1997 Lincoln Mark VIII

Change Vehicle
1997 Lincoln Mark VIII

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  Mark VIII 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$473–$6,633
Estimated MPG

18 city / 25.9 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Purchasing used Marks

by Farmer Dave from Marysville, CA | July 28, 2013

If you can find a low mileage sample of these cars buy it. Lincoln makes nothing in rear wheel drive now that compares. Powertrain is quite reliable, however electrical gremlins can be a problem and expensive to fix if you are not a DIY er

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


NAAASSSSCAAARRRR

by call me Jimmie from mobile, AL | June 15, 2012

I used my big block chevy hemi v 10 silverado lariat TRD off-road with beer injection for off-roadin after nascar races on the weekend (jimmie johnson is number 1 my hero, dale earnhart rip) and it blew a head gasket in the axel and my wife told me to sell it so i got a linkon mark 8 instead and lifted it9 98 3/26' and put it on 23 in mickey thompson offroad wheels on goodyear tires for muddin (because jimmie uses goodyear) and this car is a peach off-road, its not just a luckshury cruiser but its a hardcore hill climbin machine, nos up to 1000 hp and it flies

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car


It is a shame that Lincoln stopped making it

by Lincoln in Naples from Naples, Fl | June 10, 2012

I have always been in love with the second generation Mark VIII, since it was released in 1997. I call one of my MK 8's the Millennium Falcon, especially at night when the neon lights fill the back end with a single glow. I call my Black LSC Darth Vader since it has no chrome and it wears the black mask. The aerodynamics on this car are incredible, in 1993 Ford engineers took a stock MK 8 to the salt flats and ran at 182 Miles per hour, with the stock 295 HP cobra motor. The interior is far ahead of it time and one of the most ergonomic designs ever produced by a US car co. Turn signal diodes inside the side mirrors were 7 years ahead in time. The air suspension was 17 years ahead and Mercedes S Class adopts the design in 2000. The fuel economy at 27 MPG is great and the passing power on two lane roads is out of this world, 60 to 90 in few seconds. It is too bad that Lincoln stopped making this beautiful design to produce a 6000 LBS navigator that drives like a woolly mammoth and looks kike a box of rocks. Hopefully Ford will bring back the Mark 8 .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Cant believe this is a 1997!

by luv Lincoln from | April 3, 2012

I needed a car to get around and came across this wonderful car with its interior so modern looking leather seats, moon roof and electric everything wow! I bought with some exterior damage but the low mileage won me over. I know it needs some TLC and altho its a down grade for me Im enjoying this car just as much

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great, if you're mechanically inclined

by commander cody from SW MO | October 24, 2011

These are great vehicles, but have a number of issues that can be expensive to repair or maintain if you can't do the work yourself. Great online support group with answers to most issues.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


classsy classic

by Handshake from Texas | April 16, 2011

This Lincoln Mark vlll has features that are ahead of it's time. It is fast, smooth and handles well for it's size and weight. It attracts more attention than I am comfortable with but that is a small price to pay.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


what a lemon

by polarbear from Denver, Co. | June 6, 2010

it appears that majority of repairs cost about $1,500.00. HID headlight replacement for much less quality halogen lighting. Air ride suspension. And finally I hope air blend doot for a/c-heat. Cadillac Eldorado will outrun it in mountains especially front wheel drive in snow. Would not recommend unless you are prepared to put more money into it than it is worth.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


best deal on a car i've ever gotten

by ford man from washington d.c. | August 22, 2009

bought one with 165000 miles and runs great. has alot of features that modern day cars don't have...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Timeless elegance and luxury

by EnergyFX from DC | April 28, 2008

The Mark VIII is over a decade old and still fits right in with modern luxury and styling. Features like the 4 way power steering column adjustment, memory profiles, and trip computer and diagnostic system are features you still may or may not find in todays so called luxury cars. If you are a tall person you may find your legs a bit cramped in the drivers area.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Ahead of its time

by Jay from Cleveland, OH | February 7, 2008

Great car, very stylish. My friends think my 1997 is a 2004. And all my passengers love the interior and the auto gilde seats!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Lincoln Mark VIII

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.