2002 Jaguar X-TYPE

Change Vehicle
2002 Jaguar X-TYPE

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2002 Jaguar X-TYPE 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$2,342–$9,502
Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 25–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

20 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

"Blue" is a great performing vehicle!

by Ms. A. from Tallahassee | March 29, 2012

I have always come to expect Jaguars to be high performance vehicles but never did I expect a base line vehicle to be efficient on gas and still give you the pick up and go when needed. This vehicle goes 0 to 60 in less than 6 seconds. The ride is smooth the handling is great and the 6 cylinder motor means you won't cry at the pump. My preference for all my vehicles is mid-grade to premium and I fill this car up for between 45 and 48 dollars. This by far is the best vehicle and I have no regrets. The family business is automotive machinery and engineering and it takes a lot to impress this bunch but they were fairly impressed with the performance of this vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Crysler Intrepid

by bonny from Indianapols, IN | March 11, 2011

I have this Jaquar for six month. It is a very good family car, if the family is not big. Gas P/M is normal on a 6 cyl. car. My Jaguar is X-type and runs very nice on Hway, I think I got to much air on tires Fills a little roof on wholes. The int. looks is very nice, all electrical system works very well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best Car Ever

by Danger from Chicago | February 16, 2011

Bought car new in 2002, when 1st released after demo in France, have 124,000 reliable miles, great car, great handling, good performance and economy, great in Snow as good as Jeep Cherokee, better than my Quatro Audi. For comfort and price, what a car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Above average

by Zhi Yang from Buffalo, NY | February 3, 2011

I got my 2002 x-type in June 10, it's a 2.5 manual with 100k on it. Got the car cheap, flush my engine, transfer case, differential, gearbox, replace strut and shocks from bilstien, spark plugs, also the rear bushing and front cv joint. Gives little whinning during cold suspect its the center bearing need to replace drive shaft that's gonna cost me about half a grand, going to fix it this summer. Over its a nice car to drive, handles great in the snow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Ride

by Jag Guy from Denver, CO | December 28, 2010

Purchased used in late '07 with 88,000 miles on it. I knew Jags had reliability issues but I loved the car and bought it anyway. I have a 3.0 with 5-spd manual, and major problems started soon. The first one was the "throttle body" which controls (electonically) engine speed. Car went into "limp" mode. Replaced for $1500. Air conditioner compressor replaced for $800. New driveshaft for $700. Front shocks repaced for $1500 (rattles). A few other things taken care of over time. All that said, the car is a fabulous ride, quiet, comfortable even for an 8-hour (or more) trip. And for the last year and a half I have had no problems of any kind. The clutch and the tranny have been fine all along. I certainly recommend this car to any car enthusiast who understands that you have to pay attention and that stuff happens and you have to deal with it. I find that it has been worth the effort.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


LOVE THE CAR AND THE LOOKS IT GETS

by JOYCE from | November 7, 2010

VERY RELIABLE. HAS NE FOR 3 YEARS AND NO MAJOR ISSUES AT ALL. GOOD ON GAS. LOVE THE POWER WHEN CHANGING LANES AND THE QUITE RIDE ON THE INSIDE

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great car

by Ford Products Man from Gwinnett Co. Georgia | October 26, 2010

Comfortable, performs well, great gas mileage with V6 and 5 spd. manual. My wife's car, she loves it. Replaced a PT that she loved and is a perfect fit.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


AWD is awesome in winter

by Scat from Port Jefferson, NY | June 29, 2010

Jaguar X-type all wheel drive with the deluxe 3.0 V6 engine, plenty of pick-up, unbeatable traction. Fantastic Connelly leather seats, walnut wood interior trim, six peaker stereo system, electric moonroof, this cat's got it all! Spacious trunk, split fold-down rear seats, comfortable for four adults.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great foul-weather sporty sedan!

by scat from New York | May 27, 2010

awesome AWD, v6 has good pick-up, steering and braking all above average. Not the most reliable car ever sold, but most fixes have been minor.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


NEEDS MORE FEATURES

by Nev from chicago,IL | April 12, 2010

WONDERFUL CAR, to be a Jaguar i think the car needs more features tho it has many, it does not tell when when its time for an oil change nor does it have a tire pressure monitor. this car is very heavy on the road, it make you feel safe. i bought my 2002 X-type only 3 months ago and i love it! but there is not much space in the rear seats for a full size adult.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

Featured Services for this Jaguar X-TYPE

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.