2001 Lexus GS 300

Change Vehicle
2001 Lexus GS 300
Available in 1 styles:  2001 Lexus GS 430 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$4,043–$9,891
Estimated MPG

18 city / 24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 6 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-6 of 6 reviews

Best Car Ever

by LexOwnr from Los Angeles, CA | January 5, 2012

I purchased a 2001 used Lexus GS300 with about 50k miles on it. I purchased it about 7 years ago and I can honestly say it is the best car ever. It is super reliable. I give it the scheduled maintenance and I have not spent a dime on repairs. Gas mileage and ride comfort are great. You cant ask for a better car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car!!

by MzDi from Ca. | March 23, 2011

Wonderful car with very little problems. My car is going on 200,000 miles and no major repairs. Would recommend to anyone who wants a Lexus.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car very affordable

by bucsumthin from Dutchess county,NY | May 16, 2010

I purchased the car 2 years ago and the only major problem i've had was a waterpump. The heatsheild also rattles. I love the car mostly because it's so comfortable even with 20" wheels i can hardly tell if I hit a pothole. The suspention is a little high but I always prefer the luxury over the sport. The real wood nice touch. braking is a little hard because the weight. Handles nice but not as good as my 05 acura Tl. As long as you stay up with the scheduled oil changes and fluids this car will probably drive well into the 200k's. I currently have 134k and it drives better than any other car i've testdriven so I guess i'm keeping my lex. 1 last thing this car is a gas guzzler with the price of premium gas it's very hard to plan a road trip.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


good luxury car

by Abz from DC | May 10, 2009

Everything about this car is great except a few items: Handling is not good; if you're driving 40~70 mph and want to miss an object in front of you (a hole/rock) or if the high way has deep turns, it won't be smooth! Other RWD vehicles handle it much better. But the ride is very very smooth and comfortable. HP / MPG ratio is close to V8 engine cars even though i have an I6. Even Avalon's V6 engine has more HP and yet better MPG despite close weight.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Lovin' Lexus from IN | June 9, 2008

One of the safest cars on the road and it is also a pleasure to drive. It is sporty, quiet, comfortable, sexy looking, dependable, and just one great car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great car

by Vlad from IL | November 27, 2007

A refined and elegant car since its early-1990s inception, the midsize Lexus GS 300 sedan always came up short in the personality department. Partly, this was a problem of perception. Lexus initially promoted the rear-wheel-drive GS as a legitimate competitor to the elite European sport sedans, but the car's soft suspension, over-assisted steering and sluggish powertrain said otherwise. The fact that it cost just as much as its German rivals certainly didn't do it any favors either. As a luxury sedan, the Lexus GS 300 was more convincing, particularly the third-generation model, which could be loaded with all the latest technology and upscale amenities. Cabin materials were typically of high quality, and everything was put together with exacting precision. Add in an outstanding reliability record and it's no surprise all three generations of the GS 300 proved popular with consumers, despite the fact that the automotive press never fully warmed to it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-6 of 6 reviews

Featured Services for this Lexus GS 300

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.