1999 Honda Prelude

Change Vehicle
1999 Honda Prelude
Available in 2 styles:  Prelude 2dr Coupe SH shown
Asking Price Range
$1,932–$7,796
Estimated MPG

22 city / 27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

not sure on this car

by rockstarmuscleboxer from Virginia | April 3, 2014

It handles really good, best car to handle corners and curves! But dang ignition switch went bad, next leaking oil from every single gasket, radiator busted, right after the hose went 10min after replacing it. Trunk leaking water inside itself smh! the standard spark plugs and wires, weak! Had to upgrade them. around 145K check engine light came on! got it look at !! and cylinder 3 and 1 not firing or misfiring!! replace injector 1 and 4days later, reset the car, and its running like a champ. Changing the oil without a lift is almost impossible smh by design there! But it do run fast and handles the corners really well

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Amazing

by 1st time car owner from San Francisco, Ca | August 3, 2011

This is my first car that ive purchased, a 1999 prelude, i have driven integras, jettas but nothing feels like this car, the design will surley turn heads as well as the roar coming out of the engine. Excellent handles, when i was done signing the papers it felt like i just bought my super nintendo all over again, I will love this car until its done.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Never owned anything but a Prelude...

by Liz from Philadelphia PA | November 23, 2010

My first car was a 1988 Prelude - bought 3 years used and drove it to 150K and into the ground - the body was falling apart yet it still ran like a dream. My second car is a 1999 Prelude - bought 3 years used with 27K on it -- which I pray never dies because Honda's biggest mistake was discontinuing this model. I now have 100K and it still runs like the day I bought it ... on nothing but regular maintenance. I've never had a problem! It accelerates like a beast and hugs corners like a high performance sports car. I know I can accelerate on a dime, quickly change lanes and take tight corners like a pro and this car makes me LOVE to DRIVE! I love the look and performance of this car and I pray mine goes to 200K miles! The only complaint is the same as others - the interior is cramped, but it's meant to drive, not to transport passengers and stuff. My dog fits on the backseat and my groceries fit fine in the trunk and I've managed to even get a few things home from IKEA by putting down the back seat. If the car were any larger it would lose it's sportiness. If you love to drive, this car is one fun car! I have no idea what I'm gonna do when my Prelude finally dies (hopefully not for another 10 years), I can't imagine ever driving anything else!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


One of the best cars I've had.

by Mr. Barto from Iowa | December 4, 2009

The car is a great performer. It gets good gas for its age as long as you stay off the peddle. When taken to the track it handles like a dream I would recommend this car to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


67 years old. Best car I have owned.

by Terry from Flint MI | November 2, 2009

This car is fun and fast. The automatic is a lot of fun. You can shift it like a stick. High revs. Good gas milage. I have owned many sports cars including a 1985 Lotus Esprit, MGs, TR4, Austin Healey, many muscle cars. This is the most fun to drive of all of them. Handles great. You can't go wrong with one of these.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Hard to replace this one...

by Honda Fan from Pittsburgh | May 3, 2009

I have had my 99 Prelude for 10 years... The only thing that had to be replaced was a brake caliper and radiator hose. This is an excellent car that has amazing front-end power..feels like a lot like a turbo. Not too many cars turn heads like this one at 10 years old.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


I love this car!

by Sports car fan from | November 12, 2008

This car is sporty and fun to drive. I feel like a kid again! I would recommend a 1999 Honda Prelude to anyone who enjoys a great car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


love it, great ride

by honda nut from orange county,ca | January 29, 2008

great car , fun to drive, it looks like a mini nsx and feels like it. love the sporty feel and road hugin' feel,and the interior is great,ecxept for the interior room not good for a big person,but for an average like me its great. i love this car and i would recomend it to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


A little on the heavy side....

by Andrew from Toronto, Ontario | July 9, 2007

Bought this car used and had no problems with it at all. The car is a little slow from idle since is pretty heavy but moves well on the hwy. Handling was great during low or high speed. The interior design is a little dull and boring but pratical, cup holder is located near the gear shift and that was extreamly annoying and deemed useless since it interferes with gear changing. The thing l dislike the most about the 5th gen Prelude is the fact that it requires premium gas.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Fast car

by Racer from Toronto | January 11, 2007

Well this car is for sure faster than any civic's....The car is too heavy on the street...but on the highway...its niceeeeeeee... thats all i can say... its a good car and fun to drive...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda Prelude

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.