1997 Lexus LX 450

Change Vehicle

1997 Lexus LX 450

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  LX 450 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$5,207–$12,279

Estimated MPG

13 city / 15 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Timeless and desirable

by Love of Cars from Hendersonville, NC | September 5, 2013

I am amazed at my 97 LX450. I have had 4 people in the last month ask me to consider letting them know when I am ready to sell. I am very confident in saying if you buy a 1996-97 LX, you are buying a future collectable SUV. The only things on his car that may seem to be an issue is the check engine light has a temper. I am still working on that issue and think I will have it conquered in the next week or so. The front seats do not go back as far as I would prefer. I am 6'0 tall, yet I can take a 7 hour drive in this car and still be ok, but not without leg stiffness. To be fair I am 52 years old but in good shape. I am more than willing to throw plenty of money at this car as I have that much love and confidence in it. My best advice is to dive in and grab it no while they are affordable, five years from now will be too late!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best 4WD every made in my book

by TAZ from Alabama | March 12, 2012

I owned a Lexus LX450 in 1997 thru 2001 until my wife totalled it out and in 2012 I had to get another one because no one makes a better, tougher, good riding, reliable 4WD. I wouldn't have any other 4WD SUV.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


Great Safe Family Wagon

by Safari enthusiast from NJ | February 16, 2009

I can haul anything thanks to the foldable 2nd & 3rd row seats... LX450 beast can accommodate at least 2 babies with their carseats/trollers, including their respective moms and dads, 1 toddler, and their belongings! In congested roads, the LX450 gets right of the way without feeling being squeezed between lanes. I just traded-in my sedan bimmer in order to get the LX450. It is gas-thristy beast but with regular unleaded fuel you do not feel the pinch as the Land Rover Discovery owners who have to deal w/Premium unleaded fuel costs!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Good solid built SUV

by yajcaivplawv from Colorado | January 14, 2009

I've owned mine for nine years now. It is a solid built vehicle, though pricey. I bought mine because I wanted the in-line engine with a timing chain that will last practically forever and low rpm with good torque. I recommend buying this vehicle with locking differentials because if you plan on off-roading there is a good chance of being stuck. This is where the lockers com into play; it is nice to use in deep snow! The only draw back is that it is a gas guzzler, it's a heavy vehicle. I also wish that it had more cup holders too. I owned another 4x4 too and this has a much better 4x4 system.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Lasts forever

by MechEng Colorado from Colorado | December 13, 2008

I bought my '97 in '07, w/256K miles on it. Just finished a year and 12K miles. Reliable -- needed headlight connectors replaced, cost $7. I changed all fluids, filters, that's all. My '88 Land Cruiser went 260K, then got totaled :-(. The '97 is quieter, smoother, more comfortable. Bulletproof, it seems. AWD sticks better than the '88's 4WD. A bargain considering what a new, similar-sized car costs -- I would have bought a new Honda CR-V $25K or Pilot $37K, but the Lexus for $10K is much more satisfying, and will last another decade easily. I love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Reliable, but Handles Like a Truck

by Random Driver from OK | March 26, 2008

The solid front axle leads to a less comfortable ride than a modern independent front suspension. The 212hp straight-six could use a little more power to move this heavy vehicle. The brakes are merely adequate. It's performs well off road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


built like a tank

by Tony from Encinitas CA | February 15, 2008

If you are looking for an SUV that all you need is Gas, Tires, Brake pads and no electronics this is it. I owned many many cars from Mercedes, Audi, BMW and other but the LEXUS is in a league on is own...THE MOST REALIABLE CAR EVER....That why many many off road/safari/war zone lovers always look for this incredible Model and year...because they are BULLET PROOF 300k 400k no problem and the Lexus is just an extra nice compared to the Toyota Land Cruiser. They exactly the same car only the Lexus comes with allots of extras.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Lexus LX 450

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.