2009 Kia Sorento

Change Vehicle
2009 Kia Sorento
Available in 5 styles:  2009 Kia Sorento 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$6,958–$15,898
Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 20–22 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 6 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-6 of 6 reviews

Dissappointed

by Rose from Riverside CA | June 9, 2011

I bought my 09-Kia Sorento LX used with 30K mi. on it. I love the ext. design, interior space is great, has plenty of pep when you need it. Not completely satisfied with the mileage, about 17-20 on avg. just driving around town. The last 4 mos. have been a nightmare, I;m sorry to say. When leaving my house in the morning, it "jerked" into gear- R or D..didn't matter. Then would only move 10 mph. i.e. Power train issue! Now today- it has happened for the 3rd time in 4 mos. Sure, KIA is nice enough to send a tow truck, but the dealer has it more than 1 week each time trying to figure out how to fix it! I'm really frustrated and thought it would be a good dependable car, but the way it's been lately, I'm afraid to go away too far from home.. i.e. UN-reliable car. I'm sorry to say, once it's running nice again, I can't wait to trade it in for something OTHER than a KIA. It's proven to be cheap--and as the saying goes, "you get what you pay for".

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Kia Sorento is the sleeper deal of the year

by fiero lover from Westminster, CO | September 17, 2010

We purchased our 2009 Kia Sorento LX(but new) from xxxx Kia in Littleton, CO on December 10, 2009. We were able to take advantage of a factory $5,000 rebate for end-of-year clearance. Got a killer deal as we had priced many SUV's before buying the Kia. We got the upscale 3.3 liter Hyundai engine which is very good and Motor Trend likes alot. The 0-60 time for a 4,800 lb SUV is quicker than my Tiburon GT with 1600 lbs less weight! We like to 5,000 lb tow capacity, the spacious seating, and the large cargo area. Con is you still need to take off the second row seating headrests to lower the seats for long cargo. Since purchase, we have hauled concrete, 2 x 4s, 6 foot tall pine trees, 20 bags of cedar chips, furniture and even a 600 lb gun safe in this vehicle. Another pro/con is that you have a full truck frame which makes it corner stiffer, but the ride is well like a pickup truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Sensational

by walker! from tampa | May 20, 2010

Though it boring inside! Excellent vehicle! Not the best on gas but as i walk everywhere it is perfect!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A bargain

by Just another driver from Minnesota | March 23, 2010

This is a good SUV for the money. With a $5000 rebate I was able to buy it for $17700. There are many complaints about the quality of KIA products, but I've seen none so far. The SUV came with a 10 years, 100000 miles warranty, but I hope I won't have to use it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My first car

by Quick Hands from Glenview, IL | March 21, 2010

My parents bought me this car because I live in chicago and they wanted a 4 wheel drive suv. I have the ex so my car comes with leather seats and a sunroof. I absolutely love my car but I am going to review it objectively. Comfort: The leather seats are very hard and it isn't easy to get comfortable in them. The lumbar support option is also not something I enjoy because no matter what setting it is on it feels as though someone is constantly poking your back. As you are driving you will feel almost every bump in the road and when you change the car to 4x4 mode you will find that electronic stability control is turned off and the ride becomes even less comfortable. Performance: This is the best part of the car. The second you touch the gas you can feel the power that the engine has and it is exhilarating. I probably shouldn't know this but the car hits 100 easily. Handling: When you are at low speeds this isn't a problem but once you hit the 60mph mark it becomes very hard to control the vehicle because the second you move your hands it feels as if the entire car jerks and the power steering starts really fighting you once you try to make turns. Exterior Styling: Will this car win awards? definitely not. But it is no pontiac aztek. There are a lot of similarities to the mercedes m class and the lexus rx350 (not the new one) but it doesn't look as sexy as those cars do. Interior design: Once again this isn't terrible but do not expect any awards. I drove the rav4 and the dash of the sorento is much more attractive but it is not by any means awe inspiring. While most other cars have blue lighting behind the gauges and radio (I drove the rav4, the escape and the honda pilot) the sorento has green lights which was a plus for me. Features: There really aren't that many. Like I already said I have the ex so I have a power drivers seat, power windows and a power sunroof but that is about it. Some other things in this car is that it has a mode in which you can drive in manual but that is useless because the car will make gear changes anyways even when you do not want it to. Value for the money: If you are buying this from a kia dealer they are trying to offload these asap so you can find very good prices but if you end up paying 25,000 before taxes on this vehicle I would recommend you find another vehicle. Reliability: Before talking about this I would like to say that the car has a 10 year/ 100000 mile warranty on the power train and a 5 year/ 50,000 warranty on everything else. The reliability of this car is not at all good. I now have 1174 miles on the car and it already has issues. The front power outlet didn't work when we got it from the dealer. The drivers seat and something in the trunk (even when is empty) creaks when ever you lean back or drive over a bump. The car looks like it was not put together very well which I'm sure will be the root of many problems to come. This is a car that I will most definitely get rid of the second the warranty expires because I can already foresee thousands of dollars in repairs in the longrun. Some other things: Once again I love this car and even through all of these complaints would still recommend it to a friend. Some things you might want to pay attention to are little details that really show that its a kia. For example, when you are playing a cd there is no pause button. My car has no rear cup holders. Small things like these are things you want to pay attention to before you buy this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love the Kia Sorrento LX 4x4

by bg from Denver, CO | January 31, 2010

We originally had our heart set on a Hyundai Santa Fe, which this vehicle was going to replace. We actually comparison-shopped the Kia to Chevy, Ford, Honda, Toyota and Hyundai. The Kia has the upclass 3.3 liter engine, and this is $5,000 more in the Hyundai. This is a super engine. We also got the 5-speed automatic, and this was $3,000 more in the Hyundai. Oh, and Kia owns Hyundai and the engine, transmission, and drivetrain are all Hyundai. We love this SUV! It has the reliability we wanted, most of the features we wanted, and we got 4x4 for snow for a killer bargain! We were able to get this with a $5,000 rebate in December and out the door with minimal markups for under $20K!!! Love the handling. Only two downers-lost 2 mpg with 15 city and 22 highway, and the same truck frame that makes this corner so well also makes it ride more truck-like. But you get 5,000 to capacity! My wife loved her Christmas present.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-6 of 6 reviews

Featured Services for this Kia Sorento

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.