2002 Kia Spectra

Change Vehicle
2002 Kia Spectra
Available in 4 styles:  Spectra shown
Asking Price Range
$1,088–$5,208
Estimated MPG

24 city / 32 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Miss it so much!

by MissmyKia from Grand Rapids, MI | March 31, 2014

I had a 2002 Kia Spectra for my first car when I was 16 years old, I loved it so much. and it was a manual. 5 months ago someone hit me and totaled my kia completely, im getting a 2004 kia spectra, but sadly its an automatic. Id do anything to get that old kia back! Great mpg, I took it everywhere!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


good value

by family man from Mission Viejo, CA. | November 2, 2011

I bought a 2002 kia spectra 5 speed with 94,000 miles on it. My wife crashed my saturn so I needed a car fast. She can't drive a manual transmission so I got the 5 speed. I was not expecting a lot, but I got way more than I thought. I am getting over 35 miles per gallon on the freeway and more than 25 in the city. The car has some glitches but I only paid $3,200 for it. I would buy one again in a heartbeat. I was looking for a four door car that would hold my family. I have a 2001 Hyundai that I have put over 260,000 miles on without any major problems, that is why I got the Kia. The only thing I wish it had that it does not have is cruise control. If this car had cruise control, it would be the best car I have ever owned. And I have owned over 10 cars in my time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best inexpensive vehicle I've owned

by Spectra driver from Louisville KY | July 23, 2011

I got my 2002 Spectra used when it was 2 years old and wasn't sure if it would be a good car for me. It gets great fuel mileage and otherwise inexpensive to operate and keep. Most parts I have needed that are unique to the Spectra I have gotten from salvage yards to avoid the high dealer cost. It has 130,000 miles on it and it just got suspension and steering overhaul along with new tires and it took me to and from Florida as if it was new. For a small car it can haul quite a lot with the seats folded down in the back. I will have to say nearly 10 years old and I like the car and hate to get rid of it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nice car for little money

by car driver from Wisconsin | August 18, 2010

Have owned several Kia Spectras. Have always had good luck. Great low priced transportation. Have nothing bad to say about the Spectra.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good Car

by kevbo from Dallas, TX | January 4, 2010

This is a good vehivcle, but the only problem is that 90% of the parts have to be purchased from the dealer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car! Very Reliable.

by Love My Kia from Florida | April 4, 2007

I bought my Kia Spectra in 2002. I must say that it is very reliable. I have not had any major problems. The only problem I have is that I've had to replace the breaks, but you will do that with any car at some point in time. I believe it is worth the money spent. It's a great car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Not the best car made

by Aspiring Mustang Driver from Colorado | January 7, 2007

I have run into numerous problems with this vehicle. The starter went out and we had to replace the clutch. It makes funky noises sometimes also.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Solid, afforable, reliable transportation

by Cinde E from Columbia, SC | December 22, 2006

I love my Kia - She is affordable to buy and run, is completely reliable, and really gets up to speed quickly on the freeway. The mileage is good and she doesn't cost the earth to insure. A nice steady, reliable mode of transporation! The back seats fold down and I can haul/pack quite a bit of stuff! I really reccommend the 5-speed - beautifully geared and very zippy!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


good pic for a cheap value

by TYCOON from OHIO | May 31, 2006

I have had it for 2 yrs now and it's been fine up till now. It has a good engine power and ok outside exteriors. This is a good pick for a cheap value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Kia Spectra

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.