2006 Jeep Commander

Change Vehicle
2006 Jeep Commander
Available in 4 styles:  2006 Jeep Commander 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$5,970–$16,134
Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 19–20 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

33 out of 42 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 42 reviews

I want another!

by Lou from Kentucky | December 8, 2014

Bought it new and except for front wheel bearing, I haven't turned a wench. I now have 230,000 miles and wish I could trade it to a new one. They just don't make anything that I like better than my Commander. I think I'll try to find a used one with low mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Reliable

by Jeep mom an dad from York, PA | June 12, 2014

As a mom of 4 children I needed a safe, reliable, stylish SUV. Well I found it here at Dave's used auto!!! We bought a HEMI Jeep Commander. My husband an I were very impressed with the customer sercive Craig gave us. When I read the details on cars.com I thought this is to good to be true, well I was wrong! The details were spot on. Super clean, and runs great. We traveled 2 hours to purchase this vehicle. An I would travel another 2 hours hours for another purchase. Thank you again Craig!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2006 Jeep Commander- Awesome

by Petey from Antigo,WI | February 19, 2014

I have gone through 12 jeeps in my life and this by far is the best model Jeep has created. I have the limited 2006 Commander and love the space,ride, and reliablilty. It's gas milage is a little low at 18, but it doesnt bother me. It rides great on dry pavement and will really impress you on the snow. It has awesome interior room for the trips to the ski hill and baseball games. I love it- Petey in Wisconsin!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


very little problems

by my commander from | January 26, 2014

I have had my jeep commander since may of 2006. Got it brand new with about 6 miles on it. In the beginning i had some problems with the a/c but the dealership fixed all my problems with it. After that we haven't had that many problems. we lived in Colorado and would travel to california twice a year for almost 6 years and never had a problem with her. Since i have had her I only had to replace a valve spring that broke at about 105,000 miles. She has over 113,000 miles on her right now and still running fine.I wish i had the V8, i have the 3.7 V6. But this little engine has pulled about everything with out a problem.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Surprised!

by Car Mom from Lakeland, FL | November 9, 2013

I have had several Jeeps in the past, but this was a Jeep model I had never seen up close or driven in myself. I had to have one though! We finally find the car I wanted, and got a decent deal too. Overall, I love the way this car handles. It's seven years old but you can't tell! I was very well loved. Plenty of space inside. Lots of headroom. Quiet and little roadnoise. I have the Hemi and the only thing I don't like it the loud exhaust. We will remove that soon! :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Awesome

by Kaleyaley from | October 11, 2013

Love jeeps!!!!! Reliable and and comfortable. Will continue to byy jeeps...they have great dependability and keep their value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


beast mode

by The dude from Easton,Pa | June 22, 2013

Love this jeep. My kids love it, plenty of room, big engine, totally satisfied. Sure, it uses a lot of gas,but what v8 doesn't?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Review of Jeep Commander

by KIM from Brimfield,Mass | December 19, 2012

I've only had by Commander 2 months but I like it alot!! A couple little things but me like the driver seat is not as comfy as I thought it would be, not alot of leg room in second row of seats. But it does drive very smooth. I finally figuered out all the gadgets and they work great, even the ones on the underneath of the steering wheel LOL. My biggest gripe is the gas mileage and the pick up. I think next time I will get a grand cherrokee.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Go and go and go

by TOMUSCLE from buffalo,ny | February 27, 2012

Love the look,styling,and 4 WS.Not much winter this year though. Perfect so far w/ 47k. Could use a little more pickup.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Loyal Jeep Owner Bought a Chevy

by Chucktown from Beaufort, SC | January 7, 2012

I have owned 9 Jeep products ranging from a Wagoneer, Cherokee, Liberty, 5 Wranglers and finally the Jeep Commander. When it was first debuted, it was my dream car. I love Jeeps and never thought I would own anything else. I never had a problem with any of them, until I bought my Commander. It was a 2006 model and I did buy it used, but I bought it in 2006 and it only had 6k miles. When it had 37k miles, a transmission seal went out. I had to fight with the dealership to warranty it. Then in 2009, the entire a/c went out. I live in the south and had an infant, so I had no choice but to have it fixed. The local dealer quoted me $1,500. They said Chrysler would not help in any way. A few months later I spent $380 on a new alternator and battery. Four moths after that incident, I was driving home with my infant son and the car began to overheat. I had to pull over on the side of the road, get a ride and have the vehicle towed. The water pump had gone out and the dealership charged me $550 to replace it. This happened a few days before Christmas! It just never seemed to run right. I could sit at a stop light and it would shake and the rpms would drop and the vehicle would almost shut off.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 42 reviews

Featured Services for this Jeep Commander

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.