2002 Lexus GS 300

Change Vehicle
2002 Lexus GS 300
Available in 1 styles:  2002 Lexus GS 430 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$4,193–$11,689
Estimated MPG

18 city / 25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Lexus does it again

by Big Dee from Atlanta, Ga | July 15, 2013

I recently and reluctantly just sold my 1998 Lexus GS 400. I purchased it at 130,000 miles and put approx 80k miles in 7 years and never a problem. So after 7 years, I wanted the same power but something just a little smaller and what did I find the SC 430 and I love it. My only problem is the lack of storage space and I need more headroom. But as a 40 something empty nester, cougar type, :) this is the perfect car for me! So far, no problems mechanically.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


close to perfect

by eaze from dallas | September 23, 2011

I have owned a lot of luxury cars 05 merz E320.and 06 lexus es350..i didnt like the ES we let it go and down graded to an 02GS 300 purchased at 89k.i live in dallas-work in houston.it now has a whopping 175k on it two yrs later..besides oil changes..this car is super reliable...and the nakamichi sound system is one of the best systems in the market.3.0litres very merciful on gas despite his luxury stamp.They hold resale like u cannot believe!My buddy has the new gen 07..drove it not impressed..they moved away from the supra straight 6 engine to something more luxury less sports.Overall the best car i have owned in yrs.I drive mine daily and it never fails to impress me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


FABULOUS CAR ALL AROUND

by GS300 from Virginia | April 28, 2011

I have owned 3 2nd-gen GSs (98, 2000, 2002) and these are some of the best designed cars on the road. Everything about it is of the highest quality and engineering. Reliability on all 3 I've had has been nothing short of outstanding. 4 stars for performance-GS430 gets 5. 4 stars for comfort, the new GS gets 5. I have considered trading in and upgrading to the 3rd-gen GS (06+) but everything I read about it is keeping me from doing so. This one's staying in my garage and I'll be adding an SC430 to my collection. Great drive, great buy, great car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car for the Value

by Jackaroo from Alexandria, VA | November 12, 2009

I bought this car used in January 04. It had 24K at the time. It now has 138K and runs great. I had some catalytic converter issues at 85K which cost $1800 to repair. The engine is adequate. The transmission is odd as it appears to slip at times but it's been that way since I purchased the car. The exterior is still appealing. I prefer the old model over the new one that came out in 2007. You can't go wrong with this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Lexus GS300

by LA Salsa from Los Angeles | August 3, 2009

The car was great when new. As it aged it started rattling and squeaking both inside and engine compartment. Lexus is aware of the problem because they sell a anti-squeaking kit. BAD design. Even with premium gas the car pings. The car as another problem. They self door locks fail and the 3rd EGG sensor fails. A common, so be prepared for more expenses as the car ages.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most Wonderful Car I've Owned

by Fabulous Performance and Comfort from Portland, OR | February 15, 2009

This is the most wonderful car - better than the Mercedes, Toyota, Volvo, Chevy, Subaru and VW I've owned. The quiet and suspension are just amazing...this is a comfortable quality personified. It is meant for those who like elegance and reliablity. The only bad comment I have is that the trunk squeeks sometimes...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Sweet Looking Ride

by EASY from Tucson | August 16, 2006

SWWEEETTTT RIDE with nice sleek look for the young and not so young. Got everything but a kitchen sink

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Lexus GS 300

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.