2000 Land Rover Discovery

Change Vehicle

2000 Land Rover Discovery

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2000 Land Rover Discovery 4dr AWD shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$163–$10,655

Estimated MPG

13 city / 17 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Master Mechanics Only

by RoverH8R from | April 25, 2013

As Jeffzz9 said, you MUST be a gearhead to own of these. You need to be able to do a Head Gasket job or know someone who does and will not charge you $100+ an hour. The head gaskets will go bad every 40-50K Miles. The timing cover gaskets will go bad about every 60K miles, a head or timing gasket job will cost you $1500 minimum each time. Add in other repairs such as crank seal, purge valve, inertia switch going bad causing your Discovery to suddenly jerk and the engine to shut off going 65 on an interstate, yes, this happened to me, and this SUV will drive you crazy. Oh yeah, the ABS lights will go off a lot too, they're affectionately known as the 3 Amigos on the forums, ABS, Traction Control & Hill Descent. I meticulously maintained mine, changed the differential and transfer case gear oil every 20K, had transmission fluid changed regularly and never had a problem with any of those, but it is the Engine that will bankrupt you. I changed the oil every 3K religiously and I had the coolant changed every two years whether it need it or not and my head gaskets went bad 3 times in 138K Miles. If you do not have enough skills, or time, to do a head gasket job make sure you have an independent mechanic in your area who knows Rovers before buying one, the dealer will quote you $5K + every time you take it to them, if you read the Rover forums you will see this is common. If you want a true off-road SUV and you are an ASE certified mechanic who can pick one up for $750 and do the repairs yourself then this is a great SUV. You must do a pre-buy inspection before buying one of these, chances are there are many things wrong that may not be obvious. Take care of you car and it will take care of you was definitely not my experience.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Tools required

by Jeffzx9 from Clarksville, OH | January 25, 2012

As Mr. Vonderharr said in his review, there was a significant change between the Discovery 1 and Discovery 2. I own a 1999 Discovery 1, and absolutely love it, through 160K trouble-free miles. I have replaced numerous items myself, including a recent head gasket and water pump job, BUT, if MAINTAINED PROPERLY, a Land Rover will likely out-last its owner. Very over-engineered and will go anywhere. Very logically designed for ease of service for the owner, and plenty of aftermarket support. There are Rover guys out there like me who are glad to help other owners. However, if you do not own tools and or enjoy maintenance, I would suggest you look elsewhere, because dealer service will bankrupt you. There is nothing else quite like a Land Rover; for better or worse. A definite vehicle for gearheads.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Rovers are Underappreciated; mine is INCREDIBLE!

by David from Plano, TX | December 11, 2011

I have owned a Rover Discovery II for about a year, and the vehicle has been consistently wonderful. It has tremendous power, has been extremely reliable, and remains one of the most stylish rides on the road. You often see these vehicles with well over 200k miles. I think they are among the best bargains in luxury SUVs because of their undeserved bad reputations. This simply improves the value per dollar, making the vehicles that much more desireable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Overall GREAT TRUCK!!

by roverguy67 from Holyoke ,MA | August 16, 2011

this is my 5th Land rover. I have had no problems in the years that i've owned it... I have replaced the alternator, serpentine belt, water pump, all belts and hoses, mass air flow sensor.... but these are expected on an 11 year old truck with over 100,000 miles.... I have had no problems with my truck... in fact it is the best truck that i've ever owned... these trucks need VERY specific maintenence.... if you maintain them properly... they are amazing!! Thank you to J.E. Robinson automotive for keeping my truck trouble free. I love that my truck is so solid feeling, and tough.. wonderful off road... and it is wonderful in massachusits winters......

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car


The best SUV i had

by john from austin | April 8, 2009

wow i have my baby for 5 yrs and i have 214k miles on it i bought with 110k miles 5years ago and have no problem runs great i do always oil change every 3000 miles very nice SUV

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


The worst car I have ever owned

by Top Gear from Metro New Jersey | December 16, 2008

I find it hard to write a review on a car that spent 3/4 of the time i owned it in the shop. Land Rovers are the most unreliable cars I have ever seen. To get any work done at the dealership you need to book it in months in advance as its always full. You can only take them to the dealership where you get charged $140 an hour labour.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Very solid and safe SUV! Recommend!

by JimDandy from Highlands Ranch | June 30, 2008

reliable, solid, high end finish....love it. I purchased mine used so got a great value, but I would hate to pay the new price as the depreciation on these is pretty out of sight. Great SUV though!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Have had some mechanical problems

by Starr from West Virginia | March 29, 2008

we have had to put our Land Rover in the shop 3-4 times in the past 2 1/2 years for mechanical and electrical issues.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Amazing used SUV for the money

by Rover Dude from Milwaukee | March 21, 2008

I have 0ver a hundred thousand on mine and love every minute of driving it. Yes it is a Land Rover and you need a mechanic that understands the systems not some buick monkey wrench. I have had no issues other than regular upkeep. I would recomend for a winter driver that needs something to get through the nasty. Don't drive like a sports car to the soccer field and you'll get 20+ mpg. Enjoy

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Land Rover Discovery

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.