2000 Jeep Cherokee

Change Vehicle
2000 Jeep Cherokee

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 12 styles:  2000 Jeep Cherokee 2dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$802–$9,990
Estimated MPG

16–20 city / 20–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

22 out of 23 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 23 reviews

2000 cherokee rocks

by hooch from ga | January 31, 2014

Dont let a dealer steal one from you or steal u blind selling to you $7,000 for a 4x4 2000 cherokee classic is way too much. Unless Perfect. Ought to be able to get one for around $6,000. Dealer giving you $3,350 on trade is a total ripoff. Do the kelley book math. Its not rocket science.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Dont get car stolen by insurance co

by hoochbear from GA | January 20, 2014

bought my 2000 4x4 limited for $12,500 in 2003 @ 65K drove 10 years. Did have to have partial overhaul,(overheated, etc. full tuneup, etc. used filter oil NAPA/ Valvoline. Less than qt between changes..tight, great engine, 4x4, transfer case, front axle, shaft, rear axle, wheels. A USAA - insured person hit totaled it back in sept 2013. @ 193K. GOOD to VG condition up to then, expected to get 230K miles + at least.. all driveline was perfect they said they looked under neath & hood USAA was going to give only $4,500, or $3,700 if I kept for salvage. ("value"$800. huh!,) REALLY!) only minor mech damage driver sidet front, plus some body damage hood, driver door & 1/4 panel. Body Thieves!I was SCREWED! started to keep it. Try to get a 2000 Limited 4x4 for that, at almost any mileage. . neither appraiser nor USAA told me I could appeal amount.. they did raise to $4,900. that's closer to Wholesale. said average 2000 like mine sold at 180K miles. guess they forget about how long they last!. Again. I got screwed. over good! Somebody will get a salvage Cherokee for a steal. . should probably have kept it-- the $3,700 plus say $1,300 of my own would certainly have brought it back to 100%. reliable. TOTALING has to be only 75% of retail value. Insurance industry= CROOKS! + ruined my Fall, hunting season, fun, 65th birthday, this was 2nd jeep, put 0ver 210K on 2 of them!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


total junk

by potential buyer from | October 7, 2013

I talked with the dealer in reference to a Jeep Cherokee, on the phone, after reviewing these same photos that are on the website. After travelling more than a hundred miles, not only was the Jeep on the lot a completely different one than the pictures indicted, but the sales person didn't have a clue as to what she was trying to sell. I would not recommend anyone buying a vehicle to shop Auto Barn. Complete false advertising!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Best vehicle I have ever had and ever will have

by Nate from Illinois | August 10, 2013

I bought my 2000 Cherokee Classic in 2003 with 31,000 miles on it. It now has 162,000 miles on it ten years later. And it runs like new. I have never had to put any work in to it at all. Nothing. I have driven my Cherokee in Manhattan, Chicago, Los Angeles, and across the United States 3 separate4 times. It has always ran great with no problems. I can't speak or write enough about how proud I am to own and operate this vehicle and how well it has performed for me. I have helped rescue stranded motorists out of 3 foot high snow drifts when few other vehicles could even get through the snow. My Cherokee, in 4WD, drove through the snow easily-combined with my driving skills. I rarely use the 4WD, but when I have it is great to have the shift-on-the-fly option. The cargo space is awesome when the back seat lays down. I love my Cherokee.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best jeep ever had.

by jeep lover from Anderson, Indiana | February 9, 2013

All around just love this jeep. Handles great, looks nice, good gas mileage, all controls placed just right. NICE

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


2000 Jeep Cherokee 4dr, AT, 4WD, I6

by Sonny D from Professional guide and journalist | February 7, 2013

Looked at perhaps 40 vehicles...most way...overpriced or those selling had no real answers to serious questions. CARFAX was a major factor in pre-determining car's background history and helped put my mind to ease. Strong solid I6 engine...9 out of every ten of these vehicle engines last in excess of 250 - 350K miles. Rugged, 4WD, one reliable outdoor vehicle when you need it, you got what you need to bring to deep into the great out of doors, and return you safe back home after a long weekend of camping, or pulling that flats boat to some out of the way backcountry saltmarsh way out in the boonies...where no cell phones work and get you there and back out again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


I wish I held on to mine....

by Jeep Diehard from Newark, NY | June 4, 2012

Bought my 2000 Cherokee Sport in 2009 with 110,000 miles on it. Drove it 3 years, only putting tires and a water pump into it. Decided to trade it in for a brand new wrangler (which I love), but nothing will ever compare to the classic look and reliability of the cherokee. Miss it already!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best All-Around Vehicle Ever Made

by Kermit from Pace, Fl | April 30, 2012

I have owned my 2000 Cherokee Sport for about a year now and I'm VERY happy with my purchase. Mine had 170,xxx on it when I bought it but it still runs good as new. Cosmetically, the vehicle was in 9/10 shape. I was in the market for an SUV like a Blazer or Explorer to replace my Pontiac Grand Am. Since I play in a band, I move my instruments a LOT and my little car didn't offer much space. I saw a Jeep Cherokee Sport sitting at a local dealership for a reasonable price so I pulled in and checked it out. I was liking the vehicle so I took it for a test drive and fell in love with the vehicle. The good: Powerful Engine! I love the I6 engine in these Jeeps. Plenty of power for the highway, trails, rocks, or anything. I've taken mine out on the interstate many times, and taken it on many, many backroads without issues. Lots of space! The trunk is monstrous in this SUV and it's one reason I purchased this vehicle. The rear seat also folds down for more trunk space. Fun. This is a very fun vehicle to drive, simply put. Bad: Gas Mileage is pretty rough. 14 city isn't really great for a student like me. Road Noise/Engine Noise. It's a loud vehicle at speed. Overall Comfort. I would dread taking this on a long road trip just because it is a little cramped inside for a long drive. Around town, I have no complains. Overall I LOVE my Cherokee and it's a great vehicle for the all around driver. Get one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best vehicle EVER

by Jeepster513 from Cincinnati, ohio | May 15, 2011

Had this jeep for a long time great great suv. Its beast thrgh snow shifts great not that bad on gas- no rust has 90k on it now - its in high demand and good resale value at 11 years old. Wouldnt trade for the world.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Pleasantly Surprised!

by ColoradoWingsBoy from Colorado Springs, CO | November 22, 2010

I bought my 2000 Jeep Cherokee Classic with 76,000 miles on it, three years ago. It now has 130,000 miles on it. This vehicle has been the most trouble-free, reliable vehicle I've owned in years. It's rugged, dependable, and has that "classic, old school" Jeep look that have made it a cult favorite. It's my daily driver; I drive about 20,000 miles/year. It has never let me down. The only repairs I've EVER had done to it - outside of normal wear items - is replacing two seals on the transfer case. That in-line 4.0 litre six cylinder engine is absolutely bullet-proof! Fuel economy isn't great (avg. about 19 mpg) but not terrible either. As you might expect from such a vehicle, it does have some wind and engine noise at highway speeds but it's not obtrusive. The vehicle is a bit narrow and the back seats can be rather difficult to get in/out of for older passengers. I'd gladly buy another one in a heartbeat!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 23 reviews

Featured Services for this Jeep Cherokee

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.