2014 Jeep Cherokee

Change Vehicle
2014 Jeep Cherokee
Available in 7 styles:  2016 Jeep Cherokee 4dr FWD shown
Asking Price Range
$14,359–$29,151
Estimated MPG

19–22 city / 25–31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

81 out of 127 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 127 reviews

Stylish but questionable longevity

by SUVorBUST from New Jersey | July 17, 2016

Quick and to the point review: PROS -Great gas milage. -Comfortable seating for drivers and passengers. -Stylish interior. CONS -Limited storage volume may catch you by surprise. -Less bells and whistles at lower trims than other comparable vehicles. -Transmission inconsistent; since a flash in December, downshifts coming to a stop have been harsh causing the vehicle to jump; have had misses engaging drive requiring a shift back to park and back to drive. Dealership has been unable to improve the drivability.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


JUST TERRIBLE..!

by KN from Fort Lauderdale, FL | June 14, 2016

I have to admit that I love JEEP brand, but this one it's the worst car I've had in my life. The transmission was replaced broke down with only 8,000 miles. It was replaced, but after that I took the car 5-6 times to adjust the module control power transmission. According to the dealership and technician there is not problems with this, but when you are in heavy traffic the experience is awful. In other words you don't know what expect from it. Then, after 20,000 miles the engine is missing oil. Twice the car turn off just because it's not oil at all in the engine. Off course, I was told that it's normal and I just have to track the oil level periodically. The car have been towed twice because the key fob lost the configuration too. In two years this car have been towed to the dealership 5 times, but it's normal...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Fix the Transmission

by Really wanted to like Jeep from | April 1, 2016

The looks and ergonomics on the car are fantastic. But it doesn't make up for what is the car's most basic function. Push the gas and make it go like its supposed to. The transmission on this thing misses, slips, and bangs. They blame software. Eventually there's a patch. It lasts for a little while then you're back in the same place. Jeep needs to step up and take responsibility for their products performance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Ruined me for Jeep products

by Junked by Jeep from Massena, NY | March 10, 2016

I own a 2014 Jeep Cherokee and have had nothing but problems with it. The master cylinder had to be replaced within the first 6 months, the transmission has been replaced, and the latest is the cam phasers. I love driving a vehicle that is only 2 yrs old and not being able to depend on it to stay running while I'm driving it. Jeep has a giant problem with the manufacturing of their product. I will never own another Jeep product!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Oil Issues

by Just a car from Platteville, WI | November 29, 2015

This vehicle is awful. Once I hit 28,000 miles I started loosing oil and lots of it. I do not find drips or exhaust but the dip stick runs dry and I mean bone dry. No warning light to show low oil just the check maint light will flash which makes me check. I am one to have scheduled checkups on the vehicle, regular oil changes, at the dealer so it should be well kept. Dealer is dragging their feet on finding the issue.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Brand New Owner of a Jeep

by Gus from Rural Oklahoma | November 26, 2015

To be fair ive only had the Cherokee 20 days! Ive owned many cars in 50 years so I still say PRETTY DARN COOL!!! Also I own a race car & truck & Mini S. So still PRETTY DARN COOL! I wouldn't change much about it at all. I AM going to mount a deer guard on the front since I live in deer country. Nuff said-

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Unhappy overall

by Splinter from Wisconsin | November 24, 2015

Going on one year with this 2014 Cherokee Sport 4 cylinder auto. Shifts rough regardless of updates. Vibration when placed in reverse, very loud in colder weather never goes away but quiets down when engine warms up. Dealership is either inept or Chrysler has given the order "Don't fix Anything". My worry is that as soon as the warrantee expires the thing will self destruct and they will find something to fix not related to the vibration or the lousy shifting transmission.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Transmission issues like everyone else

by Unfortunate Cherokee Buyer from Asheville, NC | November 13, 2015

After 6 months and 7,000 miles started getting malfunction lights. This oddly started an hour after my first oil change at the dealer. Took it back and they re-flashed the control modules. Still had issues. They replaced the trans control module. Still had issues. Now they are replacing the transmission. Definitely the transmission is unpredictable as others have said. Shifts roughly, but sometime wont downshift leaving you with no torque or power when pulling out into traffic. The transmission issues are unfortunate as this is a stylish and capable lit SUV when it works. Mine is a limited and loaded with handy features. Unfortunately it is loosing a lot of value due to needing a new transmission.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


I regret buying this car

by NBH82 from Fresno | August 4, 2015

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice lovely car, BUT with huge transmission issues, I had recalls had to take back having shifting problems and finally transmission died with only 6,000 miles on it and less than a year old. Please be advised stay away from the 9 speed transmission, all they need is put back 6 speed transmission and I will be happy with this car, unless you are welling to deal with taking your car to the dealer on a bi weekly bases then go ahead and buy it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


BEYOND UPSET

by cg from PA | July 31, 2015

I love the way the car looks, the size of it, and all the inside features. BUT THE TRANSMISSION IS GOD AWFUL. I've had a brand new transmission installed after 25,000 and it still bucks when pulling onto the road on a slight incline. CHRYSLER NEEDS TO FIX WHAT THEY HAVE DONE HERE. I've paid a year on a car that is a piece of garbage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 127 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2014 Jeep Cherokee.


Featured Services for this Jeep Cherokee

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.