2001 Jeep Cherokee

Change Vehicle
2001 Jeep Cherokee
Available in 14 styles:  2001 Jeep Cherokee 2dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$2,139–$9,447
Estimated MPG

15–17 city / 20–23 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

23 out of 25 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 25 reviews

Best SUV ever made

by Cuzz from | January 15, 2014

The xjs (Cherokees) are by far the best trucks every built. They were made to be indestructible and I would recommend getting one to anybody. The engine has such a good reputation for a reason, dont be fooled by the 190 horse power- the IL6 these came with is an absolute beast and has ALOT of raw torque. Not only that but they are so simple to work on. I am 18 and i did nearly everything on my cherokee myself. The only bad thing about these cars is the electrical for the doors and windows. However these are safe too, I totaled mine by hydroplaning into a fence, and it still ran perfectly despite all the damage. These run like champs and if youre looking for bang for your buck take it from me and buy a real cherokee- not one of the new ugly things jeeps making now.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Keep on Truckin'

by DEELEE from Knoxville, IA | October 22, 2013

I have owned several Jeep Cherokees over many years. I am currently driving a 1998 Cherokee Classic that I bought in 2001. It had 54,000 mi on it then. Now it has 207,000. I have had no major mechanical problems. I have had to replace the radiator (as well as 2 other of my Cherokees) and I have had some problems with the power locks from the Driver's door controls. Electrical set up with Chrysler products is always interesting. I live on gravel and this Jeep will go through Mud, Snow, Off-road anything with no problem. A plus too is, this Jeep has the Part-time AND Full-time 4WD option. This option is getting hard to find but is VERY handy when you are driving slick-dry-slick-dry, etc. road conditions as you don't have to move it back and forth between 2WD & 4WD. And the 4.0 straight six is indestructible. My Jeep uses no oil and I have had NO engine issues and I haven't been too good about timely oil changes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Take it to a mechanic First - No, REALLY!!!

by JEEPDADDY from Chicago, IL | November 26, 2012

Recently I again purchased a used, 2001 Jeep Cherokee 4door. These cas are very reliable, and most prices from private parties are fair, providing the Jeep is in good working order, and not a rust-bucket. Just make sure you first ABSOLUTELY bring it to a certified mechanic to get a thorough mechanical inspection. I know these Cherokees from prior ownerships, and the one time...THIS time, I didn't bring it for an inspection, I got totally hosed by the "Honest" 1 owner folks I bought it from!! I say, if the seller is not willing to let you take it to a mechanic run, don't walk away QUICK!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


scammers on cars.com

by Not happy from bouckville ny | January 30, 2012

Both vehicles that I was interested were put on by scammers. Same wording only one getting a divorce and the other had a dead husband. Both out of state and would ship for free seeing someone elese paid the shipping and then backed out. Yhey must think I am out of my mind for buying a car with out seeing it in person and driving it and having my husband who is a mechanic look it over first. These peopl give cars.com a bad name.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Lemon

by Back to Toyota from Atlanta, Georgia | December 24, 2011

These are the repairs I have had to made to my 2001 Jeep Cherokee. I think this is a little too much for one vehicle since I spent less on my 3 toyotas combined. 12/23/2011, $383.90, Flywheel Torque Converter Bolts, Milage: 68459 12/5/2011, $330.28, Ignition Coil, Milage:68089 10/18/2011, $165.41, Up stream O2 sensor, Milage:67284 11/20/2010, $199.31, Replace rear tailshart seal & bushing, Milage: 62011 7/9/2009, $248.18, Oil leak at valve cover, Milage:55767 2/25/2009, $623.92, Oil leak rear main seal, Milage:54115 12/14/2007, $1272.05, Installed intrument cluster, Milage: 46575

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


I am very pleased with this vehicle to this point

by cherokee nation fan from Georgia | October 12, 2011

This is the first SUV that I have owned, and I am very pleased with the performance, the style(exterior and interior), and I have heard some great things about the Grand Cherokee

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Living in The Back Country of Colorado at 9,600 ft

by High Country Driver from Park County, Colorado | October 10, 2011

We have to drive on washed out dirt roads 10 miles just to get to and from our house. We have winter conditions up here 7-8 months a year. To say we are isolated, would be an understatement. To live up here, you have to have a vehicle that is dependable, rugged, and excellent in deep snow! The 2001 Jeep Cherokee meets all these demands and more. We own a Cherokee Sport with 53,000 orig. miles and plan on keeping it for a very long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


LOVE this Jeep!

by Jeepersx2 from NW Indiana | January 25, 2011

This is the second Jeep I've owned. The first was a 1995 Grand Cherokee. Despite the fact that the dealer lied to me about it previously being wrecked, I loved that Jeep. I just bought my 2001 Jeep Cherokee 4 days ago (used). It has great pick up. Love the body style, and the fact that I can easily switch from 2 WD into 4 WD. The stability on this Jeep is outstanding with the wide wheelbase. Roomy interior, with gauges rather than what's known as 'idiot lights' on the dash. I would definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great SUV

by Brutus from Trapper Creek, AK | August 8, 2010

Bought a used Cherokee a few months ago. The Cherokee has been nothing but great, except for a minor problem with the left-front speaker. The 4.0L is just a better motor than Jeep's new 3.8L, and I have been getting better gas milage than I did in my 2009 Wrangler. In my opinion, the new Jeeps just don't perform at the same level as the older ones do. And did I mention the Cherokee's great performance in the snow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love my Jeep

by Randygotajeep IL from Springfield, IL | March 30, 2010

This my first Jeep and i love it. I wanted a 4x4 and it does well. Got to play in the snow for the first time in all my life. Havent had any problems yet. When i found out it had the Inline 6 that was the key ingredient. I had another vehical with a strait 6 and it had over 500,000 thousand miles on it and did not have a bit of trouble with that engine either. I plan on keepin the jeep for a very long time. starting with 63,000. I got a long way to go.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 25 reviews

Featured Services for this Jeep Cherokee

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.