1999 Lexus GS 400

Change Vehicle
1999 Lexus GS 400

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  GS 400 4dr Sedan Base shown
Asking Price Range
$3,402–$10,634
Estimated MPG

17 city / 24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

great car

by 3rd lexus owner from Bloomington, IN | March 16, 2013

good all round for the money. Still will get you compliments.. Was fastest production car of the year in 1998 and still sips gas for being a v8. So far ahead of its time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best vehicle I've ever owned. Will keep forever

by azgs400 from Arizona | December 24, 2011

By far, the best car for the money. No reason for me to ever buy anything to replace it. Everytime I drive soemthing new, I feel like "My GS400 is better than this----even the newer Lexi

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Loving it from Manteca, CA | April 7, 2011

Have had this car for 5 years, bought used with 85,000 miles on it, all routine maintance kept up on this car, have friends with this same car and they have 300,000 + miles with no problems as long as you use 5/30 syn oil, no leaks and uses no oil mine now has 150,000 with no problems and everything works well performs well on freeway but be careful this car can get you in trouble have had it on test track up to 160 and handled very well. Can be pricey at the pump with premium gas but well worth it. This car is a +++

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Not a race car...

by LexusLover Convert from Houston, TX | January 14, 2010

I've had this car for 7 years...and I still want nothing different. To get today what my car had standard 11 years ago costs high dollar. 300hp, 25mpg highway, touch-screen navigation, xenon self-leveling lights, front and side airbags, vehicle skid control, awesome stereo, 4 door, roomy, leather...and unsurpassed reliability. I used to hate Toyota and Lexus because they lacked style. But, the 2nd generation GS changed that. It STILL looks like a sporty sedan, especially if you just lower it an inch and put some wider 18's on. Style is on par or better with new sedans. As for the review that claimed unreliable at 100K miles; yes, if you use 10W40 oil in these engines because you thought it would provide you more protection, you will blow the engine up around 100k miles or burn oil like crazy (I have seen this exact mentality and incident on this engine). If you use the required 5W30 oil, you will have 170k miles on your engine, and can go 8000 miles on synthetic and still have a full dipstick, like I do. For those reading this review, try and find a remanufactured engine of this style. You probably won't. Becuase of my experience with this car, I now own a 2002 SC430 and am shopping for a 2005 GX470. No, my GS400 is not for sale.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


performance for the money

by coffee from Washington DC | December 21, 2009

This car is fun to drive on the highway but be careful or it may get away from you. The engine purr is music to the ear although it could have used a high performance breaking system. Had mine for 5 years and all I've done is change the routine stuff.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


silent on the road

by gerry from New York | May 30, 2009

I bought a 1999 GS400 used with low mileage. For a ten-year old car, it runs silent and smooth, everything works, a joy to drive. Gas mileage about 26-27 at slightly under 70, but it's hard to go that slow: this car can rocket like a star ship. Have not used the manual shift option. Seats ultra-comfortable without making you fall asleep. Handles very well. You can feel the road, it's not as swishy as the LS. Rear-wheel drive versus front-wheel drive in the winter? It about evens out in the end with this car, given the vehicle control system.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Don't be fooled

by GT4 Class Racer from Charleston, West Virginia | May 25, 2009

These cars have been around for a long time. Problems have ranged from replacing valves and guides to suspension parts. Its no secret these cars are incredibly heavy and bulky. I have been driving and racing luxury touring cars and even sponsored by major brands for 15 years. This car is good for driving from your house in the mountains to church. Plenty of power to climb hills and empty you pocket book at the same time. We tested this engine for hard/medium driving and were surprised to find it wasn't reliable at all. At 100k miles the car was burning more oil than even racers could imagine. Those special valves cost a special price when we estimated how much money it would cost to fix our blown engine. Overall, save your money, Toyota has much better engines than this clunker. The interior is dull and boring for such an expensive car. My wife actually sat in it for 10 seconds and decided she would rather take the one of the other test cars because it was so ugly. I sure didn't mind either compared to other brands such as Audi, Infiniti, BMW, and Cadillac.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Love this car....

by Lexuslover from Atlanta, ga | October 12, 2006

Love this car purchased a 99 with 98K miles 3 years ago and I absolutely love it....no problems, whatsover. Smooth ride, smooth handling, and still looks new. The maintenance is relatively low, but the tires can be expensive as i have 17" alloys. Other than that, no major work has been needed except routine maintenance. This car was built to last.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Lexus GS 400

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.