2008 Hyundai Tiburon

Change Vehicle
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Available in 4 styles:  2008 Hyundai Tiburon 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$5,191–$12,191
Estimated MPG

16–20 city / 24–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 18 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 18 reviews

Good value for the money

by Vtroadrunner from Upstate NY | August 12, 2013

I've owned many 2 door subcompacts and have found the Tiburon to be dependable and fun to drive. The suspension is great on hills and curving roads, which there are many in my area. The V6 has decent acceleration, and it's not a problem when it comes to passing. It's the first automatic that I've driven in years, as I've always driven standards, but I still feel like i'm driving a responsive vehicle. Not to mention the looks you get when you drive around town. It looks like a much more expensive car. I was so satisfied, I bought a second one for my Daughter.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Perfect Little Sports Car

by G&G from White Oak/Pittsburgh, PA. | August 5, 2013

We've bought this 08 GS model 4 years ago, loved every moment we drove it, and regretfully have to sell it due to insurance downsizing (we own too many vehicles for only 2 people). Gas MPG great, overall styling, value, reliability,and road handling outstanding. This car would be excellent for a younger person going back to school(or college) or anyone who just wants to feel that free spirit that this car provides without breaking the bank.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


money wise there is nothing that can compare

by Mario13 from south africa | April 4, 2013

Ferrari look alike. And since when is that a bad thing. The car always urges you on to go faster. I know own my 4th generation tib.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love this shark

by Mr. Tib from CT | July 25, 2012

Gas Tank is small for the v6 and the milage isn't exactly stellar, but nothing else compares in quality, trim or warranty for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Love my '08 SE

by itguy1994 from | April 4, 2012

Got it used in fall '09 with 14,000 miles on it & went AL-AZ the next spring. Best mpg 36 w/cruise set just under 90mph, (yes I got a warning-TX is a big state) noisy on rough road surfaces but, turn up the Kenwood stereo & go! The car tunes itself if you can keep a constant speed to it; it loves the highway. You won't win any drag races with this car but the more it runs the better it gets. Engine torque and overall power really does not kick in until well above 3300 rpm. Runs at 75 all day on my commute with the cruise in 6th right around 3100 rpm. I've had it on the track at Talledega and it easily hit 120 and had more to give; Barber MotorSports Park is the next goal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Nice little car for my kid

by MomtoTeen from Columbus, OH | February 20, 2012

Teen daughter fell in love with this car based on looks, so we shopped around a while to find her a low-mileage, automatic version and found a great one. Drives nicely but not overpowered, so she can't get in too much trouble. Cutest car around. Great value with the 100,000 mile warrantee on the power train.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Awesome Car

by its a secret from Omaha, NE | November 3, 2011

I love this car, not only does it look really cool, but it is very reliable. I barely have to fill up my gas tank, but when I do it seems to last a long time. Great MPG! I love having a sun roof it makes it feel nice and open. I love cloth interior so it is never too hott or too cold! I also enjoy when the interior matches the exterior because I think it looks classier! I would DEF purchase this car! great deal

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car!

by Mr. B from Memphis, TN | July 23, 2011

I bought this car early in 2011. I bought it used, it had 27,000 miles or so when i got it. I've now put on about 13,000 miles in six months! I love driving it! It has a great sporty exterior look and even though the performance doesn't quite match its looks you can by an air intake or performace exhaust system if thats what you want to get from it. I bought a cold air intake for mine at $200 and now it takes off like a rocket! The inside is nice, however back seats are pretty tight. Also I got a GS model and it came stock with a Kenwood audio head unit and speakers, sounds great if you like to blast your music. Overall its about as comfortable as any other car I've been in. And now the price has dropped tremdously since it was there last year of production. 13k for this car (what i paid for mine)??? GREAT DEAL!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


No Regrets

by Mikkie from Washington | April 6, 2011

I bought my 2008 Tiburon GS when gas was approaching 4 dollars. I couldn't beleive the MPG I got 28 to 30 MPG in the city regularly because I am not a hot rodder. Just easy stops and gradual exceleration. I did not carry a lot of passengers so I mostly kept the back seats in the folded down positon and got tons of stuff back there, even lumber! I did think it was a little noisey on the highway when I had the back seats down but nothing to complain about.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


"My pretty little pink pony" pretty car.

by 20somthin and in debt from Indianapolis | March 27, 2011

I bought the basic 2008 GS model back in 2009. For the price it had a very unique sporty style. Downside was the car had very little power, interior lacked quality, and overall uncomfortable (Plastic was used on many interior pieces. Unique floor mats - factory - with Tiburon glued on were nice until the Tiburon glued on stickers fell off. I could only use the car as a two passenger vehicle as the backseat was very small. Driver/passenger seat were not comfortable either due to lack of seat adjustments.) Bottom line, if you are in the market for a "pretty car" - pretty like "My Pretty Pony" - and also reliable car you have found a match here.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 18 reviews

Featured Services for this Hyundai Tiburon

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.