2007 Jaguar X-TYPE

Change Vehicle
2007 Jaguar X-TYPE
Available in 2 styles:  2007 Jaguar X-TYPE 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$5,719–$13,971
Estimated MPG

18 city / 24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

nice car for the money

by jc4220 from cincinnati, oh | February 17, 2013

My wife bought this car because she is obsessed with Jaguar. After reading other reviews I was a little worried about the electrical system. So far no problems. The car handles like a true sports car. The suspension is not as smooth as I expected, you can feel every little bump in the road. I guess that is what most would want in a sports car. This thing has airbags everywhere and thr 4 wheel drive with traction control is nice also. Overall, it is a really nice and safe car for my wife.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


A smooth, agile ride

by Jaggy76 from Tennessee | February 14, 2012

I recommend the Jaguar X-type for those who are looking for an all-wheel-drive vehicle with a smooth ride and great handling, provided you get a Jaguar Certified or similar non-dealer warranty. Within 2 months of buying mine, and with only 32K miles, it needed a new transfer case. Apparently it's not so uncommon for this model, and would have cost well over $2500 if I didn't have the warranty. Mine was replaced by the local dealer free of charge. In spite of that dismaying start, the car is very satisfying so far. The ride is remarkably smooth and acceleration is good with the 235hp 3-liter engine, although not immediate as one might hope for. (The claimed spec was 0-60mph in 7.2 seconds, but that might be with the manual; the automatic feels closer to 8.) The handling feels very solid and precise. Seating comfort is excellent in the front, and very good in the back for those under 5'8" -- anyone over that may feel cramped for knee room. The trunk is spacious at 15+ cubic feet, and has a fairly large opening as well as 60/40 folding rear seats for pass-through storage if needed. Visibility is very good. The interior controls are mostly easy to find and use, except for some cryptic radio controls. There are a few climate-control quirks that I still haven't quite figured out: The A/C comes on automatically if you change some of the temperature settings, even on a cold day when you really just need heat. The Recirculation button turns off by itself after 10 minutes (but I suppose that prevents even the slight chance of carbon-monoxide poisoning?). So do the dual-level front seat heaters, which work very well otherwise. A couple of features I wish I had: integrated garage-door openers, power-seat controls for the front passenger, and accompanying memory settings -- available in a premium luxury package that is very rare. Other desirable but rare options are navigation and a CD changer. Mine does has a rear parking warning beeper, but I am never sure how many inches remain to the car or wall behind even when the beeps get fast. Fuel economy is mediocre but tolerable at around 20 mpg in mixed driving, or up to maybe 25 on the highway. But it drinks only Premium, my deah. And it has only a 16-gallon tank, so its range is a somewhat short 300 miles in the city. As for the styling, Ahh. The front end is gorgeous, with the classic, almost nostalgic oval headlights, crowned by the leaping Jaguar and a sculpted hood sweeping back from there. The rear is not so inspiring but still classy. From the side, the shortened length makes it clear this is more like a "baby Jaguar" and not a svelt "adult" like an XJ. The design of the alloy wheels (there were 2 or 3 options) and color can help compensate. (I have Metallic Red, which is nice, but I might have preferred light or dark blue. Other decent choices are Jaguar Racing Green, silver, topaz, or gold. But whatever color you find, make sure you get a good warranty, or are willing to take chances. Many X-types have needed transmission work, and engine oilpan leaks seem to be common with the early model years from 2002 to 2006. Even a 2007-08 model with low miles could need an expensive repair such as a new transfer case, as mine did. Given that, how can I recommend such a car? As a fellow Jaguar owner commented, you live with it and accept that when you start your relationship: like beautiful women, Jaguars tend to be high-maintenance. If you want reliability (or the best fuel economy, or practicality), look elsewhere. If you want real beauty and a smooth but athletic ride, set aside some funds for a Jaguar and Enjoy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


A really nice car

by Starbuck from Palm Springs, CA | June 5, 2011

We started out to buy a S Type and could not find the value for the money in that model. The X type although a smaller version seem to provide the value for the dollar. It's a highline car with the typical Jaguar looks and appeal. It's a very nice driving car and very comfortable. At 26000 miles it needs the rear sway bar bushings replaced because they got noisy going over dips. A typical problem that seems to plauge Jaugars. I don't know why they haven't used a better material By 07. Not a big problem but a nuisance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Never thought it would have been this good!!!

by New jag owner from Denver Colorado | March 16, 2011

So it was time for me to start looking for a second car because i wanted better mpg and the truck doesnt get the best(i was not willing to give up the truck) so i started looking around...vw's, bmw, audi's and so on. It never crossed my mind to look at an x-type till i saw one. Was not sure about reliability, but then i found out it is ford's 3.0 duratec. I thought "oh great i buying a ford" but truely it still is a jag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Superb and underappreciated

by Pallino Jag from Washington, DC | May 8, 2010

The x type suffered unfairly at the hands of the media who called it a Ford Contour/Mondeo and not a real jag. This is like saying Audis, Lexus, Acuras etc are not real luxury cars because they share components with VW, Toyota, Honda etc. Besides, the Mondeo version that the x type is based on never made it to the US. It is NOT the Contour sold here and the x type shares less than 15% common parts with a Mondeo. Independent of all that, the x type is a superb combination of style, comfort and driving experience. The x type has an understated elegance that makes it quite unique compared to the BMWs and Mercedeses in it's class. I've loved owning mine. It's very reliable, the dealer that services it is excellent and based on my experience I'll buy another jag in a heart beat. I did research several cars thoroughly before getting an x type. The final was betwen the Mercedes C280 4 matic and this. I picked the x type for a more comfortable ride and nicer overall style. The drive quality was similar for both.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


An amazing car: superb handling

by car nut from Canada | June 14, 2007

Despite nonsense comments to the contrary, this is a real Jaguar: fast, comfortable, elegant (it turns heads!), beautifully built, real wood, real leather, and very reliable. Far ahead of the competition (by my actual comparison), and the AWD handling is amazing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great balance of size and comfort

by Jag Lover in Md from Kensington Md | December 6, 2006

We wanted a comfortable car, but not a huge sedan . The X is just the right size for driving in the city, and with all wheel drive it will be perfect in the rain and snow. The stereo is awesome the interior is also a good blend of luxury and comfort without feeling over done. The engine does seem to work a little hard to get it up to speed, but that is a very small annoyance, and it isn't broke in yet we will see how much that improves once it is.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Jaguar X-TYPE

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.