We've given this page a whole new look

View the new design

2000 Lincoln LS

Change Vehicle
2000 Lincoln LS
Available in 3 styles:  2000 Lincoln LS 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$551–$6,763
Estimated MPG

17–18 city / 23–25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

priceey wheels

by clem from central utah | August 8, 2016

car has l;ots of flaws, but looks good and nice to drive. a.c. went out took me 3 mechanics and lots of money and Freon to find only a SCHARDER VALVE/ to blame. water pump out for $503 doller bill. cruise control out, mechanic says cost more than car is worth to fix. replaced spark plug and coil to get miss out of engine. car is crouded and low to ground, over engeneered and difficult to work on. have to be a midget to get at fuse boxes, parts are spendy, and sometimes hard to find, and more expensive. towncars are your best bet...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does not recommend this car


Love it

by Ged1s from seattle | March 6, 2015

like other reviews say, it indeed requires a bit of cash to throw out, but it depends if you were the unlucky one for particular model, specially V8 ones has more issues then V6. After 8 years of driving i finally throw in 700$ for gaskets and sparkplug boots, changed 3 window regulars and not long ago replaced driver door handle for the second time haha. Bought it with 63k miles on it and now its at 162k miles and in those 8 years of driving(daily highway driving) to work havent did any major work to it. Probably would end up trading for same model just lower miles on it since im so used to it. Yes radio screen went out but it doesnt matter since i installed that iphone ipod output so radio isnt used no more. But mostly was only all liquid flush jobs and regular maintenances thats all, tune ups etc. spent maybe under 3000$ for total repairs in those 8 years. All cars go bad but not that bad as mine haha.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


WORST CAR TO MAINTAIN IN35 YRS DRIVING!

by MSGTUSMC from CHESAPEAKE VA | July 11, 2013

JUNK LINCOLN, COSTLY TO MAINTAIN. DOOR WINDOW REGULATORS JUNK, DOOR HANDLES JUNK. COIL ON PLUGS & VALVE COVER GASKETS JUNK.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


If you're willing to spend 3 thousand a year.

by driver from | May 10, 2013

The car is not so bad however, it has dozens of little minor flaws that no matter how you fix it, it's going to fail again before you think. Clock spring in the steering wheel being one of the most prominent. Lets not forget window motors and regulators, about every two years. I wouldn't mind so much, but its a lincoln so everything for this car costs 20% more at the least.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Problemobile

by Prior owner from Maryland | January 23, 2012

The car is certainly a great looking vehicle with excellent appearance and comfort. They have a good safety rating and the 50/50 weight distribution means they handle well. Power from the V8 is more than adequate. The downside is that these things have a laundry list of known common problems and none of them are cheap to fix. List of things we fixed during the 7 years of ownership of this vehicle: Window regulators (all of them, $300 a piece) Valve cover gaskets (expensive labor) which then also ruined: Coil packs ($500), spark plugs($100), and catalytic converters ($1000) Front ball joints (have to buy entire lower arm (over $500 ea)) The radio display went out ($350) Overengineered Hydraulic cooling fan pump ($500 + $200 hose + labor). completely unnecessary, whats wrong w/ an elec fan? Air bag light came on, this was actually caused by the exit assist (seat goes back when you take key out). The back and forth movement broke the wire to the side unit. I fixed this myself, just make sure you know what you are doing! The stuff that was wrong that wasnt fixed: Chased a random no start condition (appeared related to security system in the car). Multiple tows from this trying to be able to get a shop to reproduce the problem Unsolved random battery drain. The heat / ac system was starting to go out (flapper door / vacuum unit under dash). Heat elemnets in the seats quit working Water gets in headlights Worn sway bar bushings caused knocking sound, they dont sell the bushings you have to buy whole sway bar, labor is ridiculous also. All the chrome over plastic pieces started to delaminate. Its a nice looking, comfortable, powerful and good handling car, but keeping it going was just too expensive. Many of the problems are because of bad design and things like the valve cover gaskets should have been covered by a recall but were not.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


This car's been very good to me.

by LS Owner from Rochester, NY | March 19, 2011

I bought this car through cars.com with 41,000 miles on it, 5 years ago, sight unseen. It's been a solid, reliable, and very comfortable daily commuter and now has 135,000 miles. Other than normal maintenance items like brakes and tires, it's rarely been in the shop. Now I'm looking for another one, and may give this one to my daughter!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car

by carguy from | September 25, 2010

Great car overall. I have owned 3 LS's now. A 2000, 2002 and a 2006. Lincoln had some issues with ignition coils and cheap interior materials on the earlier models. But for the money, you cant beat the near perfect weight ballance, V8 power and rear wheel drive. This car is a blast to drive. It's too bad Lincoln replaced the LS with the front wheel drive V6 MKS. They just dont compare in driving dynamics. Plus, the LS had much better looks that the current line of Lincolns.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Power, Performance and Reliability

by woman driver from Fort Worth, Texas | April 14, 2010

I have owned this car for 7 yrs and never had a major problem. Love the performance of a V8. Love the style and comfort.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


V8

by Shipoopi from Oklahoma City, Ok | October 31, 2009

I traded a 1997 Ford truck for my 2000 Lincoln LS V8. I've only had issues with mine. Spark plugs and coil packs ruined from a leaky valve cover gasket. Front drivers seat quit. Got it out of the shop with a bill over 1300. Just replaced tires and got it alligned, shop owner told me to get rid of it. Now the next time I need an allignment, I have to change the ball bearings. Also this car keeps telling me it is over heating. I pull over pop the hood, NOT HOT! I've replaced the termometer twice, does no good. So there is clearly a computer issue. Every day I go out to start my car I hope it starts, every time I drive it I hope it gets me to where I need to go, on time and safely! Other then soooo many mechanical and computer issues it is extremely comfortable to drive!!! It also will get it quick! But I find it is to small for me, my husband, and our three dogs. I'm currently looking for a RELIABLE SUV. Being a Ford product and a Ford fan I expected much better when I bought this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


sexy

by lincoln fan from | October 9, 2009

this car is a sleek and luxurious car. its features are exquisite.its cup holders are nice and clean the car itself is very spacious and is family friendly. the Lincoln ls is very reliable and can be used by old and young people .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Services for this Lincoln LS

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.