2014 Hyundai Sonata

Change Vehicle
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Available in 6 styles:  2014 Hyundai Sonata 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$11,098–$19,914
Estimated MPG

21–24 city / 32–35 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

42 out of 49 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 49 reviews

New Car Blues

by Dreamer from Laurel, MD | May 5, 2016

I purchased a new 2014 Sonata 2.4 Limited edition in May of 2014. I was attracted to the exterior design and interior layout of the car for the price that I paid. I have been disappointed with the following: I have had to have my AC flushed and repaired twice (this fee was not included in the warranty), I had to be towed once (an issue with a component of the fuel line) and the exterior molding around the windows is peeling. These are issues that I would not expect with a new car with less than 28K miles on it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Turbo is a Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

by Sneaky Turbo from Dayton, OH | January 25, 2016

2.0T Limited w/ Technology Package & Panorama Roof Bought this car in June 2014 and loved nearly every minute of it. The turbo is deceptively quick and you get used to the torque steer. The power you grow to love in the summer will also come back to bite you in the winter. Love the cooled/heated seats, selectable steering resistance (just keep in sport, perfectly weighted.) Enormous trunk for such a swoopy design. The biggest downside is depreciation, but I guess if you are in it for the long haul, you'll be fine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Our first Hyundai

by Needanewcar from Lakeland | November 30, 2015

Nice, smooth ride and pretty good gas mileage. The interior is pleasingly designed and dashboard controls are at a convenient location for both driver and passenger. Lots of trunk room....more than you would expect. Ours is 4 cylinder but feels like a V6

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


THE Best Used Value Going!

by lew from Gulf Coast | June 17, 2015

You can reinstate the full factory warrantee on a used Hyundai making them the best value for a used car purchase. Our 2014 Sonata we purchased in Nederland, TX had almost 36k miles. Any other brand would've been out of warrantee but ours goes to 60k bumpers & all -- 100k on the powertrain! It'll run you half a grand if the car isn't Dealer-Certified but used Hyundais are already priced lower than the Euro/Nippon competition and this thing DRIVES like a sporty luxury car. Best purchase we've made this century!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Good car for the money

by Sonata Turbo from Chicago | February 13, 2015

Bought the a Sonata 2.0 Limited Turbo and have driven it 8,000 miles as of this review. Overall a very good car and would buy another. Pluses are: Very good acceleration with the Turbo, quiet and comfortable ride. The remote start via a smart phone and BluLink is a great feature. City driving is very much the 21mpg Highway, I get about 32. Rear heated seats are a good feature. Minuses: On very cold mornings (under 15 degrees overnight), many times the car does not recognize the key fob so I need to use the key. Passenger seat heated seat turns off too soon, thus not warm enough and won't turn back on for a while.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car for the price

by Gls ride from Utah | January 11, 2015

We pick this car up the end of September and right out of the gate we were getting 25 plus MPG mostly city driving. We have been very impress with this car, the 6 speed auto is very nice and smooth shifting when going up hill it just cruse up with out revving real high. We took the Sonata to California for Christmas and doing 80 MPH were getting like 34 MPG. Hyundai has done it right with this one and I would buy another in a heart beat.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


had a TAHOE..

by Dani from Downers Grove, IL | December 31, 2014

drove the sonata thinking NO WAY...but LOVE it and would never change back. We went to PUGI in Downers Grove..salesman was new but did GREAT and Glenn Potter in Service...FANTASTIC!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


nice surprise

by princess from north Carolina | October 21, 2014

Pleasantly surprised when the rental associate bought it out. I was thinking, a Hyundai? Sarcastically thinking, this is gonna be fun. Surprisingly it really is an awesome car. It's a perfect fit for myself. I'm used to driving a big (titan) vehicle but this car has changed my mind. I'm thankful for the experience and may try to make this car a part of my future plans. Thanks again

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Happy Customer

by Armando from Baytown | October 7, 2014

I went to Ron Carter Hyundai in clear lake for the second time. I baught a Sonata in 2014 with few options. A year later the car is still looking good and driving welll, but I wanted more options and upgrades. So I contacted my salesman Mueen (Moe) Shurafa. He told me they still had a few on the lot. Went down and test drove one and it had all the upgrades I was looking for. The car was very nice. I took the car home that night. Once again everything went very smooth. I Was very pleased. Thanks for all your help Moe.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2014 Hyundai Sonata-AMAZING

by Renee & Michael from Ron Carter Hyundai; Clear Lake, TX | September 21, 2014

We walked in told the Sales Manager what we were looking for...price, size, body style, and features; and they put us in a new 2014 Hyundai Sonata...We couldn't be happier. Ron Carter Hyundai in Clear Lake has OVER THE TOP Customer Service...which for us was an even bigger selling point of the car. Love our new Sonata, and we will definitely be going back to see Ron Carter for our next vehicle purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 49 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2014 Hyundai Sonata.


Featured Services for this Hyundai Sonata

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.