2012 Jaguar XJ

Change Vehicle
2012 Jaguar XJ

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2012 Jaguar XJ 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$39,602–$69,910
Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 21–23 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Great Looks

by Comfort Car enthusiast from Arizona | February 28, 2013

had the FX 2010 before, which was also great, switched to the XJ-L, guests love the back seat comfort. Car handles, rides great, no complaints, light stalk is a little out of the way, little Ford-ish, can't switch gears with paddle shifter in normal D mode, only in Sport. Don't know why that was changed. Center console too much shiny chrome, looks good but . . . sometimes when the sun hits it, can blind. Make it mate chrome next time. Touch screen is okay but could be better, voice control is not too bad. Pick up is great with the Portfolio 385hp normal V8

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Car!!!

by GS from Seattle, WA | December 16, 2012

I have put 8000 miles on the 2012 XJ since May. I have had no mechanical problems to date. All the superlatives about the car as described elsewhere are true. I recently drove the car on a 350 mile road trip at an avg speed of 70 mph and my mileage was 24mpg. Navigation system is ok and definitely slow but it works fine. Most time I use my I-phone. I have never owned a car that receives so many comments and everyone loves to talk about. This car is a great luxury that is worth every penny the minute you get behind the wheel and step on the gas.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Jaguar XJL 2012

by CarEnthusiast from Highland Park, NJ | December 6, 2012

The Jag XJL has all the features I was looking for in a car. It has rear seat moon roof, though fixed. This standard feature comes in addition to the front seat moon roof which can be opened completely. It has all voice commands including the navigation. Also it has 600 watts of music power which is good enough for a normal listener. Added to this the performance is so good and with a 20+gallon tank, one need not make frequent trips to Gas station.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


not a reliable vehicle

by disappointed purchaser from new york | October 16, 2012

Beautiful car, inside and out. mechanically a dud. Lovely to look at, but woefully inadequate to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


the new XJ

by cat o 9 tales from PALM SPRINGS, CA. | May 14, 2012

All I can say is W O W . . . . . . This car has exceeded any pre - expectations --- It is absolutely whisper quiet, FAST to drive, and more Power than anyone could need or exceed...... only one word "growwwwll"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


BEST CAR I EVER OWNED

by WPJAGSALESACHA from WHITE PLAINS, NY | May 4, 2012

I ACTUALLY SELL THE JAGUAR BUT HAVE OWNED AND 04 XJR AND RECENTLEY LEASED A 2012 XJ. IT IS WITH OUT A DOUBT THE BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED. IT HANDLES GREAT AND SOUNDS EVEN BETTER. I WISH A COULD HAVE GOTTEN THE XJ SUPER CHARGED BUT THE 385HP IS MORE THAN ENOUGH, 27 MPG ON THE HIGHWAY AT 80 MP BUT 18 AVG MPG OTHERWISE. YOU SHOULD CONSIDER THE XJ THE NEXT TIME YOU ARE IN THE MARKET.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Jaguar XJ SuperSport 2011-2012 same!

by Pa.Bill from Gettysburg Pa. | February 29, 2012

I have the 2011 XJ supersport. I just compared it to the 2012. Same car. I have driven 10,000 since I picked it up in July and feel its under rated especially when it comes to power and handling. For such a large car it turns-handles more like a sports model. The book give 0 to 60 in 4.7 MortorTrand tested the XJL 470hp and got a flat 4.0(see issue January 2011 car of the year) I can onlu guess on the XJ 510hp. What is nagitive to me is the slowness of the NAV system and everyone look at you or ask questions at every chance. I almost never see other XJ 's on the road which makes me wonder- how many were sold in 2011? Thank You Pa.Bill

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


purr cat purr

by george from Chicago | February 17, 2012

Great car to drive, fast and comfortable. The touch screen is sluggish in response and the processor is slow. Have had to have the cat in the shop several times... for this reason, this Jag is like many of the past... tempremental. But it is still a helluva lot of fun to drive. MEOW.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Jaguar XJ.


Featured Services for this Jaguar XJ

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.