2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Change Vehicle
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Available in 6 styles:  2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$16,669–$31,413
Estimated MPG

16 city / 22–23 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

90 out of 108 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 108 reviews

Trouble right out of the gate

by frequent traveler from Ohio | May 12, 2015

Many mechanical problems early on....shocks, tie rods, brake booster and now the engine is shot... Had to be towed twice... just not reliable, however it does perform well. Cloth seats stain very easily and look bad over time. Very loud clicking noise and was told the top engine needs to be replaced... all lifters and rockers... very disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4x4

by MD from las vegas, NV | May 3, 2015

Jeep Grand Cherokee 4x4 bad dealer service bad structure when you drive over 70 mph the wind come threw the doors, and very expensive for what is worth just bad vehicle over all.......................

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Grand Cherokee Overland 4x4 Towing Group, V8 Hemi

by Newly Graduated and Freshly Employed from Covington, LA | December 29, 2014

Can't say enough good things about it. Everything I could want in an SUV and more. Plus came with all the same features as 2014/2015 edition of the exact same model. Drives great, looks great, feels great... What more could you really want? Functional and practical.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love the Styling, gobs of power with 5.7 Hemi

by TooTall from MIchigan | October 15, 2014

Best looking Jeep Ever! I've owned a Limited and another Overland, both of which I put over 200,000 miles on. This Overland is an incredible machine with plenty of standard features to keep you busy figuring out how to use all it's capabilities. The quadra drive II 4 wheel drive system comes with the Overland 5.7 Hemi upgrade and is the top of the line AWD system, allowing all the power to go to a single wheel, similar to Acura's SH-AWD.Don't know how I lived without the power lifgate and backup camera and backup sensors. The information center feeds all you data hounds with everything but your blood pressure. OK so you know I like the SUV, but what's not so good-20" painted wheels that hold salt and water behind the center cap and create corrosion very quickly. Exhaust manifold bolts that back out or break off all too often. Headlight housings that have a tendency to fog on the inside. HID headlight bulbs that are very expensive and difficult to replace, black plastic trim pieces that turn white-ish and discolor quickly. This can all be fixed. All in all the Jeep Overland has an incredible feature set like no other vehicle and there is a reason it is the most awarded SUV EVER!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Crying Jeep customer...hoping for some help!?!

by Moi from Ocean City, NJ | August 20, 2014

I bought a 2011 GC about 2 months ago...and am now thinking I was a fool that jumped the gun. Very sad. In addition to the recent safety recall (which is an incredible inconvenience for someone who works 2 jobs) there are too many disappointments to list here. The main issue I have is the pathetic acceleration of this SUV. It would almost be laughable except that I've had some close calls thinking I had plenty of time to pick up speed before being rear-ended. It's downright unacceptable. Another major issue is with the exterior trim (Black Obsidian)... The plastic edging (or whatever the heck it's called) has faded so badly, with whitish streaks, that it almost looks like it's been bleached! Has anyone else had this problem?? Or did I just buy the crappiest black GC in NJ? There are other issues as well-- the engine revs very high upon starting & there's a clicking noise under the hood. I've also noticed on occasion that there's a rattle that seems to be coming from behind the steering wheel?! One last thing, the automatic/keyless entry feature works...sometimes. Not all the time, but just whenever it wants to. Should these things be happening to a 3 y/o vehicle with less than 35,000 miles?? This is the most disappointing and stress-causing vehicle I've ever owned...& I've only had it 2 months :(

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


disappointed(

by Velvet from boston,Ma | June 12, 2014

I wanted to get an SUV for a long time but never actually had a need for it so up until now been driving cars,but now i need one so JGC was my number one choice and after reading all amazing consumer and prof reviews i was sold,and today,finally, went to get one. Test drove two:one with v6 one with v8,both leather ,htd seats,back up camera one with navi. after both test drives was left disappointed, mostly in performance department:: v6 was veeeerrryyyy sslow on the pick up,v8 was much better but with 360 hp and almost 400 flb of torque i would think the truck would just fly,but it doesn't. Mushy breaks.. Kia Sportage and my mazda3 has a better brake feel. when you driving it feels more like a grand marques .. i got a feeling as if i was on the cruise ship,(both trucks)!! some reviewers mentioned that this new JGC drives almost like it's German rivals- when in reality its not even in the same ball park! tho,i gotto say leather seats and overall design is the best jeep done so far. i wanted to buy one for a long time,i drove almost an hour to the dealership to get one, and now i just don't want it anymore.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Great Jeep product

by Jeep Enthusiast from Delaware | April 25, 2014

Love this Jeep Grand Cherokee! Great vehicle that will earn every bit of the purchase price. Averaging 22-23 mpg, but it is mostly a flat highway commute that is about 130 miles daily. Comfortable ride and I love how well Jeeps hold their value. Very poor experience with Spirit Chrysler Jeep in Swedesboro, NJ. Dishonest dealership. Tread carefully there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Amazing Cherokee

by Falcon from Southeast NH | April 25, 2014

I purchased a used 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland that is loaded with many luxury items that are not even offered in my wife's Audi. The Hemi 5.7L V8 engine has loads of power and easily moves this heavy SUV while still getting better mileage than my former Saturn Oultook that was powered by a V6. I am averaging 21 mpg driving to an from work and in better comfort. I cannot wait for the snow to begin next year so I can play, it should easily handle the snow much better than the AWD Outlook. I have had two Jeep's in the past, an old Cherokee Chief and a 79 CJ7. This new Cherokee Overland is by a better 4x4 vehicle in every respect compared to my previous Jeeps. Looking to find some off road trails up in the Northeast, NH and MA, where I can enjoy driving where most other vehicles cannot.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Time is taking its toll

by 4jeep owner from Palm City, Fl. | April 21, 2014

Under 3 years old with 37,200 miles and problems are popping up. Came with a lose chrome trim, easy dealer fix. 16749 miles and the keyless entry key failed. Dealer had a hard time getting it straightened out. 34797 miles and the back up camera had intermittent failure, dealer could not duplicate. 36691 back up camera failed completely, note just past warranty. Dealer did the right thing and picked up the majority of the repair. 37,200 miles and the air suspension failed. This is not part of the drive train so there is no warranty but the service manager says not fixing it is having no shock absorbers. This history is not good for a Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland. At the price of these I do not expect these kinds of problems at this age and mileage. I would recommend these with reservations and a warning.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Might start

by Flsurfer from Jupiter fl | February 27, 2014

2011 jeep grand Cherokee is a great all around car but there are many issues with it and mine had them all. Ever since I drove it off the lot the problems started. My car would not start i would hit the button and it would act like it would start but would not turn over. Went to jeep and they said it was the computer and they reprogrammed it, said it was fixed. That was about two months ago and now it is doing it again. Aren't jeeps supposed to be the most reliable car? I would not waste your money on a jeep, to many problems. I thought I was buying an jeep not a BENZ.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 108 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee.


Featured Services for this Jeep Grand Cherokee

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.