2002 Kia Rio

Change Vehicle
2002 Kia Rio
Available in 2 styles:  2002 Kia Rio 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$1,162–$6,078
Estimated MPG

27 city / 32 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Kia Rio so reliable i have Three

by kia tuner from Crestline Ca | December 24, 2010

these cars are great. i have three in 9 years. i bought my first one in sept. of 01. it was an 02 model for daily driving and driving to college. i have over 600,000 miles on it and it keeps going. nothing has broke on me. dealer serviced every 3000 miles, and every 30,000 miles. same trany same engine. + i get 35 miles to the gallon even driving in Los Anglesand there fwys. even when the fwys are parking lots. i bought my 2nd one to customize and build for car shows, bought it used and it rans just as good it only has 89,000miles on it. my thrid has 120,000 miles and it was beat up when i bought it bad trany and engine had the dealer repair them and runs great too. after 10,000 miles on it, it gets almost 36 miles to the gallon. would buy kias again looking at the forte for my next one nice looking cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


NOT AN AUTOMATIC!!

by let u kno from | May 27, 2010

I did not test drive or let this car run... it is NOT automatic, just For your information. I would have taken it if not for that.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Unreliable

by kiadriver32 from | June 5, 2009

Car brakes down more then any i have had, including other kias. Safe car crash wise, but very unrealiable. You will spend more money fixing it in the first 100,000 miles then you did on the car. I have known others with same problems with this car. But if your looking cheap, this car works for its purpose and drives alright when its not braking down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Good car for the money

by kia owner twice from OVERLAND PARK KANSAS | January 13, 2009

HAVE OWNED A CINCO AND CURRENTLY A RIO. I PREFFERED THE CINCO -A LITTLE MORE ROOM.DOES NOT HANDLE WELL IN RAINY OR ICY WEATHER. REASONABLE FOR CITY AND OR 2ND CAR.I BOUGHT 2002 RIO-USED IN 2004 CURRENTLY ABOUT 60,000 MILES HAVE HAD FRONT BRAKES REPLACED AND NOW HAVE TO GET MASTER CYLINDER REPLACED AND BOUGHT 4 NEW TIRES. REASONABLE FOR THE MONEY BUT WOULD NOT BE MY FIRST CHOICE.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


nothing but problems, I will never buy another Kia

by Geogrl from Colorado | January 30, 2008

This car has been nothing but problems from the start. It handles horribly in the snow, it slides around like a hockey puck with even the slightest dusting. I only have 53,000 miles on my Rio and it has started to fall apart. The clutch assembly is pulling away from the firewall due to poor quality metal being used to make the firewall. Of course Kia says that this certain problem is not under warranty anymore. That part of my warranty expired 6 months ago! Just in time for structural defects to show up. The mechanics that have worked on my car have said that the problem is due to poor manufacturing...I guess you get what you pay for: a disposable car made from recycled sprite cans.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


It's better than what you think

by Carmit from NJ | February 10, 2007

Everyone says this is too cheap but i have had a cinco from my company and I do major heavy work and travelling and not once I have had a problem . good mileage and value for money. Need to remember it's got a good warranty

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Get more than you pay for

by edinerie from Erie PA | October 25, 2006

I have had my Rio for four years and done a fair amount of both highway and city driving. Other than a set of tires to replace the Hankooks that came with it the vehicle has needed no repairs at all. Early reviews caused me to expect short brake life but the original pads are still good on mine. The vehicle is fairly comfortable and very reliable, even in the heavy snow and cold of my region. Handling is good, power is adequate, and general quality is good.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Kia Rio

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.