2006 Jaguar S-TYPE

Change Vehicle
2006 Jaguar S-TYPE
Available in 3 styles:  2006 Jaguar S-TYPE 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$4,220–$14,436
Estimated MPG

17–19 city / 23–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

Jaguar 2006 S-Type A true jewel

by Experienced from Phoenix, Arizona | August 29, 2015

Bought a lovely 2006 S-Type for my wife. This is our second Jaguar. This vehicle is a fantastic car. The smoothest ride of any vehicle we have ever owned. It is a true luxury car. It is built to last. Quality is like most luxury vehicles, incomparable. It is quiet, solid, powerful, even with a 6-cylinder gasoline engine. Europeans hold on to these models. Very few are for sale in Europe. Yes, maintenance will cost more than your average vanilla-flavored car, but it is worth every penny. Besides, it looks elegant and classy. These cars are not ridiculously expensive thanks to the horrible reputation Jaguar had acquired in the past due to the lack of reliability of its electrical systems. Those systems have been replaced with American quality, and the S-Type is now a magnificent vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


2006 s type e

by Bakey from Michigan | September 7, 2014

I have owned 2 Cadillacs STS , a Porsche . My jaguar although not a Porsche is the best car I driven. Also had an Audi Quattro . The jag. Is just what I was looking for and has lived up to my expectation. I only wish the radio would come in better, although I live by an airport and radio station, probably the problem. I have nothing bad to say about his car. I would recommend to anyone buy one. This has never seen snow and never will.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Jag

by former Brit from sf, ca. | February 8, 2013

Clean used Jags - preferably Select Edition certified - are a great bargain. Fantastic car at a good price. Very comfortable, great looking. Reliability is just fine, in spite of the old stereotypes people have about Jags breaking down, which are 20, no 30, years out of date.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great car Life saver

by justin from Hector, NY | July 23, 2012

Owned mine R for 3 trouble free years and over 60000 miles never had any mechanical problems car was always fun to drive very fast, handled well and I never got tired of looking at it. Last week it saved my life when I was in an accident at 55mph and walkded away without a scratch! very safe and I am already looking for another Jag

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2006 Jaguar S Type R

by Bosco from Tucson, AZ | May 20, 2011

Terrific vehicle! Comfortable, fast, safe, luxurious, smooth ride yet corners on a dime. I'll never drive anything else.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Kept Secret

by Shark from Chicago | April 29, 2011

These are by far the best cars for the money!!!!!! Think about it, for the same price you can get a commoners car...yet you can drive a Classic Performance Sedan. Rated by Top Gear as an outstanding Sedan comparable to the BMW 5 series. Take advantage of this while it last drive a Jag rated 2nd to Lexus in initial quality by JD Powers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


NICE CAR - VERY FAST

by JAGMAN from MICHIGAN | April 18, 2011

2006 JAG S-Type "R", very fast. It is faster than my 2008 Mustang GT, even though the book says they are the same.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Better than Mercedes S-Class

by Danger from Chicago | February 16, 2011

Great Car, Boss has S-Class that isn't as comfortable or as nice in the interior for additional $70,000.00. Handles great, see Top Gear Reviews, Fast, great breaking and handling... True Luxury and absolutely greatest sound system. No problems in 5 years of ownership.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


One of the worse cars I've ever driven

by Nickjr from Annapolis Maryland | December 6, 2010

I purchased a "barely used" 2008 S-Type with 32k miles. In the course of 6 months, this vehicle has been in the shop for a faulty air conditioner condensor (twice), three coolant leaks, a leaking brake caliper, and a faulty gas gauge (that they mysteriously seem to be unable to re-produce). Most recently, the head lights and interior dash board lights are malfunctioning intermittently as well. I cant stand the fact that the heated seats shut off automatically every ten minutes. I've never heard of any other vehicle that requires you turn the seat heaters on every ten minutes. I should have never traded my Honda Accord in for this nightmare.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


In love with Jaguar

by R RU from San Jose | July 30, 2010

Just take a test drive of Jaguar and you will never be disapointed. This text is too short but I don't have time ti type more that it. I love it; will by my next XF soon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Services for this Jaguar S-TYPE

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.