2000 Honda S2000

Change Vehicle
2000 Honda S2000
Available in 1 styles:  2000 Honda S2000 2dr Convertible shown
Asking Price Range
$5,617–$25,145
Estimated MPG

20 city / 26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Best Driver's Car under $85,000

by m. from San Francisco, CA | March 12, 2013

I wanna start by saying i like to test drive cars for fun. It's a geeky hobby, but it beats a movie. The first 3 years of the Honda S2K are flawless driver's cars. If you just wanna go fast in a straight line or look all manly, or if you don't understand the physics of driving, this is probably not the car for you. Get a muscle car or something with electronics that won't allow you to crash and a shiny, shiny brand name. But if an empty mountain road and a perfectly balanced, light, rwd sports car sounds like heaven on earth to you, go drive an early S2000. You'll buy one too. It has the most intuitive transmission ever, you can feel the smallest details in the road through the steering wheel, the car's balance is in right in your hands, the handling is telepathic, it revs to 9000rpm(!), it gets more bhp per liter than any car ever, (245bhp, 2L, NA/ so no turbo lag) except the ferrari 458 italia, it has an excellent trunk for it's size, better leg room than my mother's civic, you can reach all the in-car controls w/o taking your hands off the wheel, the heater keeps you warm on a cold night with the top DOWN, and it's a perfectly competent daily driver. if you growl around town in 4th gear, you can get 40+ mpg. You can also empty the tank in an a couple hours if you wanna scream around at 80mph in 2nd gear :) but lately i've been filling up once a month. ONCE. Twice a month if i drive every day. And i live in san francisco. i could literally go on about this car forever. Best of all, it's perfect proof that good power-to-weight and a manual transmission is more eco-friendly than any hybrid. Most cars make more pollution being built than they ever will being driven. The S2 is mostly aluminum, so it won't rust, it was only shipped once before going on sale, it doesn't have two engines, it doesn't have both a nickel battery AND a lead battery, it's very light, and it's not made of plastic. Plastic is, of course, a petroleum product.) I'm proud to be called a tree-hugger. Please ignore the hybrid hype. Hybrids are terrible for the environment, and only good for the wallet if you drive slowly all the time. And...that's true for every car ever. If you wanna save the world, get an old car from a country not powered by coal. While i'm at it, there's no such thing as "clean coal". It's just a catch phrase.) Did i mention that it's a convertible with 4 star rollover rating? 5 stars everywhere else, if i recall correctly. The only weaknesses that spring to mind are the roof (the original roof is one of those vinyl-type things, and they eventually wear holes at the joints. Replace it with a cloth one with a glass window and you'll be fine), and the brass synchros in the transmission. If you treat it kindly, they'll last forever, but if you do need to replace the transmission, the newer ones have carbon fiber synchros, so...again, no worries. The only reason someone who loves driving for driving's sake would buy anything else would be a need for more seats. Even with unlimited funds, there are very few cars that feel better on the road than this one. Go drive it, see for yourself, and i'll see you around town in your shiny new S2K.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


A true sports car, not a sporty car.

by DangerWiilRobinson from Zephyrhills FL | September 10, 2012

I have owned a 2000 and 2004 S2000 and have driven over 100,00 miles between the two. It's a sports car not a sporty car. If you don't know the difference, Move on. The 2000-2003 2 litre models were the better sports car. In 2004 honda lengthened the engine's stroke making it a 2.2L. Having owned both models I can tell you that honda got it right the first time. Early models had some teething pains. Check for service bulletins on transmission syncro's and gear resonance. If the transmission grinds when shift from 1st to 2nd gear at high RPM it isn't you. It's the transmission. They could also make gear resonance noise. If it sounds like an exhaust heat shield vibrating when you let off the gas, It's gear resonance. Though it's annoying it wont hurt anything. These transmission issues should have been fixed when the car was in warranty. If not transmission tear down time. Do your homework If the clutch pedal squeaks when depressed. It's the clutch fork. The fork has been updated. There's a Service bulletin that says to lube it but I haven't seen it work. Had to R&R the clutch fork on mine. Once again transmission pull time. Convertible tops have been known to wear prematurely from the inside due to sharp angles on the frame. Round the edges with sandpaper. The original bridgestone S02 rear tires don't last long and cost over $200 each so many used cars on the market have inferior replacement tires. This car is capable of 150+mph. Tires should be ZR rated. Overall a great perfectly balanced track car that's also very capable every daily driver. You'll love it. And buy a radar detector.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great car for the value!!!

by bbd324 from | January 16, 2012

This car is fantastic!!! It handles freakin crazy good, it accelerates when you want it to and its actually very comfortable. I am 6' 3'' and i fit in this vehicle very comfortably. Highly recommended, HOnda reliablility, car looks sexy, and when vtec hits... you're put into a different place. AWESOME CAR!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


The Definition of a Roadster!

by S2000 Fan from Rural Illinois | February 28, 2014

Its little engine revs to 9K rpm if you dare challenge the speed limits and sheriff. This is a classic roadster and it definitely turn heads. There is virtually no body torque or convertible shake with the solid X frame design. Interior space is tight and a good incentive to diet in anticipation of warmer months taking it out on the road. The location of the trunk release is annoying and hiding the radio behind a panel takes some adjustment. AC is strong and decadent to use with the top down on a hot day. Finding one with the right mileage and prior care will be worth the effort.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


My S2000

by STLJ from St. Louis | September 14, 2010

Owned the car since new only problems were dealer created during servicing. 65K miles and still take her out on nice weekends. Original tires are dangerous in wet weather very little grip.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


great car

by us navy from | July 27, 2010

car would be a great purchase if it is in good condition. just make sure seller is there when u purchase vehicle. dont get hoodwinked

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Beasty car

by s2000 dude from | February 14, 2009

this is da best car EVER lol....i have beaten DUMB mustangs wit this....this is my V8 eater..............................................................................

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


S2000 ~NO better bang for your buck ! PERIOD !

by Lee from S2K owner Indiana | September 1, 2006

I've owned several cars in the Honda S2000's class including: BMW Z-4 , Porsche Boxster, Nissan 350Z, Toyota MR-2 Spider and even Lotus Elise and I would abolutely buy the S2K over any of them again and again. With the exception of the Elise none of these cars handles better. With S2000's x-beam frame and high reving (9000 RPM redline) 240 hp 2.0l I-4 VTEC (thats over 100hp per litre folks!) and very light body, for a short list,none of these cars even come close to these stats for the MSRP ($32k average). Pure unadulterated adrenaline! Take the time, do the comparison research and see if I'm wrong. ....and then tear up the road!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda S2000

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.