2005 Jeep Liberty

Change Vehicle
2005 Jeep Liberty
Available in 6 styles:  2005 Jeep Liberty 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$4,447–$12,395
Estimated MPG

17–21 city / 22–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

21 out of 31 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 31 reviews

2nd Jeep

by j33p l0v3r from Colorado Springs | July 23, 2014

I recently bought a 2005 Jeep Liberty Renegade with 81,000 miles on it. I chose the Renegade because I do not like the front end on the Liberty Sport. The hood bulges up and over the headlights as where the Renegade has a more clean look. Anyhow, I used to own a 2006 Chrysler Sebring so the factory radio that is in the Liberty was easy to get used to. I do agree, the Liberty COULD stand to be a bit more comfortable, and the interior is a bit boring. As of right now, I love my Jeep Liberty!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


63K

by lobo from Massachusetts | June 19, 2014

After faithfully doing scheduled maintenance, oil changes, etc., etc. the engine suffered a catastrophic failure--likely a bearing or a broken bolt, or some part of the block--at 63K miles. Jeep is unconcerned and is offering no compensation. The engine has to be either rebuilt or replaced.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


The little SUV that could

by jedi105 from New York | November 22, 2013

First, to all thos out there who rate this vehicle poorly after purchasing one used I have one thing to say. People dont often sell their cars to dealers unless there is something wrong with them. So shame on you for not doing your due diligence and checking the cars out stem to stern before laying down the cash. To me, this truck is amazing. I too bought it used and it had a few problems, but repairing it was a dream. Parts were inexpensive and they were very easy to swap out. This little SUV is quick, agile, can haul a ton, handles the beach with aplomb. 4wd is amazingly capable in stock mode and when you upgrade it it is even more so. My only issue with the car is the sparse interior. Its kind of boring and a bit uncomfortable but hey, its a Jeep. If I wanted comfort over capability, I would have bought a Grand Cherokee. And in true to Jeep form, you cant kill these things. Mine has 175K miles and I have seen them with 250K plus still running and looking great. Take care of it and it will take care of you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Diamond in the rough

by Farcepts from Philadelphia | July 15, 2013

Very reliable and dependable SUV. The best in its class if you are truely holding it to its purpose or multi purpose. Renegade series is best class of all the liberty models. Comes ready to go where most others in its class will have trouble going. Comfort is sacrifice for utility and performance, but its worth it, because its not as bad as you might think. Engine has sufficient power to get the job done. Lots of low end tourqe, but not alot of top end power once you are at high speeds on Highway. But its a suv, not a sports car. Love this suv, tried all the others in its class, and by far this is way above the rest in both price and performance. Comfort was the only thing it fell behind to (not by far) when compared to Honda CRV, Toyota Rav4, ford escape. But these other mini-suv's fail in everything else. Only thing I would reccomend changing, are the tires that come with the Liberty from the dealership. The Goodyear Wrangler SR-A hurts the performance of the Liberty with its lack of grip on snow, dirt, rain, and sometimes dry roads. Upgrade to better tires if you want the best performance for your jeep. The liberty renegade is truely a underated and over looked mini suv.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Lemon

by RG from Kansas City, MO area | June 20, 2013

Bought this car used for my daughter to replace an old Buick. We were better off keep the old Buick. Nothing but problems since we brought it home. Power steering pump needed replacing, oil drain plug doesn't stay tight so oil leaks, cracked radiator. We checked car fax but I believe we were ripped off. Stay away from a used Jeep.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Toughest Small SUV

by RickyDee3312 from Massachusetts | March 2, 2013

They Jeep is the toughest vehicle that I ever owned. My daughter had a accident roll over in one without a scratch. My wife was rear-ended, the other car was heavily damaged, the Jeep had on damage(the spare tire absorbed the impact) It is powerful enough in town, but the mileage is poor. Tough as nails.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nice new ... warranty expires - Problems $

by JP Davis from Columbus Ohio | August 3, 2012

Bought new and loaded. Actually really liked it's compact size and handsome style. All was well under warranty and then ... wham. Have followed the recommended maintenance schedule precisely and now have 100k. Since warranty expired have had to replace transmission, power steering pump, A/C blower motor, power mirror motor, and numerous other inexpensive but nevertheless quality related parts and repairs. Please understand that I do not consider replacing brakes pads & rotors, tires, and so on as quality issues but rather consider normal costs of car ownership. My issue with Chrysler Jeep is Quality ... or lack there of. Have been buying Jeeps for 30 years. No more Jeeps or Chrysler products ever again. Done for my lifetime.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Never buy a this vehicle for economy

by Cupid from New Berlin, WI | May 1, 2012

Original equipment should be included with every used vehicle - if not, it does not even come close to "excellent" condition... Be careful and review what should be included before you make a purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


not sure yet

by slamminsam from Evans City, PA | April 9, 2012

Had vehicle one day, it has been recalled for safety issue. Chrysler-Dahlmler has not notified. I like exterior design and 4x4. Handling and comfort could be less like a truck, i.e.- Too stiff a suspension and driver's left foot has no comfortable resting position ( much like sitting at a dinner table). Vehicle's interior stains with mere touch of any liquid and is extremely, if not impossible, to remove including water from opening door to rain. I am fearful of lowering window because of window regulator reported issues. Powertrain has ample acceleration for western PA. terrain but lacks MPG which is associated with manufacturers claims, i.e.- 18 MPG city. Lucky to get 14 and I don't drive in the city or have a "hot foot". Jeep liberty is not a truck, and most buyers are not looking for a truck. Exterior is an A, interior a C-. Handling and performance a B+ and fuel economy a D-. As far as manufacturer concern for reliability a D.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


I love my Jeep Liberty

by Jeep Fan from Cedar Springs, MI | December 4, 2011

I really love my Liberty but wish it was getting better Gas milage. I also have a 1998 Grand Cherokee Laredo that I have owned for the passed 10 years with over 200K miles on it and it gets better gas milage then the Liberty.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 31 reviews

Featured Services for this Jeep Liberty

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.