2014 Kia Forte

Change Vehicle
2014 Kia Forte
Available in 4 styles:  2014 Kia Forte 4dr Sedan shown
Starting MSRP
$15,900–$20,900
Estimated MPG

21–25 city / 29–37 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

41 out of 46 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 46 reviews

First Kia and won't be my last

by Raust from Denton, Tx | May 3, 2015

I have had many different makes and models of cars in my life, all with their own personalities, strengths, and weaknesses. As far as cars go, this has been one of the best and most surprising cars I've ever purchased. Just some quick notes, I have never looked at nor wanted to purchase a Kia prior to this one. I've always seen them as throwaway cars for people wanting a cheap car for their work vehicle or new driver (first car). I've also always had larger cars and trucks with V6 or v8s. My last car was a Pontiac Grand Prix GXP. I'm quite tall so bigger has fit me better. I decided to start looking for my next car in the most unlikely place, focusing more on fuel economy and price more than anything. I walked into the dealer and was surprised to find the 2014 Forte to be a nice looking car, but still not sold. I requested a test drive, adding that it was going to take a lot of talking for me to buy a Kia. The test drive was enough. For a 4cyl car, it's got pretty good pickup. Nothing like the V8s I'm ised to but still quite peppy. The Ex line of the Fortes has more than enough options to keep a techie like me happy. I love the backup camera, the folding mirrors, and steering select. I ended up purchasing one a few trips back to the dealer, the showroom car with some dealer related options and have been surprisingly satisfied with my purchase. I now have 21000 miles on this car with minimal issues. The biggest complaint is the radio locks up from time to time and I have to reset it or pull the fuse. I also would like a spare time in the event I have a blow out. I bought the car knowing it didn't have one so its more of a dig to find a complaint. The fuel economy is also not quite as good as I was promised (told I would get 34-46 but only getting 30-31 max) but still a lot better than the Pontiac or the Nissan Titan (costing me 70$ a week to drive vs my 70$ a month Kia). In short, I would like to see a spare tire added, the radio stabilized, and a bit more out of my fuel but I'd buy this car again in a heartbeat.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Excellent Car

by Love at first sight from | April 27, 2015

This car is by far the best car that I have ever had. When they first pulled it around I had a smile that was priceless and a glow in my eye, it was truly love at first sight. While test driving it I looked to my mom and said "this is my car", but all of this wouldn't have been possible without outstanding sales rep. Nick Ciocanelea at North Coast Auto Mall he put me into my car within a day and I have not wanted to stop driving since. When he first approached me he did not treat me as a customer but like family. He has always been avaliable when I call with any questions or concerns I have. I found everything I wanted in my car at North Coast Auto Mall. BEST CAR EVER

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Pleasantly Surprised!

by Forte 4 Real from Louisville, KY | April 21, 2015

I own a 2014 Kia Forte LX with the upgraded package. I have owned a lot of 4 cylinder engines in my time but I am blown away by how well the 1.8L engine in the car responds. I have no issues getting on the highway or passing because the car gets up and moves. I am averaging 39mpg but I drive mostly highways. The 6 speed transmission shifts smooth, unlike some of the competitors! The handling is good but not awesome. I have owned 3 other Kia’s (Sedona, Rio & Spectra) and never had any issues with them. Kia had a rough start but they have really turned the quality & reliability around. I would recommend this car to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car and still under-rated

by Canadian Kia fan from Toronto, ON | February 24, 2015

Bought my 2014 Kia Forte SX in Canada in April 2013. This car is outstanding. It is roomy, stylish, comfortable and has excellent power with the 2.0 GDI engine. Kia has really upgraded their vehicles to the point of not only being competitive with other makes, but now in many cases they are superior. In fact, despite car reviewers love of the Mazda 3 ( a great car) I can say this new Forte is arguably just as good. It's got competitive power, similar fit and finish, great comfort and as many or more features depending on which options you choose. The criticisms about the steering are questionable at best. The new Forte has, at worst, satisfactory steering. The fact that they have added "Flex Steer" is actually great as different drivers can choose the weight of steering depending on preference and situation. Overall a great buy and I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone who wants a fine looking and well-rounded compact sedan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


