2009 Hyundai Genesis

Change Vehicle
2009 Hyundai Genesis
Available in 2 styles:  2009 Hyundai Genesis 4dr RWD Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$11,685–$22,525
Estimated MPG

17–18 city / 25–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

34 out of 37 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 37 reviews

Great sports sedan

by Night rider from St Louis Mo | August 22, 2014

The navigation and bluetooth work great. We stream music from our phones to the infinity sound system and it sounds incredible! Did I mention Heated and COOLED seats...Do yourself a favor, stop reading and go buy one! You can thank me later. THE BEST Decision i ever made. Hazelwood Toyota

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Awesome car

by wolfman from Wisconsin | March 14, 2014

Purchased a loaded 2009 3.8 with 40M miles. Definitely the nicest car I've ever owned, but I've never really bought anything in the "luxury" category. As many have said the ride is somewhat stiff, but compared to what I'm used to it's no big deal. I love the Lexicon stereo aside from the Ipod interface. I've found it's easier to just run the ipod throught the headphone jack into the aux port rather than use the special Hyundai connector. Takes too long to find the songs you want... Can't really speak to the reliability yet, but based on others experiences I'm assuming it'll hold up well. Not many of these around my area, so even though they've been around for awhile now people have been asking what it is and how much they like the look of it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very Stiff Suspension

by Texas Maverick from Plano,TX | September 15, 2013

This car feels like I am driving a Jeep Wrangler. Bounces me all over the seat. No way to adjust. Be very careful when deciding. My test drive was around the dealership on very flat roads. Should have done more test driving. Love the car otherwise but will sell this one and get something else.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


A best value automobile

by Daily driver from Sierra Vista, AZ | July 17, 2013

This was a great buy and a great car. I'm very satisfied. This is my fourth Hyundai product. They just get better and better.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


My favorite car I have ever owned.

by BNab from CA | October 13, 2012

The Genesis has a lean sexy ready to pounce appearance. The V6 is more than adequate and gets near to over 30 MPG on the highway. More than once my Genesis has been mistaken for a BMW. It is extremely quiet even at Nevada highway speeds. One need not talk loud or have the sound system cranked up to hear.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Lot of car for the $$ !

by Mattshank from Minneapolis, MN | October 6, 2012

Just picked up a 2009 Genesis 4.6 in black. I am amazed at how much car it is for the price! Traded in an Audi 2.7 which is no whimpy car but this blows it away. I have only owned it a week so cannot comment on reliability, but the features, luxury, and performance are all first rate. Only complaint is the transmission is not as smooth in shifting as I would like and sometimes feels clunky, but again, for the dollar this is a great ride that I would highly recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Purchase

by Gareth from Bronx, NY | July 18, 2012

i bought an Certified Preowned 2009 Hyundai Genesis, at the start of May... so far... i have not had real issues with it...Only problem i've had is that back up camera blacks out sometimes when i go to reverse... brought it to dealer, the problem is still covered under warranty, but of course it started working while i was there... Other than that, vehicle is great... lots of people staring while im passing.... inside is very nice..heated seats, navigation, dvd player, great sound system... very nice!!!! Everyone is real impressed with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Sedan

by Old Man from Mid state | April 14, 2012

Bought new have 25K on it now. Great mileage, great room, great options (except GPS) bad tires ruined ride but changing to softer ones made all difference in world. Mostly city but several long trips. Long warranty makes one wonder why to buy ANY car with less !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


love it

by cs-va from roanoke ,va | December 28, 2011

purchased car in october as a certified car,most satisfying car i have ever owned,great looks,strong engine(v6)smooth on highway but 18 inch wheels makes it a little rough on uneven pavement.i would definitely purchase again

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Big bang for the buck

by ScubaDo from Dallas, TX | December 19, 2011

I purchased a 2009 Hyundai Genesis with 24,000 miles last September 2011. For the price it can't be beat. Luxury plus comfort, styling and smooth running. I love the exterior styling and the interior is much nicer than my old Mercedes. It's and adult car, which means I drive more mature than I did in the past. All and all I am extremely pleased with the Genesis. Big bang for the buck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 37 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Hyundai Genesis.


Featured Services for this Hyundai Genesis

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.