2010 Lotus Elise

Change Vehicle
2010 Lotus Elise
Available in 2 styles:  2010 Lotus Elise Convertible shown
Asking Price Range
Get Value
Estimated MPG

20–21 city / 26–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

Don't listen to narrow minded reviews

by True lotus fan from WH, FL | July 7, 2014

Those saying they paid $70,000 are lying or guilble. Fully loaded and brand new doesn't even come close. This car is NOT a daily driver. It's not comfortable. It's not full of features. Why? Because this isn't a fufu car. It's a car that has rivaled and set a standard that many other cars including the corvette, henessey veron and others use in part of their designs. It has proven itself that many others have copied and or followed. This car isn't for bell and whistles. It isn't for top speed. It's a master of a track day. It's super fast if you learn how to drive it. Power comes in around 6500 rpms. Excellent mpg, light, handles curves like NO other. Those who are shallow minded have exactly that in reviews. Look at any reputable testing of this car and you will never find a bad review unless it's from people on here who gave it low ratings.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Truely different than all others

by WeekendRacer from | October 31, 2013

I have owned 2 Lotus Elises (06 Elise and an 08 Elise SC). I have also owned an 05 Corvette and several other sports cars and muscle cars. I've also had seat time in several German performance cars such as 911s and an M5. I am very much a sports car enthusiast, but I should point out that my main interest has always been with American muscle cars. I use these cars as both daily drivers and track day cars. While I still love Corvettes, Mustangs, Camaros, and anything else with a big V8, I can honestly say that my favorite car is now the Lotus Elise. While it's completely different in just about every way, it gives me every bit as much enjoyment as those other sports cars plus some. Before, I thought a great sports car was something with ridiculous power and the ability to pull big G-forces in the curves. That might get you your best lap time in some cases, but it's not the most fun way to get around a road course or your daily commute! Once you have driven an Elise, everything else feels like a blunt instrument. My 2nd favorite car is the Corvette, but even it feels bloated and numb to me. The 911 can't hold a candle to an Elise in terms of feel and nimbleness either, and it's maintenance costs are somewhat ridiculous. If you want a daily driver with decent trunk space, a comfortable ride, and the ability to perform well at track days or the drag strip, try a C6 or C7 Corvette. If you are a exceptionally large, old, or need tons of creature comforts, stay away from Lotus. However, if you want to go fast (almost as fast as a Corvette or 911 in most cases) and feel completely in tune with the machine that you are driving then the ONLY choice is a Lotus. I know there is nothing below $80k that will put as big of a smile on your face, and I doubt that even an unlimited budget would buy you as much pure fun. This car will show you new levels of control and communication, and it will make you a better driver.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


The Quintessential Driver's Car

by Seduced from Dallas, TX | March 23, 2011

It took a leap of faith to buy this car, because it is so different from everything else on the road. However, 3000 miles later, I feel completely justified in my choice. This is a true driver's car, with razor-sharp steering, prodigious handling and enough power to embarrass quite a few "bigger" cars. It takes some practice to get in and out of, given its small dimensions, but once inside, you can't help but grin because the driving experience is so rewarding. Features are few: air conditioning, radio and... that's about it! The trunk? Very, very small. But once you are on the road and start negotiating the first turns with the engine at full song just behind you, all concerns about practicality will disappear...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


All about the feel

by 111R fan from Boston Ma | January 5, 2011

I have owned the 2005 version of this car, which differs only slightly from the current versions for 2 years now. It's not a muscle car, and if you want to drag race there are faster cars for cheaper. What this car excels at is cornering. Horsepower isn't everything. The first time I tracked this car I had no trouble keeping up with a driver in a much higher HP mustang, who also had a lot more experience than me. He would pull away some on the straights, but by the end of each corner I'd be almost filling his rear view mirror. Hp is not everything. Also note that the Elise is class champion or 2nd place at the nationals in almost every autocross class where it is legal to run an elise (SSM being the major exception, with nobody running an fully prepared elise there). These cars are fast and corner like they are on rails if you know how to drive one. They do require a different driving style than muscle cars. Never had any reliability problems even with auto crossing the car regularly for 2 summers. Also there are several good sources for performance upgrades to these cars including CF parts, big brake kits, and supercharging (but I'm not supposed to mention vendors here).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The Lotus is THAT good

