2012 Kia Forte

Change Vehicle
2012 Kia Forte
Available in 5 styles:  2012 Kia Forte 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$10,125–$16,721
Estimated MPG

23–26 city / 32–36 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

25 out of 30 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 30 reviews

Can't beat it for the $

by Rob from Southwest Florida | September 22, 2014

While the looks are okay, the interior is very well designed + no ugly faux metal finishes! Has lot's of room for a car in it's class, plus a big trunk. Drives like a heavier car and the gas mileage is good, although not as advertised. Well worth the price, for any 2012 compact in it's class.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Bad car

by Gingin from Oregon | August 16, 2014

This car has been nothing but trouble! Already had to replace the engine, the starter caught fire, and now today the transmission went out! Take very very good care of my car and I have had it with Kias for good ! Second Kia and I'm done!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Good mpg

by Another forte owner from WA | July 25, 2014

For all those saying that this gets bad mpg it's definitely users fault not cars... I am now at 32000 miles and it took me a while to understand how this car works. Now I'm averaging 31 mpg. When u put gas in this car use the economy light on the rpm gauge cuz it works. The trip button will show u the mpg. When u have it on that setting and and u just fill up u will notice it fluctuates. So follow the economy button on the car and eventually when u get the mpg up it will stay up as long as u drive fuel efficiently. Hope that helps cuz I love this car for 14000 it's a great deal

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


kia forte 5 2012

by canada nova scotia from halifax | June 2, 2014

I have 63,000miles on this car only problem so far is shifting delay in the auto trans ! other then that great car ! great fuel millage drove from Halifax,ns to red dear, Alberta on 320L fuel for 5100 kms

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Got rid of it... poor MPGs

by Croat from Weehawken, NJ | January 21, 2014

Looks are deceiving. One would think a fairly small car like this would get great mileage, it does not. Typical commuting to work, and that's highway + city only gave me 24mpg on average. Other gripes with this car: the leather seats were just not comfy. The windshield defroster was horrible. On it's highest setting it would barely clear the entire windshield. On a setting that was more of an acceptable listening level only the center of the windshield would clear. The air ciculation made for a noisy ride whether it was heating or cooling.The rear traction was poor. I don't know if it was the tires but if you hit a bump on turns the back would skip. The GPS was disapointing as you would look up 'Exon', even if there was one around the corner from you it would not show it. The results would only show Exons that were very far away.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


if your considering a focus or a mazda3 5door....

by bulletsandbooze from mantua nj | September 20, 2013

Bought used with just shy of 20000 miles. Pros - best space and cargo capacity of hatches i looked at. Comfortable, well equipped. Steering wheel controls are great, bluetooth connect. Plenty of power. Handles and brakes like a go cart. Very direct and linear. cons - gas mileage! I average 25, and 70% of my driving is highway. Throttle response is a little delayed if your cruising and jump on the gas. Paint seems a bit thin, some of the materials seem like they might not stand the test of time. All in all, this car is the best compromise out there. Focus is to expensive, mazda3 has least amount of usable space though probably the better "drivers car" Kia Forte 5door

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car for the price

by Mel from Montgomery, Al | August 24, 2013

This is an awesome car for my son who is in college and great website that helped me find a great deal

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Ok car

by jk from salem, ma | June 24, 2013

This car has some great features such as a nice body style, very comfortable seating and a booming radio system. The overall look and feel of the car is miles ahead of what i expected from a Kia. However, it does have some major disadvantages. I find when you're driving on the highway, the car is excessively loud and it sort of floats from lane to lane. I am used to nissan steering so I just assumed it would take some getting used to but i never did and my opinion is that's an issue with the car. The car is also missing a gauge for the temperature, which on a brand new car i'm not worried about but down the road it would be nice to have that visible. Also, the plastic on the doors is so cheap that my seat belt has caused little nicks from slamming into it. Not too noticeable but enough that it bothers me. Also, the trunk is a bit too small and the back seat just a little too cramped. Otherwise, if you can past these small issues, great car for the price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


love it

by flobett from pa | May 17, 2013

always had dodge trucks so when I seen this I was not sure if it would move, it is smaller than my truck but it moves, pretty and I have to say you have to try it to understand, it is fun to drive, I love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best car i've owned

by Teresa from Yonkers, NY | March 16, 2013

I bought this car from Yonkers Kia.Joe Paltucci was the best salesman I could have asked for. He bent over backwards to help. The general manager was also amazing! Yonkers Kia is the friendliest dealer ship I have been to. They really work hard to please their customers. My kia is great on gas mileage and so reliable! It's the most comfortable car to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 30 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Kia Forte.


Featured Services for this Kia Forte

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.