2006 Land Rover LR3

Change Vehicle
2006 Land Rover LR3
Available in 3 styles:  2006 Land Rover LR3 AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$8,803–$17,895
Estimated MPG

14 city / 18–19 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 22 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 22 reviews

1 year review

by JoeShow from Columbus, OH | December 28, 2014

Before you opt to buy one of these make sure you take it to a mechanic who specializes in rover repair so they can thoroughly check it (it costs about $100). If whomever you're buying it from is uneasy about that, walk away. If its a dealer and they say their mechanic says its fine, insist on taking it to a third party. There are a lot of little quirks that only someone who specifically deals with land rovers will notice and be able to fix properly. For instance the air compressor goes bad every 3-5 years, there are a lot of sensors from tire, to tank that go bad along with 6 computers. And usually only a Rover specific mechanic has the equipment to handle the computers. Cons: The clam shell style doors in the back have issues. When you close the bottom quickly the cables get caught easily as they wind back in and become mangled. There are numerous sensors that go bad and every time they do you're never quite sure which one because it just turns the engine light on. The car battery never fully charges, so if the car is left to sit for days at a time it will thus cause a parking break failure, which in turn causes the high/low gear capability to not work, that is until you drive the car around for a little bit. Everything is expensive to replace or repair. I blew a valve stem on my tire -- $140 to fix, plus another $50 - $100 to reprogram the computer. Any time a sensor goes bad, or is replaced you must reprogram the computers, or the light stays on. On an average car to replace the valve stem its about $30. Take that price difference for any fix. Aux cable is in an odd place behind the center console which is a pain when you're driving alone. Its a magnet for others to hit with their doors. Getting the 3rd row of seats up or down is just ridiculous. It quite literally took me at least 10 minutes to figure it out the first time and its just fairly obnoxious. I struggle to understand how much more of a pain it must be if you're short, or the avg height of a woman. And if you have kids in one hand its probably impossible. getting all the seats down so the back is completely flat is also not very self explanatory, and time consuming. However there are a plethora of seat combinations which really do make it useful once you've got it figured out. Pros: The car is absolutely beautiful. I smile every time I walk out to start it. It has a go anywhere look, and is fully capable of doing so, from the Serengeti to the safely paved roads to the mall. It comfortably holds 7 full sized adults, its airy, spacious and beyond comfortable. People love it, and love looking at it. If possible, get the V8 model, its already a little sluggish and a V6 would be like trying to move the moon with the power of a blender. Its fine in the summer, spring or fall, but harsh winter is where it shines. Here in Ohio we had snow on top of 6-8 inches of ice, the car wasn't even phased. I was able to drive places even tow trucks couldn't get to. The adjustable ride height is amazing so to is the adjustable terrain feature. Ive traversed 6 inches of water, 8 inches of ice, down steep gradients, up hills, through 5 plus inches of mud, in 6 foot tall weeds and brush, with out a hitch, reached the other side and right into a car wash. The vehicle was truly made to go anywhere and do anything. It heats up like a champ during cold mornings, cools on hot days. It has two sun roofs, but only one that opens and does the job well. Ive put 10 thousand miles on it and have had little problem. The cars ARE reliable as long as you properly maintain them. And I cant stress enough that you absolutely need to have the car checked before you buy it, you could be left with thousands in repairs if you don't. Over all if you can handle the cost, the gas mileage (which realistically is about 12-14mpg), need to carry a lot of people, foresee yourself driving off the beaten path (or maybe just hope to) and have real winters, then there is no car thats better.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Repair Bills!

by AZRover from Tucson, AZ | October 21, 2013

We leased a 2006 LR# for 3 Years and it was the most enjoyable vehicle we have ever owned. The week we went to turn in the lease; rear A/C went out, rear hatch would not open at all, air suspension locked in low position, radio broken. All-on-all a great vehicle IF you can afford to maintain it! I'm very leery owning one out of warranty.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car


