2011 Jeep Liberty

Change Vehicle

2011 Jeep Liberty

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2011 Jeep Liberty 4dr 4x4 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$13,900–$22,852

Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 21–22 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 23 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 23 reviews

Happy 1st Time Jeep Owner

by Chris from White Hall, MD | April 3, 2014

I purchased a used 2011 Jeep Liberty Limited 4x4 model from a local dealer in Maryland about a month ago and have enjoyed my experience with it so far. It's got 37,000 miles on it and is black with tan leather interior and the nice chrome styled wheels. I've been driving a 2004 Scion XB manual transmission that averaged 37 mpg's so the only negative for me is with the Liberty I'm averaging 18 mpg's in mostly suburban driving. The Liberty is very comfortable, quiet and has all the options I wanted for a reasonable price. We just went through one of the worst winters in a long time snow wise here in MD and I wish I'd found it sooner. All the reviews from online experts are down on the Liberty but for me it is everything I could ask for in a smaller 4x4. Plus it's an manly looking American made Jeep! I use it to haul all my band equipment in with the rear seats folded down and it swallows up everything for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I hate my car

by No more jeeps from Bayville, NJ | January 15, 2014

This car has given me NOTHING but problems since the first day I bought it !!!! 2011 brand new jeep liberty. First month it was in the shop because the car alarm was going off in the middle of the night and the interior lights wouldn't shut off. Brought it to dealership and it stopped for a little bit. A few months later same problem ... My dashboard said my gate was open. I would be driving and my interior lights would just turn on. Brought it back to the dealership. I brought this car back 4 times for the same problem!!!! Today I was driving and now it is hesitating to shift into 1st and 3rd gear. I would stop at a stop sign start to go and the car felt like it was jumping. I hate that I have to pay 400 dollars a month for this piece of garbage car! It's not even comfortable ... I should have shopped around a lot more instead of just thinking it was a cute car. That's the only reason this car is even getting 1 star out of me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Loved it

by Good2Go from Brooklyn, NY | October 26, 2013

I saw the Jeep Liberty driving down the highway a few months ago and it really turned my head. I was completely smitten. Unforunately they stopped making this style of Liberty in 2012 but I ended up finding a low mileage, great condition 2011 in a rare color combo/ Bue with tan seats. I was sold! A friend had the commander and I really like that car but it was just too big for my needs - Full disclosure - I love big boxy trucks (former Isuzu Trooper owner)! The Liberty hit all points for everything I needed and wanted. The truck is roomy/comfortable, well appointed luxuries, sunroof, navigation, awesome audio controls on the steering wheels, great sound system. It handles great on the road especially with the new york city potholes. Good sightlines, and runs smooth. I haven't had it long enough to complain about the gas mileage. Either you love it or you don't. I love it. Someone mentioned the high lift for putting luggage in the cargo area. I agree it is higher than normal - but you get used to it. I usually put the luggage in because I don't want any scratches! If you are a fan of Jeep or boxy cars - this here is a good one! :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


1st Jeep

by JoeyD from Windsor Locks, CT | April 17, 2013

I really like my jeep. Its very basic however. Over the winter we had that horrible blizzard in CT and this truck had NO problems. It was actually fun to watch all the wanna be plastic SUV's try to drive in 3 feet of snow. Perfect size for a small family. High clearance.Smooth ride. Feels very solid. Only problem i have with the jeep is gas mileage. I do a lot of driving so it hurts to have to fill this thing up every 5 days. Im 6'2" and have the driver seat all the way back but i still fit comfortably. Only used 4 wheel drive 2 times over the winter. Even with snow on the ground 2wd worked just fine. Not a lot of cargo space however so i would recommend this vehicle to someone who will not use the cargo space very much.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Liberty

by Dan from Delaware | February 10, 2013

This is our 3rd Jeep, 2nd Liberty, had an 06 and we really luv this 2011. First off, the Liberty is a real 4x4 built on a truck frame, its not a wanna be SUV built on a car frame. Keeping that in mind that its a truck it handles and drives quite nicely. I find the 3.7 engine to be capable, I'm not a lead foot so I like it, this is the wifes Jeep and when I use it on the farm, it will still get me out there and back. Its not a wrangler, but it will still get you there when you put in 4x4. We buy Jeeps for one reason, the 4x4 use, and its still a nice mall crawler, ours is loaded, the moonroof is awesome. I have plowed through 18" of snow in our liberty, it will get you there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A Great Vehicle!

