2004 Land Rover Freelander

Change Vehicle
2004 Land Rover Freelander

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2004 Land Rover Freelander 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$3,158–$8,674
Estimated MPG

18 city / 21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

2004 FREELANDER

by SINGLE MOM from | February 5, 2013

I JUST BOUGHT A 2004 FREELANDER FROM BIANCO MOTORS NORTH IN STAMFORD . THE EXTERIOR OF THE VECHICLE WAS IN GREAT CONDITION SO WAS THE INTERIOR. THE CARS WAS THE LOWEST PRICE ON INTERNET. THE CAR PERFORMACE WAS ON THE MONEY. THE STAFF AT THE DEALSHIP WAS A PLEASURE TO WORK WITH. THEY HELPED ME WITH MY CREDIT AND WORKED WITH THE BANKS SO THAT I COULD PURSHASE THE VECHICLE I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THE CAR AND WOULD RECOMMEND BUYING APRE OWNED VECHICLE FROM BIANCO MOTORS.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Never again

by Ge from | January 20, 2013

I was so excited when I purchased my Freelander and I was quickly disappointed. The manifold had to be replaced and paid over $1,200. Six months after the engine over heated and had to fix it which was costly as well. The radiator fluid leaked constantly even after repairing it and I was afraid to drive it as I didn't want to be stranded. No dealer wanted it as a trade in. Never Again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Great little suv

by smiler maker from Seattle, WA | November 17, 2011

great little suv! I am the original owner and hve gone off road once and was VERY surprised at how capable this little guy was. It's been on long trips and has always been comfortable on those veryt long drives. The only reason I have sold the truck is because I got the LR3.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


excellent ride

by 4x4 lover from SAeattle, WA | November 17, 2011

This has been a very fun truck to drive. Always very capable in any driving condition. i have only taken it off road once and it performed exquisitely. I am the original owner and have had the truck for 7 years without a hitch.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Underappreciated & rare SUV gem

by i95 from Washington DC | April 26, 2011

Among the rarest of the Land Rover's recent American offspring, the FreeLander (especially after the 2004 design update) is a greatly under-appreciated SUV. Timeless styling allows the 2004 FreeLander to remain looking as classy today as it did when it rolled out of the factory 7 years ago. This perfectly sized small SUV is very well built and feels solidly 'of-a-piece'. Materials are high quality and wear well; my 2004 still looks factory fresh (& never garaged). Gas mileage is OK (about 18 city/22 highway) and "get up & go" performance is only adequate. But once at speed, the Free Lander cruises solidly at high mph (75+) with a reserve of power still remaining. The only situation where I regularly off-road is driving on the beach and the FreeLander has always returned me to pavement without any drama. I've had zero mechanical problems with my Land Rover during the 7 years I've driven it. My only major complaints are (1) having to replace the brake pads every 17,000 miles (and I drive 'easy')...and (2) factory recommends belt replacements @ 72,000 miles that costs big $$$$. But I must end by re-emphasizing how pleased I've been with my FreeLander over 7 years of ownership. At the time of purchase, all the car reviews were at best, fair to poor. And if I knew how to spell the sound of giving someone a raspberry/bronx cheer, you'd be reading it now!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


worst car ever

by barley from Fredonia, NY | February 6, 2011

Bought 2004 Freelander new. Have had nothing but one problem after another. And it only has 47000 miles. Has spent more time in the shop or not running. Service engine soon light always going on and they can never find the problem. The dealer had it all summer and said it was fixed. Don't mind paying $800 to fix it but less than 1100 miles and 3 months later it is over heating and lossing antifreeze. Had to have it towed and it is still in the shop. Would like to trade it in but we can't because no one will take it in trade with service engine on or not running. Inspection is do and it won't pass because of the many problems. So after all the money we have put into this we will probably have a total loss. DO NOT BUY A LAND ROVER.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


best offroad car i've owned

by offroad master from New York, NY | September 19, 2010

best car i've owned, its powerful and compacted. Its just like a small version of a Rang Rover. the only bad thing about the car is the fuel economy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Land Rover Freelander

by MAC 101 from El Paso TX. | September 3, 2010

The SUV has a good comfort and the performance on highway is very good and the value of the SUV it worth it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Reliable friend

by Awana from | June 23, 2010

An excellent exterior feature, compatible though not roomy. Interior wise moderatly fascinatiing. It is cute and very relaible mobile machine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


fabulous car

by ly from | April 12, 2010

this car is very good. I had similar car for 5 years and it is very safe!! The design of this car is excellent, and it looks like a tiger!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this Land Rover Freelander

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.