2005 Honda S2000

Change Vehicle
2005 Honda S2000

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2005 Honda S2000 2dr Convertible shown
Asking Price Range
$9,060–$26,744
Estimated MPG

20 city / 25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

22 out of 22 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 22 reviews

The Honda S2000 in brief

by JMK from Mpls., MN | November 8, 2013

Searched for a long time, found a 1 owner car after having driven one once. Great vehicle all around. Handles smoothly, shifts quickly, accelerates, stops and looks good doing it all. High revving motor sounds awesome with the top down. Top operates quickly and simply. The Honda S2000 is a perfect Sports Car - balanced, not too thirsty, not overpowered - more importantly not underpowered either. Get one while you can!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Sweetness

by Sweentness from Waco, Texas | November 2, 2013

Hello, Yes, I'm enjoying my Honda sports car, the handling, proformance, is excellent, it's a pleasure to drive, the styling is something of beauty to look at,. it turn heads as one drive around with the top down, the audio system is great too, thanks for asking,. sincerely winston rush,.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


A car that you HAVE to drive before criticizing

by trueJDMfan from Texas | March 23, 2013

The Honda S2000 is one of those cars that you MUST drive before commenting on. On paper, many people who do not know much about them say it is nothing special; however, they clearly have not driven one before, and if they have, not hard enough. Pushing out 240 horsepower out fo a naturally aspired inline-4 motor is insane. Not to mention, its light weight chassis and unbeatable handing. Full double wishbone suspension front and rear. This car is a true sports car. The s2000 is as fun as a stock car will get. Incredible short throws on the 6 speed, 50-50 weight distribution; it's so much fun. I own a 05 s2000. While it is not the fastest car on the drag strip, it was never meant for that. This car needs to be raced on a track, and it will become a beast. The comfort of the car is amazing for its size, although it is not that comfortable compared to some other cars. The exterior styling, I think, is simply beautiful. The interior styling is very simple. All the controls are within a fingers reach from the steering wheel. This car was meant for pure performance, so the interior isn't flashy or anything. I personally really like the inside. Seats are also great. Lastly, this is a Honda. For the car that this is supposed to be, a true sports car, handling is unmatched. Overall, one of the most fantastic sports cars ever made.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Amazing

by S2K Lover from Altoona, Iowa | February 23, 2013

They may say that they don't like that it "only has power at high rev". Not true because i own one and it flys at all times. The reason that it has more on high rev is because V-TEC! It's when the second cam kicks in and incjects more gas and air! Don't complain about one of Honda's greatest perks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


s2k

by doc from ne pa | December 25, 2012

best idea honda ever had. small quick and good handling.this car is getting harder to find at a fair price so i would encourage one to get one now.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Purchase - few limitations

by Texans Don't Like Hondas from Houston, Texas | December 26, 2011

I purchased a used 05 S2000 in light blue metallic with 44k on the odometer. I was highly skeptical of the stats and the deal that this opportunity offered before driving it. Engine: All the critics are spot on. It behaves like Honda Civic below 3000 rpm in any gear, and after that, like a true sports car. The engine has a great note, pulls strongly when the VTEC variable valve timing system kicks in after 3000rpm until the redline at 8000. In aggressive driving, expect no more than 20mpg overall. In relaxed driving or mostly freeway speeds (70ish cruising) 25mpg is very possible and achievable. Transmission: 6speed manual with close ratio and short throws. This model is known to have some transmission problems if it's been beaten to a pulp or extremely high mileage. So far so good at 49k - I would say into the 120-140k range would be a good guess at replacement if driven hard all the time. The car would make a great weekend track race car. The convertible soft top is decently quiet - I'm hoping to spring for the aftermarket hardtop for about a grand and a half. The brakes are excellent with little fade and stop straight. Tires can be pricey for this model - I'd really invest in a good set known to work well on this model - they go through their use in about 15,000 tops even driving conservatively. This car is not for novice sports car drivers (*teenagers*) or those who don't know the limits of a performance vehicle without electronic aids like stability control or torque vectoring--the rear end is very easy to cut loose at low speeds while downshifting to get more torque in a lower gear, given the right kind of steering wheel input. The s2000 is not a car for beginners. I'd absolutely recommend this car to anyone who needs a reliable, exciting, outstanding used sports car provided they can operate the 6speed manual very well and know how to maneuver a very light rear drive front/mid engine sports car with a high redline and a distinct driving personality.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Yes!

by Ays2k from | May 7, 2011

Sleek styling, smooth tight handling, light clutch, best transmission and powertrain! Drive it, It will sell itself... Enough said

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great but Imperfect Date Night Car

by Richmond Car Lover from Richmond, VA | December 28, 2010

I went from a 2006 911 Cabriolet to my 2005 Honda S2000 w/ 83,000 miles on it for cost reasons. It's unfair to compare the two, but they are about as opposite as sports cars can get. The S2000 begs to be driven hard and you almost have to in order to get real performance out of it. The v-tec doesn't kick in until around 5,000 rpm, so you're revving it much higher (and louder) than you're accustom to. The gears shift a bit harshly, but they're short throws and the shifter is well positioned. The rear end is a bit light and can get away from you if you're not careful. The convertible requires you to (un)lock it manually, but it's otherwise very quick to open & close. The suspension is appropriately stiff. It handles very well, but the ride can be jarring on bumpy city roads. Ingress & Egress are challenging, which makes it an imperfect date night car (the reason we got it). My wife doesn't love contorting with her dress & heals on. Overall, give me a great spring day and this is the perfect stress reliever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Totally Hot Rodster

by S2000 Girly from Connecticut | October 29, 2010

If you want an uncommon, affordable sports car this is a great option. May take a little time to find exactey what you want due to the limited production of the S2000...but that makes it even more cool!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Wow

by Bits from Spokane, WA | October 25, 2010

This car is so responsive and fun to drive, it is hard to describe. There is hardly anything practical about it. It is tiny inside, the trunk is tiny and the stereo sounds better then other reviewers have said. I'm glad I got a used one. I think the new price is too much but used, it's not too bad.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 22 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda S2000

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.