2005 Jaguar X-TYPE

Change Vehicle
2005 Jaguar X-TYPE

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2005 Jaguar X-TYPE 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$4,234–$11,906
Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 25–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

Overpriced

by Pat from | October 22, 2013

I liked the style and make of the car. Otherwise, was not impressed with the communication to obtain the vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Best Car I've Ever Owned

by Gene W. from Glendale, AZ | August 31, 2013

I purchased this car this year with 85,512 in pristine condition. I have yet to have any issues with my "Silver Bullet" knock on wood. This car is truly a head turner with the BMW, Mercedes, Lexus, and any other luxury vehicle on the road. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone and I think I will stay with this brand.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


best used luxo ride

by jag fan from columbus,ohio | June 3, 2013

bought an 05 jag x type a month ago it,s got 138,000 miles picked it up for 6,000.00 even with the high miles this is one awesome car,the power and handling were a real surprise.nobody does a leather interior as well as jaguar. My better half loves the looks we get driving this car,i wish jaguar still made them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Pleased with purchase

by Jaguar fan from Middelbury, CT | September 1, 2012

I am totally enthused with my purchase of my 2005 Jaguar X-Type. Dealer was fabulous, and the car was pristine--only 49,800 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


I Love MY Kitty Kat

by Kitty Kat from baltimore | August 27, 2012

I love her...had lexus, had mercedes...the lexus was good the mercedes terrible and so the the Jag is just awesome. Everybody notices her. She performs very well, handles well. Purchased about a month ago...05 with 53K miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I Love My Kitty Kat

by Kitten from Baltimore, MD | August 6, 2012

Purchased the car for my B-Day. Has 53K miles, its a 2005. & purrrrrrrrs like a kitten. I've had Mercedes E-class and this is by far a better vehicle, and i paid twice as much for the Mercedes and had nothing but problems.....If you have the opportunity to buy one buy it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


great car for the buck

by mr car from peabody | June 28, 2010

this car has treated me very well and i will stick to jaguar for my next car and it really keeps it value

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


On our second X-type

by steve from Brownfield, ME | March 4, 2010

We leased an '02 X-Type 2.5 for my wife in 2002 and we drove it almost 50K. Had a couple of non mechanical problems with it, but the dealer was great. In '05 we purchased a 2005 3.0 and have 95,000 on it now. Knock on wood (it's nicely appointed with it!!) it's been in once for none warranty work (cost us $126.00) and routine maintainence. Best car we ever owned, including a really nice handling Peuguot STI. We live in snowcountry and the AWD with winter tires makes it so we're never "homebound". It's silly what that car will go through! My only possible complaint is that it's a little cozy to get in and out of. My wife and 5'2" just loves it! I get to drive it once in a while.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Disturbingly reliable and amazingly comfortable.

by Nige from Lynn, ma | January 29, 2010

2005 Xtype - 3.0 I drove 22k miles in mine in 2008 from (39k to 61k) and think its the most comfortable reliable car I have ever owned. I've only been to the dealer twice, once every 10k miles for a regular service, and have been pleasantly suprised at how little it cost, on average $500 a time. Handling is excellent, i love pulling off the highway at 55 with someone tailgating me and watching them struggle as I dont slow down and they have to. Performance is good, and economy is acceptable, I average 23mpg in mixed driving with about 70% highway. 28 mpg is possible if you do 100% highway and stick to the speed limits.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Jaguar x type

by Floyd-1 from Ohio | December 7, 2009

I have owned one since 07 and I think it is a great car,best looking car on the street.would like to buy another one soon. I live up north so the all wheel drive is great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Jaguar X-TYPE

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.