1996 Jaguar XJS

Change Vehicle

1996 Jaguar XJS

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  XJS 2dr Convertible shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,552–$18,340

Estimated MPG

17 city / 24 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

5.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Sexiest car next to an E-Type

by xk180 from St. Joseph, MI | August 25, 2013

Must confess this is the third XJS I have owned, the first with the straight six engine. Everything about this model is just pure enjoyment. Quirky British switches, and solutions abound, this model is not yet a bland "world car" as it has personality. All but one of these three Jags have been most dependable for me, and I highly recommend this model as it is an extreme bargain if you can find one in good condition.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


It will beat the Mercedes SL in may ways

by XjS lover from San Diego, CA | August 14, 2013

1996 was the best and final year for this XJS. The 4.0 6 inline is the best engine Jaguar ever made. AJ 16 engine only was made for 95-96 models and makes it more powerful that 94 models. If you are looking for a classic car for every day that is very exclusive and looks like a $100000 car go for a perfect condition 95-96 XJS. The quality and reliability is the same level to an SL or better. Stay away from the V12 engine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best valued luxury grande sports tourer

by Danny from Lake Tahoe, NV. | November 23, 2011

I have owned a 1996 XJS 6 cyl "Celebration" for 13 years now. Ford re-designed the powerplant in 1994 and has received the highest marks in reliability. Its a heavy vehicle, rides flawlessly, quiet even with the top down. This vehicle was designed as a convertible, so limited road noise, no shuddering, no need for rear windscreens etc. when the top is down. I'm purchasing a 2nd one as we speak, your purchasing a very expensive car for pennies on the dollar. Don't hesitate, buy a 1995-96 and have years of enjoyment, plust the fact...its a head turner!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best bang for the buck.

by Jag Nut from Aptos,Calif. | January 29, 2011

This car has gotten a bad reputation,why I do not know.I have owned one for 9 years and it has been very reliable.Great way to own a quality touring sports car and not spend a lot of money.Hint,do your research and find one that has been taken care off,low mileage is not always the answer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Classic Jaguar Stlylin'

by fboros from Florida | December 20, 2010

I searched the web for 9 months before purchasing a nearly perfect specimen. 24M miles, a nearly new 1996 XJS convertible, the final production year. For $16m I got a classic body style, a reliable 6 cylinder with eye catching appeal. It's a joy to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Awesome!!

by Jag Girl from Long Island, NY | May 3, 2010

One of Jaguar's best looking cars, nice lines, gorgeous, awesome handling, what a head turner, people come up to me and ask "what is it", it's a 1996 and they think it's new!! The sweetist touring car on the road....Handles like a dream, convertible, tunes, gets up and goes!! Fast as heck. Sharp, reliable, great on gas!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Looking and Running Car Jaguar Made

by Jag Enthusiast from Long Island, NY | January 21, 2009

The last of the beautys made by Jaguar. This is one hot looking car, mechanically i never had any problems even electrically as I hear from many people. It's a powerful engine, great on gas, accelerates unbelievably on the highway, head turner every where in the hamptons! I've had this car 7 years and use it only in summers. Great touring car, hugs the road, takes turns incredibly well. It's an investment you will never loss $$ on. The new Jaguars are all plastic, looks like a Taurus. The 96 is the last year Jaguar made this beautiful design. People come up and look at this car where ever you drive or park. One of a kind.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


"Most Reliable, Beautiful and Fun Car I've Owned"

by Classic Convertible Enthusiast ('59 MGA, '96 XJS) from Wilmette, IL | September 3, 2008

In four years of ownership, I have never had a issue or worry of reliability with this car. It starts, runs and stops perfectly in all weather (actually, I never drive it in rain or snow, but I'm pretty sure it would run as well as it does in sunny, hot summertime). It starts immediately in over 90 degree and below zero temps. My driving has included heavy 90+ degree stop & go city traffic as well as 75 + mph highway runs. The car runs cool and smooth in all situations. Contrary to it's reputation for being and expensive car to maintain, the XJS 6 cyl. engine is a workhorse that is good for 100,000 miles MINIMUM, with simple regular maintenance. I have spent no more on this car's maintenance than on my Chrysler 300M or my wife's Pontiac Grand Prix. The XJS has the most powerful brakes I've ever experienced. When applying the brakes, you feel entirely confident that there is more than enough stopping power from any speed. Gives you a great feeling of safety. The XJS, in my opinion, in one of the most beautiful Jags ever made. I prefer it to the older XKEs, which are pretty but small and to the newer XK8s, which are well made and substantial, but look a bit too much like a Ford Taurus convertible for my taste. The XJS has that understated elegance that you expect from Jaguars, plus more seating and trunk space. Is it fun to drive? I drive it responsibly and within speed limits, but it is nice to know the massive power is there to make it go and to make it stop if I need it. On Sheridan Road through the Winnetka ravines , north of Chicago occasionally. The car sticks to the road around curves and at steep grades like the tires are glued. That's fun! On the highway, the car almost drives itself - no lane wandering at all. And the ride is smooth and comfortable, even over the regular expansion joints in concrete pavements. On a long road trip, there is no driver or passenger fatigue, even with the top down. I can't say enough good things about the Jaguar XJS.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Jaguar XJS

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.