1997 Jeep Wrangler

Change Vehicle

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Available in 3 styles:  2014 Jeep Wrangler 2dr 4x4 shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$5,775–$7,175

Est. MPG

Information Coming Soon


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

97 TJ 5 spd 4 cyl

by Jeep lover! from Phoenixville,PA | May 28, 2013

I was a little timid about buying a 4 cyl jeep. However, this guy surprised me with the pick up it actually does have. I wouldn't suggest it for constant highway/interstate driving but it's great for what I need it to do. It runs better than some newer cars I've driven and it's reassuring to know that if something does happen... Parts are cheap! 4 wheel drive is convenient to have when needed and if I feel like going and getting muddy or getting around on the farm I know I can without a problem!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


driven on tuesday

by thehut from near the dealership PA | March 7, 2012

Jepp has issues ...the good Hood wont open...engine lite on...needed jump start...inspection due in 2 days...muffler ready to fall off... the good has a spare tire the doors oopen only if you kick them hard... JEEP price and dealership are WOW RUN AWAY !!!!quickly PIMP MY RIDE material O {{{}}}O

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


real try

by amg from new york,ny | December 23, 2011

you know i use this car for more than 10 years and i think this is the best car that i have ever drived i suggest this car to who ever want a powerful unexpensive soft car amg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


its a jeep thing

by its a jeep thing from Roanoke, Il | December 11, 2011

I have a 2000 jeep wrangler se and I love it. Have a 5 spd and its fun to drive. Been in the fields, dirt roads and water. Has never let me down. I did roll it once, and didnt get hurt. New roll cage and out doing it again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


must fun car i had

by Manny from Camuy, PR | July 2, 2011

I truly enjoy driving the Wrangler with open soft top. use it for everything. Has gain value over time!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


great fun multipurpose vehicle

by four wheeler from trinidad,co | January 8, 2011

you won't anything more fun than riding around in a jeep with the top off. It's like riding a motorcycle, only safer. From great turning radius to all around versitility it is more practical than most people think. 4 cyl engine just keeps going and going. Very reliable, simple, and easy to work on. Will take you almost anywhere. Five speed manual gives you great engine speed control.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


No Rusts extremely easy

by Wrangler Owner from Pennsylvania | July 30, 2010

Terrible car its rusts extremely easily all around the edges and I've had multiple problems with the engine and the brake line has snaped. Terrible I will never buy a used one ever again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


More fun to drive than a barrel full of monkeys

by meathead from Seatle, Wa | April 21, 2010

Bought it in 2001, thru a load of cash at it for modifications/up grades. Will not win any prizes for MPG or creature comforts. Taken it to the middle of nowhere and back, never has left me stranded. Dependable mule, easy to repair, low maintenance costs. Will not handle like a Porche on the freeway, was not designed to. Still fun to drive top on or off. It's a Jeep Thing: Drive one and maybe you will understand? Get the 6cyl and you will be happier.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Geocaching in a Jeep Wrangler

by Jeep Wrangler Geocacher from Milan, TN | March 12, 2010

The Jeep Wrangler is great for tight places, it will turn on a dime and give you five cents change. It is also really good to know that you can get off the road when have to and not worry too much about being able to get back. The jeep wrangler is so light and quick handling, you can almost go anywhere in it. The biggest problem is that there are few creature comforts associated with the wrangler. The lack of an armrest and the road noise associated with the soft top are my biggest dislikes. I got the jeep with a 4.0 Liter 5 speed manual transmission. It can wear you out after a day of geocaching where you stop and start 100 times or so for caches and stop-lights and change gears about 500 times.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


There's simply nothing like a Jeep.

by D from Parkersburg, WV | November 6, 2009

Jeeps have been through it all. From WWII to this day. Jeep has made the ultimate utiliy vehicle and gave us the first SUV ever, so there must be a good reason why there's so many of them on the road today. I own and drive daily a 1997 Jeep Wrangler Sport (6cyl.) auto. 135,000 miles and I must say that this vehicle is like no other. I'm 19 now and I've been around Jeeps my whole life....for a good reason too. I have driven several different vehicles and there is no doubt that the Wrangler is by far the most fun vehicle that money can buy. NO, it is not good on gas, I average 12 mpg every tank if I'm lucky (living in WV doesn't help matters). The straight six (258) motor is one of the strongest on the road. They're the ultimate work horse. Torque is unbelievable...especially in 4WD LOW, you can pull anything and idle up any steep grade hill. Although highway driving is annoying, especially on a windy day, it's worth every mile even if you can't keep up with that punk in the mustang and I wouldn't be afraid to drive it across the country. Snow, mud, rocks, sand, you name it, the Wrangler will ease through anything it's introduced to. The summer time is awesome...top down, doors off, windshield down (if you like bugs in you face), and you've got yourself a tanning booth with good tunes. When you own a Jeep, you become part of a family, a Jeep family, and yes, all fellow Jeepers wave to eachother, and will always strike up a conversation with you. So, in conclusion, if you are looking for a reliable, customizable, durable, fun, go anywhere & do anything vehicle, then the Jeep Wrangler is for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

Featured Services for this Jeep Wrangler

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.