LOVE !!

by Cat from Long Island | January 21, 2015

I love my 2014 Kia Forte !!! I just happened upon it and it was love at first sight, and the affair is still going strong.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS

by JMAC from FORT WORTH, TX | January 20, 2015

I BOUGHT THE 2014 KIA FORTE LX BRAND NEW IN JUNE 2013. THE PROBLEM FROM THE GET GO WAS I WAS TOLD THE CAR HAD CRUISE CONTROL AND KEY LESS ENTRY IT DOES NOT. I CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AFTER THE FACT AND THEY TOLD ME I SIGNED THE CONTRACT AND IT WAS MY RESPONSIBILITY. THE ROAD NOISE IS AWFUL ESPECIALLY THE LEAKING OF AIR FROM THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW ACTS LIKE TO WONT CLOSE ALL THE WAY BUT IT IS. THERE IS NOW A LOUD WHISTLING NOISE COMING FROM THE GLOVE BOX AREA. NEVER HAD THAT LOUD OF NOISE FROM ANY VEHICLE IVE EVER OWNED. THE WINDOWS FOG UP NO MATTER THE CONDITIONS EVERY SINGLE MORNING AND EVEN ON DEFROST AND EVERYTHING THE WAY IT SHOULD BE IT STRUGGLES TO TAKE IT OFF. NEVER HAD THAT PROBLEM THAT OFTEN IN ANY VEHICLE IVE EVER OWNED. THE CAR DOESN'T HAVE A SPARE TIRE. THEY GIVE YOU A PUMP AND GLUE AND ONLY WORKS IF YOU GET A NAIL IN IT. IF YOU HAVE A BLOWOUT GOOD LUCK. IVE NOTICED WATER LEAKS INTO THE ENGINE WHEN IT RAINS AND AFRAID IT WILL CORRODE AND RUST A LOT FASTER THEN IT WILL ON OTHER CARS. THE TIRES THAT COME WITH THE CAR ARE THE CHEAPEST TIRES THEY CAN FIND. THAT'S HOW THEY MAKE THEIR MONEY ON THESE CARS. OTHER CARS HAVE NAME BRAND ONES THAT LAST BUT KIA'S DO NOT. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND YOU GO WITH ANY OTHER BRAND THAN KIA.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Kia 2011 Forte EX - LOVE

by girl21 from Miami, FL | January 16, 2015

An old boyfriend had the 2010 version, and I always thought it was a fancy looking car and had the best bass system. This is my first car, a 2011 Kia Forte EX,, and I can say I truly love my car. Bluetooth works great (unless you have a bad phone aka iphone 4). My bf drives a Mustang and my best friend drives a Mazda and they always rave about the way my car drives. Another friend always wanted me to drive him around just so we could have dance sessions with the bass system. Kia's warranty is AMAZING, and has saved my life MULTIPLE times. It's also pretty fast and powerful. At a red to green light I'm always the first car to pass!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Definitely a winner in its class

by KIAOwnerCanada from Toron to Canada | January 2, 2015

Bought a 2014 KIA Forte SX in August 2013. Now has 55000 kms (Canada) and has had NO PROBLEM at all. Love this car... comfortable, reliable, great on gas and it looks good (Diamond Pearl Color). The overall value is hard to beat...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


The Best Car I Ever owned & the Best Dealer I met!

by Pretty blue car enthusiast! from Medina, OH | November 3, 2014

The salesmen and managers were polite, friendly and professional. They weren't pushy either. I have purchased many cars, and this is the Best experience I have ever had! Tom showed me the service area and held my doors open. He also adjusted my seat because I'm short. Tom also helped me clean out my car. Kerry was very polite and informative about the bumper to bumper warranties and selections. Matt was very friendly and charming. Eric came in the room during closing a few times, and was very polite about excusing himself for the interruption, which he was welcome anyway. Everyone smiled and was polite & friendly!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Performance.

by keke from Boston, MA | October 23, 2014

I got it a kia forte EX 2011 after reaching 50000 miles.. there is big noise coming from the engine which is so anoying.. I think those cars look nice but very poor performance

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 46 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2014 Kia Forte.


Featured Services for this Kia Forte

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.