2008 Lexus IS-F

Change Vehicle
2008 Lexus IS-F
Available in 1 styles:  2008 Lexus IS-F 4dr RWD shown
Asking Price Range
$23,908–$42,760
Estimated MPG

16 city / 23 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

5.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

20 out of 20 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 20 reviews

Non-Bias review on ISF

by Joe Slow from Arlington tx | August 21, 2014

Always wanted the isf. Bought it used at 63k miles and had driven it the last two weeks. I have to say it is a very sporty and fast sedan. It's not your average camry that's for sure. The engine is slow to react when u hit the pedal because it's driven by wire and not throttle cable so there is a delay in throttle response. But to change that u can buy an aftermarket throttle controller to boost the signal and you'll get the same result as a normal cable. The suspension is very stiff and at time bumpy as if you're driving a BMW M3 coupe. And you're thinking wait this isn't a coupe. It takes the turn very well no body roll. Engine very smooth ac power seats very comfortable and sporty wrap around. I get a lot of attention when I drive to places. Makes friends instantly when they see I'm driving a "F". This is not a sedan for someone in the older stage of live this is a lively car. I recommend ages 18-45. Compare to the ls460 this is like a Porsche vs an accord.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


I LOVE THIS CAR!!!!

by Lexus IS-F Owner from New York | August 15, 2014

I've had this car for just over a month and love it. The performance is awesome and it looks great. It's a very rare car and I am constantly getting compliments about it. Only downside so far is the $140 oil change.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


amazing

by lexdusisflover from st. peters, MO | September 1, 2012

perfect balance of sports car and luxury. Has 2 personalities that makes for an extremely rewarding driving experience

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very fast, good gas milage

by Performance Car Guy from Bay Area, CA | December 5, 2011

I have owned my Lexus ISF for about 2 months now. I really love the car. 416HP engine and 8 speed transmission with paddle shifters is smooth and very fast. The electronic traction control really helps you manage the power without feeling it. It handles like a race car. Very stiff, no body roll, and rock solid. The car has an awsome stereo and all the creature comforts you might want. Navigation, climate control, bluetooth, are all part of the package. The touch screen system is very good. The car has a 5.0 liter V8 engine, but the milage is very good. I get 29 MPG driving at 65 MPH with windows up and no A/C. Around town, if I drive modestly, I get 18 MPG. It does require premium gas. The only complaint is that the seats are a little overly firm. The car already has a stiff suspension, and the seats could be a little more cushion for longer drives. Overall the car is super fast and super fun to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


An awesome car!

by Kermit from Houstin, tx | June 29, 2011

I love this car! It looks great, the performance is outstanding and it gets decent gas mileage. Lexus quality is outstanding. The only complaint that I have is the navigation system is a little outdated compared to some of the other cars that I have owned. I also wish the a/c controls were not part of the nav system. The performance is brisk. For the money, I believe it is the class leader in its class!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


FASTEST CAR OWNED

by SPEED from Newark, DE | July 1, 2010

I can go on and on about this SPEED MACHINE. Extravagant design, VERY FAST, all the options bluetooth, navi, heated seats, mark Levinson radio. Its funny when cars come up next to me and see a Lexus, than they hear me take off at 3600 rpm and the growl this car gives off is very intimidating. Love this car and will not beat it, but I will still have fun.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


the reliable and cheaper alternative

by malujerry from LI, NY | June 15, 2010

this car is hands down better value for the money compared to a similarly equipped C63, M3, or RS4. i have had it for over a year and have no regrets. very rare, very fast, and NO problems to date. the only negative is the rough rebound for the suspension and lack of manual option. i use this car for work and family, but it is a little too tight in the back for adults.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


M3 Beater

by Lex from Kansas City | February 4, 2010

This vehicle is outstanding when you consider the whole package. The IS F has 8 gears which increases the fuel economy (mpg) because it keeps the RPM's low in regular commuting. The shifts take place at 0.8 seconds which is as fast if not faster than most if not all Ferrari's. The reliability is a given as Lexus is the luxury division of Toyota. The gadgetry is unmatched in the class of vehicle, the C63 AMG is close but isn't there and it outdoes the M3 from BMW. The 0-60 mph has been recorded at 4.3 seconds by one of the Car Magazines which proves that this vehicle if driven by the right individual can outperform most of the stats it has been given. The top end speed outdoes BMW's M3 by 15mph or so. The engine is powerful enough that if the limiter is removed it will reach speeds in excess of 185 mph. The engine note sounds outstanding as its right up there with some $200,000+ supercars. The production is extremely low, it took me 6 months to receive mine and I had the first 2010 model in the region. This is the first high performance vehicle from Lexus and I believe it will be a collector car someday. Thank you and enjoy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Destroys the M3 / C63 / CTS-V

by IS350/IS-F Owner from Chicago | December 7, 2009

I previously owned an IS350 which I enjoyed, but traded in for more horsepower. This is the best vehicle in its class. I was torn between the CTS-V and the IS-F. The 09 CTS-V is much faster, but in terms of reliability, there is no match. The IS-F was built by Toyota to outlast any other super saloon on the market. The M3 wasn't even a comparison in terms of features. This automobile is built like a tank. I previously owned a Lexus SC400 for 14 years which has lasted 225k miles and still runs flawlessly. I cannot how long the IS-F will run. Fuel economy is decent for its class, and the acceleration is incredible. The car will chirp second gear very hard at full throttle. My only complaint, compared to the IS350 and SC400, is the comfort. The suspension is UNFORGIVING. The car attracts attention everywhere I travel, if you do not like attention, do not buy the IS-F. I've really beat on this car over 22k miles and it still drives flawlessly. You won't hear this when you read M3 reviews, many people complain about the car lagging after significant mileage. If you buy the IS-F, be prepared for cosmetic maintenance. Spend the money and get the clear bra, that is my biggest regret. Also expect to wash your wheels weekly because the brake dust on this car is the absolute worst and will etch into the rims if not cleaned thoroughly. I could not be happier with my purchase and look forward to getting into my car every day.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best bang for the Buck!

by phillyfanatic from | November 13, 2009

Traded in my GS350 for something more fun. The IS-F is extremely fast, very solid, and handles like a track car. Ride is firm but expected. Relatively good gas mileage. Some Down sides: Navigation is a little complex(maybe b/c i don't use it often) and Satelite radio doesn't sound crisp. Overall you cant get something this fun, fast, safe and reliable for the price. nothing better to own.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 20 reviews

Featured Services for this Lexus IS-F

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.