1998 Land Rover Discovery

Change Vehicle
1998 Land Rover Discovery
Available in 2 styles:  Discovery 4dr AWD LE shown
Asking Price Range
$1,752–$6,392
Estimated MPG

14 city / 17 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Best 4x4 you could own

by Rover 98 from Brick NJ | May 22, 2014

I picked up my discovery fairly cheap after Hurricane Sandy decimated the Jersey Shore. I live in a shore town, and picked this up for a couple hundred after it was drowned by the hurricane. Despite its age, having over 100k miles, and being hit and sunk by a hurricane, the car has been flawless. After doing basic maintenance that anyone should do when getting a used auto (change all fluid/belts and filters and plugs) the only thing to go wrong in two years of daily driving has been the water pump. That's also maintenance though. Let's talk performance. This is an off roading monster. No stock setup can beat this, maybe the 100k Mercedes G wagon. It's not particularly fast, but it can get out of its own way and has no problem doing highway speeds. Fuel consumption is high which was to be expected. With its torque filled v8 and locking centre differential, I'm always pulling out over ambitious jeep owners from the mud. The wheel articulation is also the best I've seen in any stock setup. This truck was designed and made to go through the roughest desert, and the toughest jungle after all. Speaking of design, the truck looks incredible. It's just a tough, go anywhere looking vehicle. Interior is also great, it has a utilitarian look but still has dual zone climate control with heated seats and room to fit 7 people. The raised rear roof makes it a dream to transport large objects, and did I mention the 4 Sun roofs? All in all, I wish everyone could own a discovery at least once in their lives.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car


How to get suckered

by trixie from Boone, NC | April 10, 2010

I wanted the car and we asked the dealer if there was anything wrong that we needed to know about he said the headliner needed fixing. The car run for three weeks then the brakes locked up, the front window leaks in the rain drips down through the rear view mirror and the key stricks in the ingination making the car grind like it is constantly trying to start after it has started. I love the car anyway but Land Rovers have to have parts from only a Land Rover dealer and you don't even want to know the prices even on a car as old as this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Good Daily Driver

by 442 Fan from Durham, NC | March 22, 2009

We purchased our Disco 5 years ago for our high school daughter. Most kids pulling up in Hondas... she was a bit different pulling in with her off-roader. She drove it for 3 years before heading off to college. Now the Disco is wife's daily driver. Oil leaks are common and mechanical repairs can be costly. Check engine light is also on often. All negatives aside, the vehicle is very well made and realiable. Highly recommend Flying Circus British Cars for repairs if you live in the Raleigh/Durham NC area. Oh, has 120K miles and running strong.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


TOO EXSPENSIVE TO FIX

by ROVERLOVER from WASHINGTON | December 31, 2007

LOVE THE VEHICLE, BUT EVERY REPAIR IS VERY EXPENSIVE AND IT CAN ONLY BE FIXED BY SPECIALIZED TECH. THEY DONT HOLD THEIR VALUE.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Land Rover Discovery Dependable.

by Charlie from Atlanta, GA | August 6, 2007

I have been driving my Disco for about 5 years now and have over 130k miles on it. Other than a couple of oil leaks i have had no real issues with this vehical. It is still a easy car for a do it yourself type to do a lot of the routine maintance on. Other than the MPG of which i get about 14mpg it has been a great car. Good Points. Reliable Easy to Work on Comfortable Not so Good Points Gas Mileage Top of windshield is kind of low if you are a tall person you have to lean over to see stop lights.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


affordable luxury

by Kit Kat from St Louis, MO | May 14, 2007

Handles great. Sporty and luxurious. Every comfort that you could need. Have only had to have regular maintenance on my vehicle (oil changes, new tires and tune-ups). Mine has over 100K miles and it still runs like a dream!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Changed Opinion

by DISCOADVENTURER from Chicago | July 30, 2006

I have purchased my Land Rover Discovery about a year ago. It already had 87,000 miles. I have previously heard that these cars tend to have problems, but I just wanted to get it anyway. I loved the shape, the spartan interior, the functionality. After I have had this car for some time, I realized that it is a very serious machine and not just a toy for the rich and famous. This car has excellent handling, strong motor, and if one maintains it as it should be by a mechanic that knows the car, it should be a fairly reliable transportation. Remember, these are the cars that were build to run through Sahara desert and other unusual places. If you buy one, you will have a lot of fun with it. Driving it is a daily adventure.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Land Rover Discovery

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.