1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Change Vehicle

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4dr 4x4 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$538–$5,602

Estimated MPG

15 city / 20–21 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Jeeps best value years are 1996-1998

by Sold my X5 for a jeep Grand Cherokee... from Indianapolis, in | July 22, 2014

I've had my prior jeep going tail first down a Colorado mountain road, and gathered it up; to head first and continued to work…. Few vehicles have the overall abilities that are as affordable and comfortable as the 96-98 Jeep GC... When Buying, look underneath for oil leakage, if select -track place in 4wd and verify smooth turning to avoid expensive blown VC, check AC, and be aware that the "limited" comes with leather and premium sound. Perhaps you might want to hold out for heated seats, but be prepared to not buy the first you see.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great truck

by Jeep Fan from Maine | August 6, 2012

Gotta love this little workhorse. My jeep has been used and abused and still acts brand new. I love my jeep, most reliable car i have ever owned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


first jeep but not the last

by jim from savannah | February 7, 2012

bought used less than a year ago and one of the best used cars i have owned. my only concern is the mpg but better than my old truck. took it from savannah to upstate new york and it performed great. love the curise control; that and the radio controls are right on the steering wheel and helps you keep you eye on the road when searching for stations.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best truck I ever bought!

by Jeeper from Michigan | November 10, 2011

I have a 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4x4 limited edition with the 4.0 inline 6 engine. Now I've had it for about a year now and I still wouldn't trade it for anything. Its 15 years old and now has 45,000 original miles on it. For those of you who want a short review just to compare to other vehicles, here it is. These first generation grand cherokees are reliable. They are different than any new grand cherokees and in my opinion, better. Pretty much every single component stands up to the test or time, and they are very resistant to rust. As far as drivability goes, its a small SUV and drives like a truck. Its a lot of fun to drive and you have the confidence to tackle pretty much anything in your path. Comparing this to most 90's and early 2000's suvs, this is the most capable and reliable. I Highly recommend driving one before buying. Now fort those of you who are really into getting one of these and want some more info, here it is. I'll cover most aspects starting with comfort. 1993-1995 seats are plush and super comfortable. In 96-98 they changed and made them a little smaller and modern, but still very comfortable and great for trips. Those of you who worry about it being too squishy and having no support, it has lumbar support, so no worries. The seats aren't very tall so a taller person will have to pull the headrest all the way up. Handling is different from many other cars. It is not tight at all but very easy to steer. There is some play but thats the way they are supposed to be. I got used to it after a week of ownership. It does have some body roll. Enough that you may lean a little bit on tight or fast turns but surprisingly good considering its suspension. In later grand cherokees, you lose visibility and softness that I have only found in these first generations. FEATURES! Pretty much any stock chrysler stereo is going to impress over competitors systems. Most have the Infinity Gold 6 speaker sound system which is very clear and very powerful. You will not be disappointed. Located underneath the digital automatic climate control(optional), There is a "Vehicle information center" which lets you know if something is open or if you need an oil change or EVEN IF YOU HAVE A BURNT OUT BULB! Thats impressive. You also have outside temp, an average and instant mpg gauge and much more. Interior room: Now these jeeps are meant for offroading, not hauling kids and diapers to moms house. You can in a pinch, but the spare tire takes up some room in the back. Headroom in the back is good but with small doors it is hard for larger people to enter and exit. Rear seats fold flat to increase cargo room and it is easy to strap cargo onto the roof. Most amenities are still fully functional even after 15-20 years. Every single thing in mine still works including power windows, seats, mirrors, and all components. Mine has the 4 liter 6 cylinder and power isnt bad. Its nothing super fast but gets the job done and still climbs hills no problem and you can get almost 25 mpg highway if you are light footed. This jeep always surprises me with features I have discovered one by one, and with its off road performance. Ive never been stuck and I pull out about 15 people each winter no problem. The 4 wheel drive systems that are offered are far more advanced than other systems offered at the time. If you are considering one, I would recommend looking for a limited model if using for a daily driver. There are still many of these out there and you can pick one up for a very good price. I would recommend this vehicle to anybody who wants a reliable, capable, comfortable truck/suv that is on a budget. It is truly a well engineered truck. I hope this review helps!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Buy it only if the maintenance has been kept up!

by Mike from Petaluma, CA | March 15, 2010

This year of vehicle could be a good one if the maintenance had been kept up by the previous owner/owners. The engine is a reliable one I have the 4.0 which is alittle weak on power but after a tune up always starts without hesitation. Alot of this vehicles controls are modular in that all you have to do to replace the is unplug the old one and plug in the new one. It is simple to work on. With the 4.0L engine there is plenty of room in the engine bay to get around. I've had to play alot of catch up maintenance on this vehicle perhaps, because it wasn't well taken care of. But I am sure onece I get every thing that needs to be done to this vehicle done, I will have a nice 4X4 for camping or anyother utilitarian use that I may have.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does not recommend this car


Best Jeep We Have Owned

by Mike from Hartford | September 14, 2009

Original owners of a 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited for 13 years. Only minor repairs after driving over 200K miles. Stellar performance. Extremely reliable and we got more than 20 miles/gallon with mostly highway driving. 1996 was a version change and incorporates a number of features that you see on SUVs today. Rugged and very dependable. Highly recommended.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


King of SUVs

by Jeep Lover from Washington DC | March 5, 2008

Jeep defined the SUV standard by which every other car maker learned and came to understand SUV. In defensive driving camps, where all different makes of SUVs are used, the choice and confidence votes from the instructors all point towards the Jeep Grand Cherokee. It may not be as plush and luxurious as the Range Rover, or as technology loaded as some of the Japanese SUVs, but for power, traction, handling and reliability in bad conditions, it's hard to beat. Although Jeep has received bad ratings and reviews, my experience with my Jeep Grand Cherokee has been great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Our money's worth

by Coonhunter from Indiana | August 24, 2007

Purchased at 67000 miles, and it just went through an accident which was terrifying and ended in total loss. Flipped on top, no injuries sustained. We'll miss it, it was in the top five of our lifetime, and certainly the best value for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


This thing goes through anything

by Jeep Fan from Rochester MN | June 27, 2007

The only bad thing about this jeep is gas mileage, but other than that this beast goes through anything. Off road it handles bumps and hills with out a problem. It will take you where you need to go whenever you want to go there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee.


Featured Services for this Jeep Grand Cherokee

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.