2005 Jaguar S-TYPE

Change Vehicle
2005 Jaguar S-TYPE
Available in 3 styles:  2005 Jaguar S-TYPE 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$4,233–$12,893
Estimated MPG

17–18 city / 24–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

Nightmare when you have no Warranty

by Luxury Car enthusiast from Miami, Florida | February 7, 2013

4 years ago I purchased a pre used Jaguar S-Type not knowing the vehicle history, 4 months later transmission, A/C compressor failed. Vehicle had no warranty the repairs were super expensive. Vehicle looks great and has a beautiful interior. Parts and maintenance is expensive. If you buy used make sure you buy a warranty for the vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


S-Type VDP

by 1st Timer from South Carolina | December 17, 2012

Without a doubt the most satisfying car purchase of my life. Had no clue how scarce the VDP version was--only makes it that much sweeter. Am 60 yrs old, work an hour each week for each of those years, and this vehicle speaks to me on my trip home. Haven't spoken burled walnut for long, but I'm picking it up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I have owned 6 jaguars, this one most reliable.

by sporty from Clinton, NJ | January 2, 2012

I'm the second owner car had 35K miles when I purchased, have not had any problems to date. Car now has 68,900 miles. Jaguar red exterior, combo tan interior and get lots of comments on looks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Dream Car

by Jack from Rockwall, TX | December 11, 2011

We bought the 2005 Stype jag to replace a 2000 Stype Jag. These cars are so right for our driving requirements.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Jag STR is best in class by far

by eagleforce from Richmond, VA | November 25, 2011

Totally a M and AMG killer. Instant acceleration reminds me of rocket thrust snapping the heads of passengers. On the highway, achieved 24 mpg under cruise control. Perfection.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


A whole lot of car for little money

by Avanti man from Portland, OR | November 14, 2011

Jaguar's reputation for poor reliability drives the prices down compared with cars of comparable original price, but this car has all the luxury features one could ask for, is a great handling car (I have the V8), and I have peace of mind with a 3 year extended warrenty.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nice Surprise

by Funk49 from Allentown, PA | October 26, 2011

What a nice surprise. I am very impressed with the S-Type Jaguar. Great styling with that classy Jaguar grill and overall classic look. I am particulalrly impressed with the reliability of this car. No major problems after 78,000 miles, only normal maintenance. Excellent engine performance, very responsive, and those rap around bucket seats are the best. Gas milage is respectable with 22 combined and 27 highway. Overall this car is a pleasure to own and drive. I own this car for five years and have no plans to sell. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a mid class luxury car. I love mine...a real pleasure to own and drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Need more stars to rate for value

by OldSurf from Orange County, CA | August 12, 2011

I bought our 2005 V6 for my wife nealy 3 years ago. An absolute steal when you see what new ones cost. Love that it looks more like a Jag than the new ones. So far, maintenance costs have been minimal. Fold down rear seats and we can clean out Costco almost like a minivan! Memory seats are a great feature, but take care of the leather. Very attractive, but starting to show its age faster than I experienced with my USA car. My only "good" rating for comfort is because its not as easy to enter/exit as my "big" car. (but I am a big fat guy.) Once seated, its great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Jag S 2005

by Jag is my cat from Sweet Home, Oregon | November 10, 2010

2005 S V6 with 35K miles when purchased. Most beautiful car for the price. The V6 and the 6 speed transmission meld together beautifully: seamless shifting. A little awkward self-servicing. Seats, ride and cabin noise not of Lexus quality, but you give up the beauty of the Jag for that ride. I miss the older Cadillac ride and comfort, but we are in a new era in that it does not exist in the new Cadillac. Radio is very low quality. Happy with my Jaguar, especially the retro 60's look of this automobile.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I owned his Jaguar

by Majique from Benton | November 10, 2010

I owned this car and traded it in for a larger sedan since my family is growing. I LOVE this car but a man has to do what's right for his family. Rides great, very-very comfortable, tons of bells and whistles, and POWERFUL yet great gas mileage. Whoever gets this will be extremely pleased.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Jaguar S-TYPE

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.