2006 Hyundai Elantra

Change Vehicle
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Available in 4 styles:  2006 Hyundai Elantra 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$3,052–$8,944
Estimated MPG

24–27 city / 32–34 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

22 out of 26 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 26 reviews

Most reliable

by Road lady from Ny | May 20, 2013

Bought new in 2006 now 2013 I have 164000 miles basic maintenance oil changes always on time .2 timing belts later for maintenance suggested. I love the car I would buy another one of this year 2006 make and model I love it. New 2013 model looks nice but I don't like how it drives accent even worse..anyone have a low mileage one ill be glad to buy it.leave email address must be in ny pa or nj to pick up.Thanks hope you like it as much as I have never a problem with it yet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


This will be my last Hyundai

by Travelin Woman from Binghamton, NY | May 17, 2011

The brakes on Hyundai's are not good, and start squealing at around 65,000 miles even if your brakes are fine otherwise. This is the second Hyundai that I have owned that has had this very problem. Cheap car, cheap parts, make sense? The heck with Korean cars, i'm buying American after this. I never felt so out of place and guilty driving through America's heartland in a Korean car. That should say something to all of us. BUY AMERICAN!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Hyundai Elantra

by MikeB from Dallas, TX | March 28, 2011

Very good vehicle for the price, reliable, inexpensive, minimum maintenance costs. Vehicle was purchased with the sole purpose of commuting to and from work. Vehicle has provided excellent gas mileage, the only maintenance required has been scheduled maintenance, replaced the battery and tires.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


this is not comfortable

by this is not comfortable from md | March 25, 2011

i have been driving this car for 5 years. cockpit is not comfortable. if you have been went mechanics then upgrade its parts like battery or something else, you will see its drastical improvements on performance. 2006 elantra and 2006~2010 sonata exterior is similar as lexus models. this car have poor interior, especially speakers. this car have average value. however, this car is reliable. hope new 2011 elantra have turbocharged sport model comes up under 20000 because most of 2011 model manual transmission comes of six speed manual transmission.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Indestructable

by Kipper from Indiana | January 19, 2011

Bought it new in 2004. Great handling and MPG. Hit a deer $3000 in damage. Aweek after I got it back, got hit in the rear $4500 in damage. Drove it in Alaska for 3 years and just brought it back. It still runs like new. I would dive this car anywhere in the country with no worries. The only problem I have hade was the rear struts had to be replaced at 55K. I didn't notice any problem and the dealer said it was covered by warrenty. It has 77,000 miles and no problems at all. Way less road noise than my wife's brand new Toyota Sienna. It's paid for and part of the family.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Absolutely Awesome! Love it!

by Thomas from Atlanta, GA | January 18, 2011

Car is excellent for it's cost. One of my best investments. Bought it new. No problems at all. Put more than 80k miles. Just did reg. maintenance. Very comfortable ride. Good pickup. Excellent power for a car this size. Engine and transmission is excellent. Transmission is very smooth. Very spacious inside. Lots of storage space. Plenty leg room. Love the 2nd row seat, it folds down to haul long items. Huge trunk. Gas mileage is very good. very reliable. Love the warranty. At high speed, handles the road very well. Fun to drive. This is an excellent car as long as the owner takes care of it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great car for your money

by Wolf from Melbourne, FL | October 24, 2010

I've had my Elantra hatch since it was new. It was and still is among some of the best looking Euro style cars out there. And can be made to look even better with a few OEM parts from Korea. I like the driver oriented dash/interior as well along with the spacious hatch and fold flat rear seats. I've had minimal problems with the car. One was loose fabric on the armrest (warrantied) and cracked tailight from poor factory fittment (warrantied). I average ~27mpg presently with mixed driving and have gotten up to 33.5mpg on a 1000mile road trip. I do wish it had a bit more power but it is an economy car after all, and it is certainly better than most of the others in its class. The engine is definitely rock strong esp with proper maintinence. Even ran for 20k miles with a bent piston rod after engine got water logged. And all the computer complained about was a barely noticable misfire! All in all, this is a great car to get ahold of and certainly a fun one to tinker with to make it even better and more personalized.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good combination commuter or road trip car

by unassuming from Laurel, MD | June 16, 2010

Economical for commuting (28 mpg) and comfortable for road trips (32 mpg). Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car for the money

by Honda enthusiast from Minnesota | February 20, 2010

Bought the car with 3K miles on it. Great mileage and as reliable as my Hondas were. No problems whatsoever until master brake cylinder at 40K needed replacement. Due to excellent warranty this was covered at no cost. Another driver pulled out from a stop sign and hit the rear panel and door while we were traveling at 65 down the highway. The car handled it amazingly well and there were no serious injuries. Only wish Hyundai retained it's resell value as well as Honda!.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


No Trade in Value

by No Residual Value from Canada | September 12, 2009

Owned 2 years in Canada. Gas mileage no better then my larger Camry. Road noise from rear of Hatchback is bad unless driving on new pavement. Seat fabric showing signs of wear so soon, never in other makes I've owned. Canadian owners only get a 5 year warranty as opposed to American buyers who receive double that for 10 years. Even Canadian Hyundai dealers give very poor trade in value for these vehicles with their short warranty. Japanese products hold their value, not Hyundai.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 26 reviews

Featured Services for this Hyundai Elantra

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.