2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Change Vehicle
2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Available in 7 styles:  2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$7,242–$27,718
Estimated MPG

11–16 city / 14–21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

5.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Most Comfortable SUV I've Owned

by SJ from Pittsburgh, PA | March 27, 2013

Fully loaded and I enjoy driving it more every time I take it out on the road. The way it rides, the features and comfort items really make it a thrill to drive. Ownership of an automobile is part of the American dream and this one really fulfills that for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Best all around SPORT Utility Vehicle

by Sport Jeep from Pensacola, FL | September 22, 2011

This Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 has it all, Styling, Handling, GREAT Braking,HUGE Horse Power, All wheel drive, european style luxury interior. Could not ask for a better combination of performance vs versatility. I would buy this vehicle over any Trailblazer, Explorer, x5, or the MLs. Not to mention this truck is faster than most cars. I love this vehicle! Only minus is mileage, but what do you really expect from AWD & 425hp?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My 2nd Overland....loved 1st one and same with new

by Arnie from British Columbia | November 17, 2010

I have nothing but praise for Chrysler and the job they do with the Jeep Cherokee Overlands. I owned a 2004, never a problem. My 2009 Overland is my vehicle of choice between BMW 5 series and the Jeep.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Really good

by Hunter from Montréal Québec | June 28, 2010

Was looking for a 4x4 but was not sure wich one to choose. After browsing thru the web and finally narrowing my search on three models. I was suprised after trying the others that the grand cherokee was by far the best for handling, comfort and styling. The only problem I see at the moment is that the 3.7 L engine lacks a little bit of pep. A 30 or 40 horsepower more would had been great. Gas comsumption is a little high but I don`t mind spending a couple of bucks more to have the pleasure of driving this truck

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great SUV, great value

by Sportyfan from Michigan | August 16, 2009

We have a 2009 Laredo 4x4 with the standard 3.7L V6 and 5 speed automatic. The performance is very acceptable (contrary to some articles I've read) and the fuel economy is good for a SUV - 2 to 3 MPG better than EPA ratings. We love the style, confort and overall package. The full time 4WD and 5 speed auto are smooth and seamless. Lots of standard features. We got the Rocky Mountain package which includes the excellent My-gig radio, sunroof, heated seats and nice machined wheels - a very good value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Vehicle just a little fuel heavy

by ccsmith from Wiesbaden, Germany | May 11, 2009

Recently purchased the 4x4 Loredo model. Excellent looks and very comfortable interior. Height of the vehicle may be a problem for some as this vehicle does sits a little high. Fuel consumption is the only downfall I have found so far. I took a trip this weekend about 300 miles round trip driving at average speeds and couldn't get the average up past 16.9 m/gal. Engine noise is at a minimal and the factory sound is good value for those who just want some music in the background. Handeling is very smooth on the Jeep GC, I took it into the mountians with numerous switchbacks and never had the feeling of loosing control or that G force feeling of shifting around in the seats. Overall a great vehicle for the price just remember that your buying into the Jeep heritage and they have never truly been known for there excellent fuel consumption, so plan ahead and know what your getting into.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


3.0 litre diesel

by DieselinOntario from SW Ontario - Canada | March 21, 2009

Fuel consumption on the highway was right on as per the windshield data - quite a pleasant surprise. Friends are amazed at the quietness of the engine. The GPS is amazing. It took some doing to find a unit with skid plates and Quadra-Drive II. Dealers may be trying to shave a few bucks on the price by ordering without - a mistake!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee.


Featured Services for this Jeep Grand Cherokee

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.