by deaman49 from USA | June 1, 2012

The 2011 Jeep Liberty is an excellent Vehicle, and you have to remember that it is a Jeep, not a BMW! Let's address some things. First, it is made to go offroad, hence the Spartan interior which looks nice, and is easier to clean than a Luxury Interior would be. It is made so it can be cleaned if it gets dirty, period. Second, it is a 4X4, thus built solidly, and rides stiffly, like a truck. It is supposed to, and it is safe! Third, it isn't a Sports Car, it's a JEEP, and it performs like it is supposed to. The gas mileage isn't great, but never has been. If you are buying a Jeep, it isn't for gas mileage. The ride is stiff, but not overly so and the car corners well. Fourth, the exterior looks good to me. Sort of like a Baby Hummer to my wife, and she loves the looks and driving it. Fifth, the exterior seems fine to me, as well as the interior. The leg room front and back is fine and as far as I'm concerned makes a great small Family car. It is entirely functionable. Sixth, it is a great vehicle and serves the purpose for which it was made. A vehicle capable of going offroad to your favorite camping, fishing, or hunting spots to have fun with the family. It will also keep you going through deep snow, mud, or other inclement weather and get you to your destination safely. You might feel a couple of bumps, but so what. It looks good, rides and handles fine. The radio works great as does the Air Conditioner, brakes, engine etc. It's a Jeep, and if you want that kind of vehicle, it's for you. If you want a Luxury Car, it isn't, it is that simple. You buy the type of vehicle you want and can't expect every vehicle to meet every need or desire.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car!

by Wyochat from Wyoming | February 13, 2012

We have had Jeep Cherokees in the past and absolutly love what Jeep has done with the new Liberty. It has a lot of power and handles very well. Hides the freeway and high speed wind and road noises very well (for a truck). Has a rock solid frame and suspension absorbs bumps well. Interior is very comfortable and roomy. We are an outdoors family and love its capabilities. Great all around car/SUV! Only draw back is the 4 speed transmission. Why they don't have a 5 or 6 speed I don't know. Probably would help with the MPG. (we get around 22 hwy)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


worst jeep i ever owned

by jeepster from Pittsburgh, PA | November 28, 2011

Purchased a 2011 Liberty Sport in December 2011, recently traded it in on a 2006 Rubicon. The Liberty seems solid when you first own it and for a few thousand miles then you start to notice things, like odd vibration sounds and exterior noises that you shouldn't hear. I had a vibration that sounded like a cell phone vibrating every time I reached 2000rpm and the driver window randomly buzzed a high pitch noise at the power switch. All of which the dealer could not locate or fix. Got caught in a light hail storm and the vehicle was dented from hood to roof. Too many corners were cut mass producing this vehicle for a larger audience which downgraded it components and reliability. That's my two cents.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Liked my old one better.

by sneakers from Indio, CA | November 15, 2011

2002 model had handles to assist climbing into vehicle. 2011 does not. There is a honking big handle above the glove box which I can't figure out. Are you supposed to hang on to it while you lift your body into the seat? Spare tire is now a donut and is accessed by going under the rear. Rear gate opens up. Watch out! Don't hit yourself in the chin! Rear window opens, but at 5'3" I cannot reach into trunk space as it is too far off the ground. Once rear door is open, you have to lift your heavy suitcase up and over about 24" of car. Didn't have to do that in 2002.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


3rd time around

by Bob from Ct | September 18, 2011

I've had a 1991 Cherokee Laredo which I sold with 196k mis., ran excellent up to the day I sold it and unstoppable in all New England weather conditions. Also had a 2001 Cherokee Sport, sold at 124k, again unstoppable and reliable. Why wouldn't I buy a 3rd? I was pleasantly surprised with the 2011 Liberty Sport. The quiet and comfort is a huge change over my last two. That's not saying I didn't love my Cherokees. They're really trucks: solid front axles, worm and gear steering, straight six 4.0 engine, drum rear brakes, etc. It's just that now I have Jeep performance and reliability along with more comfort and roominess and quiet as added bonuses and it's built tough enough to be trail rated. If the 3.7 v-6 holds up like the old 4.0 I-6 I'll be thrilled. Bottom line, it's built in Toledo, Ohio, USA!!!!!!!!!! I don't consider myself a redneck but I do believe in supporting our own economy and for the price for what you get, it's a no brainer for my needs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 23 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2011 Jeep Liberty.


Featured Services for this Jeep Liberty

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.