1998 Lexus LS 400

Change Vehicle
1998 Lexus LS 400

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  LS 400 4dr Sedan Base shown
Asking Price Range
$3,366–$10,662
Estimated MPG

19 city / 25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

5.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

the best car I have ever owned

by JoanneK from lake county ohio | June 11, 2014

I purchased my car from Chardon Motors in chardon, Ohio. Over the years we have purchased all of our cars for ourselves and our children from Chardon Motors. This car is the fifth car we have purchased from the owner (Phil Vaughan). We have always been treated fairly and honestly from Mr. Vaughan. I would never consider purchasing a vehicle from anywhere else! This is my first Lexus and it is the BEST!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


400 STANDS FOR 400,000 MILES

by 'OL GOAT from FLORIDA | August 14, 2013

I BAUGHT MY 400 IN 2010 WITH 72,000 MILES. IT NOW HAS 130,000 MILES AND DRIVES BETTER NOW THAN 60,000 MILES AGO. FOR THE MONEY, THIS CAR IS THE BEST ON THE PLANET, MY HONDA PILOT IS #2.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


understated sophistication and comfort

by Dr. D. from Nazareth, Pa | March 31, 2013

125000 miles and still drives like new. Only repair--control arm. 30+ mpg highway @ 67 mph or 28 mpg a@ 70+mph, on regular gas .Considered newer LS but prefer this style and rear window visibility

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Excellent Transportation

by Doc from Nazareth Pa | August 23, 2012

Excellent auto in all ways. Regular maintenance followed-- one repair in 123000 miles, a control arm was replace recently. Easy driving highway 30 mpg at 68 mph, city about 20 mpg on REGULAR gas.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


300k +

by Lewey from Holly Springs, NC | July 13, 2012

Purchased my '98 in '03 with 62k for $26k. NOW, the vehicle has 335,000 and still going strong. I've just installed its fourth set of tires, have replaced the drive belts and water pump four times. Just a wonderful car. The conservative style is ME and is a classy and smart car to drive. It's my understanding, after speaking with many mechanics, that the type of engine Lexus put in this specific model is the BEST they've ever used.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


$60K ride for Less Than $10K

by Luxury Ride from Ga. | January 16, 2012

Bought a 98 Lexus LS400 from family. My brother in law bought new for $61K. He finialy decided to sell it. Has 140K miles & rides & drives like new. My wife has a 2009 Venza we bought new. The 98 LS rides circles around it. Great power for a full size car. If you can find one with all the service papers this cpuild be the best buy for the money out there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fuggetabowdit.

by Peter Big Block from West Des Moines, IA | November 28, 2011

What's not to like? The LS400 is the perfect car for anyone like me. I don't want the latest (or even the last couple iterations of) baubles, gizmos, gee-gaws, etc. that adorn newer cars, confounding their owners. I want a clean, classic design; a comfortable, quiet ride; a great sounding, simple stereo with CD changer and -- gasp! -- tape deck; soft leather seats; a large back seat and a huge trunk; and a V8 with just a little burble from the exhaust. Why spend $50k on a car that will be worth $10k in ten years, when you can spend $8k on a car that will be worth $5k in ten years? And it has a bulletproof reputation for reliability. It's the perfect car for people who want to relax and just drive. Powerful engine, iconic styling, super-handling, fun-to-drive? That's what my Porsche is for. The Lexus LS400 is soothing and affordable and beautiful. What more could you want?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Just a sweetheart of a car

by SF GIANTS FAN from Walnut Creek, Ca. | September 3, 2011

this is my 4th LS. I love the car, its styling and its sleek design, not to mention that sleeper of a monster motor under the hood. Only thing negative is struts and replacing the Starter. seem to go out at about 150- 175k mi. Other than that I am complimented continuously on the beauty of my LS. SF GIANTS FAN

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Finest automoblie I have ever owned!

by Car Aficionado from Tulsa, OK | March 13, 2011

I have personally owned over 25 vehicles in my life. The 98 LS400 is by far the most impressive and overall best out of all!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Understated Luxury

by Doctor D. from Nazareth Penna | June 18, 2010

Purchased used. Previous owner had private mechanic near his estate who kept it like new. Lexus dealer now provides excellent service. 12 year old "new" car with 112000 miles and is flawless. Find one like this and enjoy an economical luxury car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 1998 Lexus LS 400.


Featured Services for this Lexus LS 400

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.