2002 Isuzu Axiom

Change Vehicle
2002 Isuzu Axiom

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2002 Isuzu Axiom 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$1,564–$9,152
Estimated MPG

16 city / 20 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Best ever SUV

by redress from Scottsdale, AZ | June 1, 2014

I bought this new in 2002. I've been driving it all these years and only 2 things failed; the water pump had to be replaced 5 yrs ago, and this past Friday, May 30, 2014, the blower motor went out. Considering I live in Scottsdale, AZ with the extreme heat here, this vehicle has surpassed any expectation I may have ever had. Only thing is I am long legged, and I wish there was just about 2 " more length on the drivers side. I'm never going to sell this vehicle, I only have 78, 130 miles on it now, and I'm on my 4th set of tires; that's because they dry rot before I can get the mileage out of them. lol

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Rust Bucket Axioms Google it if non-beleiver

by mulligan from N Idaho | June 10, 2012

I own a 2002 Axioum w/60k. Great veh for the snow. Unfortunetly if you live in a snow/salt zone you will began to contend with your frame and undercarriage rusting and rotting problem before your very eyes.Some are cars w/40-60,000 miles on them Affects 2002-2004 models. Has caused rear suspention parts to litterly fall off the car. Collisions have occure.d If NHSTA recall determines rusting is too bad...zap...you,re Isuzu is removed from the road. Then Isuzu factory reps offer very paltry sums..$1800-$2500 and do it rudely at that. SALT is not a friend of Axioms.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


love it but...

by starr from rolla, mo | November 10, 2011

I love my axiom, but dont get the gas mileage it claims. Other than that, i have no complaints. Its just the right size for the family, and not so high i cant get in but not too low either. I bought an suv because i have back problems therefore have issues getting in and out of cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


worst car we've ever had

by caitlin from | August 27, 2011

We loved our 2 previous troopers and wanted to downsize so we went with the axiom. BIG MISTAKE!!!! This car has been our worst nightmare. problems from about the first six months and Isuzu refused to take care of them. Thank God they went out of business

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Amazing value for attractive, reliable vehicle

by Axiom Driver from Salt Lake City | January 25, 2011

I purchased my 6-cyl automatic transmission Axiom because I was looking for an SUV type vehicle without an insane price. I had never seen an Axiom and when I finally saw this one, I thought "perfect". It looks great, drives great, and I've only had one minor ($125) issue aside from regular maintenance over the 4 years I've owned it. My previous cars have been Saabs and when I needed a larger truck type vehicle, I wanted one with all the luxury interior features without the luxury price. The Axiom has many of the luxury features my Saabs had: leather, heated seats, cd-changer, power mirrors, etc. It is kind of odd that the transmission doesn't have a dipstick to check the level. It is sealed and should only be checked by an Isuzu authorized mechanic. If an oil change technician says the transmission level was checked, ask them exactly what they did and make sure know what they're talking about. An internal transmission leak, which can cause slipping, is a common issue with this model. It is resolved by replacing a faulty transmission gastket ($125). So if it starts slipping, ask a mechanic to check that first. DO NOT FLUSH a transmission. EVER. Thats how I ruined my Saab. That's about it. It has been smooth sailing with this vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Years ahead of its time!

by Axiom Fan from | December 1, 2009

I really love this mid-sized suv. Best auto I've owned. Remote Power Door Locks, Power Windows, Cruise Control, 4-Wheel ABS Brakes, Front Ventilated Disc Brakes, Passenger Airbag, Cassette Player With Auto-Reverse, In-Dash 6-Disc CD Player, AM/FM Stereo, Total 8 Speakers, Privacy Glass: Deep, Silver Alloy Rims, Leather Steering Wheel Trim, Trip Computer, External Temperature Display, Dual Illuminated Vanity Mirrors, Front Reading Lights, Anti-Theft Alarm System, Bucket Front Seats, Split Rear Bench, Flip Forward Cushion/Seatback Rear Seats, Tilt-Adjustable Steering Wheel, Driver Adjustable Suspension Ride Control, Automatic Front Air Conditioning, Double Wishbone Front Suspension.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My favorite vehicle

by Twice Born from Kalamazoo, MI | February 17, 2009

This has been my favorite vehicle that I have owned. "The original crossover." Interior feels like a car, but has the power and drive of an SUV. Superior drive in the snow. The sport drive option tightens suspension and increases handling. This is not an SUV on a car frame. It is a truck. I love the way it drives. The TOD (Torque On Demand)performs better that the traditional 4x4.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Nice looking

by zombienaut67 from Kansas City,Mo. | January 11, 2009

Our Axiom was almost luxurious inside and was a comfortable long distance cruiser. The downside[for my wife, who drove it to work ] was that it was tricky to park in small lots, and it ate a lot of gas. I liked it, she not so much, so it only racked up 30000 miles with us--but no problems whatsoever. The 3-mode 4 wheel drive setup worked great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


the best car ive ever owned

by spaorts car entgusiast from new york,ny | June 27, 2007

i really think this car is among the best on the roads these days it has excellent handling and drives really well.i would rather drive these then any other car on the road!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best SUV in low price

by SUV fan from NY | November 28, 2006

Excellent drive in rough conditions Dependable in extreme climates Fully loaded with all features in low price Don't go for the name -- This SUV is the best value for the money. However for some reason resale is good

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Isuzu Axiom

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.