2007 Kia Optima

Change Vehicle
2007 Kia Optima
Available in 4 styles:  2007 Kia Optima 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$4,713–$10,645
Estimated MPG

22–24 city / 30–34 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Value here

by mattinoh from southwest ohio | March 11, 2014

I bought my 2007 Kia Optima LX new in the summer of 2007, just broke 100,000 a few months ago. Let me tell you, I have found a good value in this car. My previous vehicles included a Chev Impala, a Nissan Maxima, a Mitsu Diamante, a Ford F150, a NIssan Sentra, a Honda Civic, a Dodge Aspen, and a Mazda B4000. I have kept this vehicle longer than any of the above. Why? First, it's reliable. Second, it's easy on my pocket (good gas mpg, low cost of maintenance, thus far no repairs other than maintenance). Third, it fits my needs as it is great for commuting to work. Fourth, it's a good balance between performance, economy, and smooth ride. Granted I maintain my KIa well and any vehicle will last if you maintain it. That having been said, I my daily commute easily consists of speeds over 75-80 on the highway. My expenses thus far have basically just been maintenance (tires, brakes, battery, oil, filters, fluids, etc). I have had several offers to buy it, but I just can't part with this car as i'm convinced it's going to run for many, many more years. My tip on this car, buy good tires, makes all the difference on the ride and cornering. Do the maintenance and expect years of service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Happy Kia owner

by Barbara45 from DeKalb, Il | August 5, 2013

I found this car on Cars.com and did some research; I called the dealer offering it, went for a test drive and bought it. Despite the 88000 miles, this car was very clean, no body damage, and gets better mileage 29-30 hwy than my 2001 Altima. I got a good price, good trade in price and financing that fits into my budget. Very happy with my purchase. Even got the car fax; great overview of car history. I have had it one month and feel very safe in it. And I thank the Lord for leading me to it..............

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


It's an okay car for the money.

by Avid Car Lover from NE Ohio | June 22, 2013

I originally bought the car in 2007 brand new with only 3 miles on the odometer. I figured that it was a nice car, it had good safety reviews, a decent warranty and okay gas mileage, so why not right. I can tell you that I am an avid car but, I've been a vehicle mechanic for about 15 years now and u have one resto car and another custom project car. I like to think that I am serious about cars and what I do. Honestly, after getting this car, I will most likely not purchase another Kia in the future. Granted, I may have gotten the "runt of the litter" and I understand that; but I have had problems with it. And when you read this, keep this in mind; this car is 6 years old and only has 45,000 miles on it, I don't drive aggressively nor do I beat the car up. With less than 20,000 miles, I had to take it to the dealer for an intermittent "limp mode" issue and had to change out the front tires due to an alignment/suspension issue (only the tires were out of pocket, warranty covered the rest). At this same time, I suggested to the dealership that they check out the calipers on the rear brakes because they were sticking (and in my opinion (and expertise) were an issue). After the dealer tech inspected the rear brakes, he informed me that it was "normal wear and tear" and that nothing was wrong with the calipers. He suggested that I change out the pads (in which I did later that week at my shop). Fast forward 8,000 miles (28,000), I again had to change the rear brakes on the Kia (front pads still had a good amount of meat to them), at this point in time and the rear rotors started showing signs of warping. I contacted Kia Corporate because of the issue. Corporate advised me that "this is a normal wear issue" and was not covered by warranty. Fast forward again to 39,000; I again had to service the rear brakes (which ended up being a full service (pads, rotors and calipers). The rear rotors were warped, had the start of a nice groove on the inside and the pistons on the calipers did not move freely like they should. I understand that corporate will not want to give out "free" normal maintenance repairs on a constant basis, but hopefully now that I have sent them proof; people out there with similar issues can have this issue rectified. This car is by far not the worst car that I have bought, but from now on I believe that I'll 'invest' my money with a different auto manufacturer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


2007 kia optima lx

by bob from ohio | May 12, 2013

bought mine new about 6 years ago. at almost 100,000 miles, only maintenance stuff so far. can't beat this car for the money. perfect car for day to day driving and commuting. mechanic tells me he sees these cars with 200,000 miles on engine routinely. I will keep driving it (at this point for free!!!! (no car payment)) for years. arguably the best car for the money I've ever owned. and I've owned many including Honda, mazda, chevro, ford, dodge, Nissan, mitsu, the list goes on.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


a good car to own

by kiaguy from charlotte nc | June 29, 2011

this car is loaded with value and displays excellent reliability in all areas of operation. I find the excellent gas mileage and smoothness of highway cruising especially pleasing. The air conditioner keeps the interior c chilly under the hottest conditions and the radio sounds rich and full as does the CD player. Trunk space is more than adequate as is leg and head room. I love this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


woow

by toto from | March 22, 2011

its fabulous i love it matek,its smooth on the road very affordable.good gas millage.i bought it used

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best car BY FAR

by sadie_suds from | March 3, 2011

I had never even hear of Kia before driving this car. Needless to say, I was SHOCKED. I loved it! There's nothing bad about it. The ride is smooth & it looks beautiful on the inside & out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Awesome Car

by Mom from Nebraska | September 29, 2010

We purchased this car in April,2010 with just over 30,000 miles on it. It's the EX V6 model. We absolutely LOVE it! We previously owned several Nissan's. This car was much less expensive and we are just as happy!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Its a Great Car!

by jbdb from Oklahoma | March 7, 2009

We bought our Optima new and we have not regretted buying it. I highly recommend this car to anyone looking for room , comfort, and affordability. I had reservations about KIA's and I don't know why because I'm totally sold on the KIA Optima now!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


I Love the 2007 Optima!

by Courtney O from Chicago, IL | April 10, 2008

I've had my car for about 3 months and I love my new baby! I have the V6 engine & it has some kick to it & it rides so smooth. I had the 2004 Optima before this one & that was a great car also, I had it for 3.5 years and I had no problems with it... They have really improved over the years and I am so impressed at how fare they've become, the Optima are much more upscale from when they first came out, a lot of people can't believe it's a Kia I'm driving.... I lot of people underestimate Kia but don't I tell ya, they are becoming one of the best cars to have and at a great price!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2007 Kia Optima.


Featured Services for this Kia Optima

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.