to replace the brake pads. Other than that I really like my car. It is powerful, I feel safe driving it with my kids, and manuverability is excellent despite its rather large body. The gas mileage is not too bad either for an SUV. It's been great!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


RELIABLE CAR

by HUS from ND/ Grand Forks | July 26, 2012

I BOUGHT THIS CAR WITH 193 Km on it and it still can move forward to 200km if you treat it well, it's avery good car for young and old men, wide and good for heigh way, hunting and snow

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Love Honda Pilot But Wish It Was Longer !

by HondaMan from Hagerstown, MD | July 15, 2012

I love my Honda Pilot but wish It was longer ! I need the 3rd row seats plus cargo room ! Now I have to pick one or the other ! Honda needs to make the Pilot longer to compete with Yukon and Suburban. I dont really want v8 but I will soon need a longer SUV since I need the 3rd row PLUS cargo room ! Hope Honda fixes this problem .. This is my 5th Honda so I hope they make a longer v6 or better yet v4 Pilot soon ! Honda, make the best family SUV even better soon and your sales will skyroket !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Love, Love, Love this Honda!

by Gramajo5 from Shawnee, KS | July 28, 2011

This car has been wonderful! I bought it used and have had no problems with it. The gas milage isn't wonderful but better than expected! It has loads of room and is very comfy inside. I love the seat warmers in the winter - but not so chachi on the leather seats in the summer. I would defiantly buy another pilot! I can fit two car seats and 4 older kids in the car - no problem! Loads of room!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Love the Car hate the lousy gas milage

by Jersey Bill from Middlesex County, New Jersey | July 18, 2011

I bought this car used to tow a boat and carry kayaks. It is great for all that and it holds a ton of stuff! Very reliable. Downsides are very bad gas mileafe (15-17 mpg) and the paint chips easily. So, this is a perfect second car for carrying family and toys (bikes, boat, kayaks, etc.) but it is NOT a good first car for high mileage driving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Great Car for families

by CattyCars from new york, NY | June 6, 2011

this is a car for families who just want to travel to locations or to have a road trip. Great car, and has little problems. Comfortable and reliable, you can count on this car to last forever, i like this car because it spacious whil e also compact. this is a car to try out if you have a small family, and looking to save on gas, great car(:

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 23 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda Pilot

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.