2000 Hyundai Sonata

Change Vehicle
2000 Hyundai Sonata

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2000 Hyundai Sonata 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$662–$5,618
Estimated MPG

20–21 city / 28–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Most Reliable Car I've driven

by MorgiePorgie from Muskegon, MI | September 24, 2010

My Hyundai Sonata GLS is a very great car. It has over 211,000 miles on it, and I have no doubts in it. It is very low on the comfort level for me, but since this is my first car, I am only looking for it to get me from point A, to point B. Now, the engine is very impressive to me. It accelerates VERY fast. It gets great gas milage as well. Overall, I would highly reccomend this car, or better yet, this brand overall.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


one of the best cars ive had!

by the car dude from peabody | April 11, 2010

I got my 2000 hyundai sonata gls in 2005. i had the car for three years got it with 120,000 miles. when i was done it had 230,000 miles never had a problem. the car has alot of power to. compared to the 2004 impala i had this car was amazing.the gas milege was great. the only down side is the radio is week. but in my opinon i give this car 9 out of 10.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Very reliable and economical car

by Walterk from Mamaroneck, NY | December 25, 2008

I bought my Sonata GLS in 2002 - 2 years old and 25,000 miles. It now has 63,000 miles and is going on 9 years old. Day in and day out, it starts and runs fine. I have done my part in maintaining and repairing when necessary - not very often has it needed repairs - usual stuff - brakes, wheel bearing, tune-up, etc. The Sonata has rewarded us with reliability, solid quiet ride and good fuel economy. I would buy another Hyundai.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Value!!

by Sam from CT | August 16, 2008

I purchased the car 7 years ago at 10k and it's now around 100K, the car has great performance, excellent gas millage and very comfortable. The Hyundai dealers are excellent and do many things for free under Goodwill warranty including the subframe issue mentioned below in one of the reviews, they also gave me a loaner car for free even that my original warranty expired.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


lousy car

by hammer from ct | April 24, 2008

I purchased my 2000 hyundai used in 2001 .The car had 10000 miles on it . With a pretty good track record until 162000 miles when i discovered that the subframe had completely rotted out of the car , mind you the car is only 8 years old what a joke i would not recomend this car or a hyundai to anyone period . To think that you keep your car in excellent mechanical condition only to have the fram e rot right out from underneath you i think its time to go back to ford sorry hyundai

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Great Car, Great Gas Milleage!!

by Todd from Center City, MN | July 9, 2007

My wife bought this car in Texas in 2003, before we met. It's been a great car, with only one trip to the dealer for the timing belt sensor (with the belt also), but that is considered normal maintenance. I've been impressed with the handling and I've been getting about 27mpg on the highway to and from work. We have 67,000 miles on it currently. I'd recommend this car to others.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very reliable car, I only drive Hyundai now!

by Car lover from Boston, MA | April 15, 2007

Love this car, the Hyundai line of cars is a true leader. When I first drove the car I could tell that the power and smooth ride were above average. I have had Honda and Toyota, which are both great cars as well, but the cost value is far greater in this car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best Commuter I've ever owned!!!

by Cassie from Montata | November 30, 2006

I bought this car in late 2003 with 54k on it. I bought it primarily for driving to and from work and to visit family. I get amazing gas mileage, up to 33 MPG highway, I have never had a problem with this car. As long as you keep up on the maintnence, it runs beautifully!! I have had this car for 3 years, it has 132K on it and still runs great!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Piece of junk

by jheoaustin from SuSugar Land, TX | August 4, 2006

My 2000 Sonata bought in 2002 second-hand at 11K mile made me visit dealership for repair more than 8 times. It gave me a stall on the road once, and had/has to be repaired twice each for spark plug/wire and transmission. It has only 64K mile now. This is a piece of junk. Stay away, and let others know about what puny Hyundai's quality means.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2000 Hyundai Sonata.


Featured Services for this Hyundai Sonata

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.