2011 Kia Optima

Change Vehicle
2011 Kia Optima
Available in 4 styles:  2011 Kia Optima 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$11,419–$20,927
Estimated MPG

22–24 city / 34–35 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

64 out of 69 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 69 reviews

Great Car

by joedirte from Salem, IN | June 12, 2014

I read all of the reviews on cars.com for the 2011 Optima SX prior to purchase. I was concerned about the gas mileage being off and the car pulling to the left, since the negative reviews on here all concerned those issues. After owning the car for several months I can definitely highly recommend this car. The power is great when you need it and the comfort is outstanding. This is a budget family car that drives like a luxury sports sedan. I have been keeping track of my gas mileage with driving logs and can verify that we average about 31 mpg in mixed highway/city driving. We do drive in ECO mode all the time, since we bought this to save money on gas. Even in ECO mode the car takes off like a rocket when you need it to. I would recommend getting the turbo engine because it adds so much more to the driving experience!!! The navigation and bluetooth work great. We stream music from our phones to the infinity sound system and it sounds incredible! Did I mention Heated and COOLED seats...Do yourself a favor, stop reading and go buy one! You can thank me later...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


best sedan on market

by converted kia fan from Poughkeepsie, ny | April 4, 2014

If you want power...it's got it. if you want economy...it's got it. if you want style and comfort...it's got it! Resale on them is good too. the more people find out about kia the more they buy them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


First-Time Car Buyer

by Optimus Prim from GA | November 14, 2013

I bought this car used on Oct. 26 (almost 3 weeks ago) and so far it is everything I'd hoped for it to be! It's reliable (don't know how good on gas it is yet since I haven't slowed down yet) but so far, everything seems to be in good working order except the light switch inside the car. The switch by the sunglasses holder won't work right but not a noticeable thing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Beautiful and Reliable

by 12 Optima EX Owner from Fairfax County, VA | April 26, 2013

I have 17k on my 2012, purchased new December 2011. Nothing has gone wrong. I have only compliments to the designer (Peter Shryer from Audi) the manufacturer (Kia/Hyundai Motors) and ESPECIALLY the builders.... 2600 AMERICANS in West Point GA!!! With a coat of wax, tinted windows, and wheel dressing I get stares and approached by people (especially at gas stations) with accolades and questions. It drives great, looks great, has very very comfortable seats (you might want to skip the 2011 as the seats were rep[laced for 2012 due to comfort complaints). Also, some 2011 models were reported to pull to the left..also fixed for 2012. May father always told me to never buy a car it's first year of production. However,. with a 5/60 bumper to bumper and a 10 year, 100k powertrain warranty,. there is nothing to worry about!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


The Best Car I Have Ever Bought Thus Far In Life

by Lisa from Indianapolis, IN | December 14, 2012

I love the way this vehicle looks on the interior and exterior. But I mostly love the way it handles the humps and bumps on the road. It makes the road feel smooth.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


classy car

by old man from texas | October 21, 2012

on the odd occasion that i`ve been at a gas station one guy thought it was a cadillac, another thought it was a bmw, another a mercedes. it feels like those two.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2011 Optima EX - Best in its class

by Greg Pillerman from Fort Collins, CO | August 28, 2012

One and a half years and 15,000 miles into our ownership, my wife and I still love the car. After testing most of the mid and full size cars available (except luxury brands), we had no doubt this is the best for us, and we weren't wrong. We didn't think we would buy a new car due to the initially steep depreciation, but these major selling points convinced us otherwise: - stunning design (especially exterior, but interior as well) - highest safety rating (with its relative Hyundai Sonata) - great gas mileage (easily gets 40 mpg on 55 mph highways with A/C on) - long long warranty of 10 years & 100,000 miles (however, only when purchased new, be aware) The only (rather minor) dislikes we have found: - the Nexen tires it comes with have good grip even on Colorado winter roads, but they are very loud - rather small trunk opening, no problem for luggage, but can get challenging with a bigger stroller for instance - rear visibility, as with most modern cars; our toddler clearly prefers daddy's truck though because he can simply see more But again, love the car, definitely the best out there in its class, especially when considering value and options for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


DON'T JUDGE A "CAR" BY ITS COVER (LOOKS)

by GAR from NJ | August 25, 2012

I've owned my 2011 Kia Optima EX for about 14 months and have just over 11,000 miles. Bought the car based on its looks and value - both of which are still valid. However, what I have discovered is a great deal of road noise. (especially over cement roads) poor sound insulation, (water under car can be heard and things rolling in the trunk) rear passengers are bothered by tire hummmmm, the driver's seat is uncomfortable on long trips. I will probably trade it soon because its value is high.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


best car i have owned

by sparky from ohio | June 12, 2012

this car is in my opinion after owning it for one year is the car to buy, great ride, performance and comfort great gas mileage, im getting 37 mph on the highway can't find a better warranty. very happy with this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2011 Kia Optima

by Kia dude from ABQ, NM | April 9, 2012

Very pleased with the Optima. Getting anywhere from 30-35mpg city plus highway driving. Really like the power and the room in the car! Really climbs the big hills excellent for an automatic! Only two things I don't like too much are the seats and the terrible tires on the car. Seats are too light of a color but I've already put on seat covers. If you looking for a sporty looking midsize car with excellent MPG and power this is the car. Glad I bought it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 69 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2011 Kia Optima.


Featured Services for this Kia Optima

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.