Great Vehicle...almost

by Will45 from Phoenix, AZ | October 9, 2013

Bought a used 2005 LR3 with 80,000 miles and it now has 99,000. So far it has been very reliable except for the side molding at the bottom of the doors, which keeps coming off. The first time was in the car wash and the second was four wheeling. Both times it cost me $130 to replace as the car wash one was ran over and the other was lost. This seems to be a common problem and I wish they would fix it. Other than that it has been super comfortable, reliable and gas mileage is pretty good, about 16 mixed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best car I've ever owned

by Parker from Williamsport ,pa | February 9, 2013

Bought an 05 lr3 five years ago with 48,000 on it. It now has 110,000. A few minor problems at 55,000, none since. Great SUV!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


06 LR3

by Land explorer from Williston,VT | March 12, 2011

I recently purchased a 06 LR3. Though there have been some minor issue (they have an electrical mind of their own...ie "suspention fault" when cold and then corrected when warm, and by cold I mean -10 degrees), I love this vehicle. It only gets on average 12-14 mpg and with gas prices going up it not that practical, but I have a 8 mile round trip communte. It has been great for all the things I wanted it for (more room, storage, capabilities) and has yet to not deliver when asked to perform. I would highly advise you look at one if your in this market.....if your not in this market.....look the other way

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best in Class

by Working Truck from Tampa, FL | February 2, 2011

For those who wrote that this vehicle is unreliable I would say GO TO YOUR DEALER! The suspension issues that caused the tire wear were fixed with a software update in 2007 and the suspension compressor failure was fixed by TATA motors (who bought Land Rover two years ago) with a higher quality compressor that is 50% larger than the original. All covered under warranty....the fuel tank issue was limited to a run of 100+ vehicles...compare that to the multitude of recalls which other brands have suffered recently, all of which are major safety issues! The LR3 is a fantastic vehicle which will treat you well even if you are rough with it...the Land Rover dealers will treat you with dignity and respect..not something other competing brands did for us when our previous cars had out of warranty or warranty issues. No other vehicle is as capable off road and as smooth on road. Our highway mpg averages between 19-20 and our city mpg never falls below 15...and the competitors do no better and fail to deliver the ride, safety or even cubic feet of cargo. We love this vehicle and will not hesitate to buy the newest!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Excellent vehicle

by Multiple SUV owner from Houston TX | September 27, 2010

2006 SE Have 60K now, purchased used with 18K, have owned for 3 years. Only problem was the first week of ownership and it was minor: leaking windshield fluid tank! Have only replaced tires once (at 50K) and one brake job (at 50K) & the brake job was expensive and LR insisted on replacing rotors on all brake jobs. I was worried about buying a Rover based on other opinions, but my experience has been great & would purchase a LR again. Vehicle is tight, versatile and luxurious.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very expensive

by LOVE MY LR3 from | September 25, 2010

i love my lr3 and with 4 kids the 3rd row is very nice!! we have 4 cars i have my lr3 and range rover sport(love that to) my range rover is my work car and my lr3 is my family car. my wife has the lr2 and a jeep commander. the commander has all the same features as my lr3 does but was alot less in sence of money!! i am about to give my lr3 to my son and perchase a new lr4!! if you have the money i recomend the lr3!!! if you dont have the money i recomend the commander

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Luxury SUV Built Like a Rock

by Luxury SUV Enthusiast from Silver Spring, MD | May 28, 2010

We have three cars, one of which is an LR3. They are built solid as a rock and has a ton of standard features that are really meant for convenience and impress. It's a really well-priced big bang-for-your-buck kind of an suv. We've never experienced a problem with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Take seriously

by Joe from Georgia | February 19, 2010

Having owned a 2003 Discovery, the LR3 is a vast improvement over the disco. All's I can say is buyer beware. Only buy used because of steep depreciation value. After these land rovers reach 50k and the warranty is up, everything starts to break. Both my 03 and 07 have been disasters,and completely unreliable. LR has only caused me stress, time and money at the dealership. These are the coolest vehicles on the road, but you will pay dearly to own it! good luck

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 22 reviews

Featured Services for this Land Rover LR3

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.