by Lotus from Orlando, FL | January 3, 2011

As a former open wheel racer, this is as close as you can get to a daily driver open wheel car. The guys who recommend the anything else are more than likely old, over weight, or in poor physical condition....maybe all three :-). Getting in and out is not bad. I also looked at the GTR but wanted to keep this car for a little while. The maint. costs on a GTR are over the moon - look at total cost to own and the Elise is much cheaper in the long run. Z06's are great as well, but you seem them all over - I wanted something a little more rare and nimble.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Most fun on 4 wheels with your clothes on

by true sports car from Toronto | January 3, 2011

If, and only if, you are a sports car enthusiast, you will love this car like no other. It is light, it doesn't have (or need) the electronic gadgets compensating for poor driving skills or too much weight. It is pure. It is fast, but if you are looking for a muscle car, this isn't it. This car LOVES curves. No lean, no complaints. Despite having all of the good qualities of a street-legal go-kart, it is surprisingly comfortable. I have driven mine as my only car for the whole summer. I only got a second car when winter started closing in. I have put 12K on the car, both commuting to work and on long road trips. It even gets great gas mileage - I'm sure it has the best fuel economy of any car that can do 0-60 in under 5 seconds! Most people think it is over $100K and everyone wants to talk about it at the gas station. I have never had my picture taken so much. Little do they know it only costs as much as a well optioned minivan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Ecstacy on wheels

by brgelise from CT | January 3, 2011

First to neutralize the haters. It has everything you need and nothing you don't. AC works when needed though top off operation is preferred. Frankly, I do 300 mile, nonstop drives in it and the eats are great. Works for me. Will it beat a brute 400-500 hp car down a straightaway? No! In a skilled driver's hand will it corner with any of them.? Unequivicably yes! Those STi's and their AWD mask the weaknesses of the less skilled. Even more so for the GTR. Talk about electronannies! This is the MOST pure, readily available car on the road today. It also happens to easily get 30mpg on the highway. It doesn't take much skill to drive in a straight line fast. It takes a lot of skill to drive a Lotus quickly on a track! My Elise is a 2005. It has been bulletproof reliable and gets driven 3000-4000miles per year with 5-12 track days being pushed very hard. Not a single part has broken and motor never burns ANY oil.To me the Lotus is stunning while the GTR should wear a shroud. I owned a STi for 5 years and loved it but realized my driving skills weren't improving with the AWD so it got sold and STi got kept. Yes at a track with long straights the STi had a higher top end but it just wasn't as much fun nor was it as rewarding to drive at the limit like my Elise. I will patiently await till 2013-2015 to replace it with a new Elan or Elise.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Like nothing else

by Lotus Driver from | January 3, 2011

This is one amazing car, IF you buy it for the right reasons and have the right expectatinos. It is small, low, light, and sparse...but those are intentional design decisions and the key feature of this car. If you don't understand why less is more would be a desirable feature, this car is probably wrong for you. Getting in and out of the car is not like jumping in or out of a large sedan, it is low and very tightly engineered, but the tucked in feel is something I love. If you are overweight or obese, this will be a limitation of this car for you; I am 6 ft+ at 160 lbs. The seats have thinner padding than most, which I do not find uncomfortable, but you might. This opinion of comfort is based on 2 road trips of about 700 miles each. Buy this car if you want a very intimate driving experience with the road, are not looking for the ride and feal of a luxury car in your sports car, and love what lotus stands for and their unique car philosopy. Don't buy this car expecting it to be a big horse power luxury sports car (meaning heavy)...it simply isn't...and you will end up in the same boat as many other reviewers here -- disappointed with a car that is what it is despite some people's wishes for it to be something else entirely. If you are interested in the car, and want to learn more, visit LotusTalk.com or BritishSpeed.com, and leard more first...Don't be one to jump blindly then complain because it is not like other cars...you should know this going in... No one should feel bad or be insulted if this car is not for you, it is not for most, and that's ok. I certainly don't care that some people have told me how uncomfortable, loud, bumpy, etc, etc, etc this car is to them...you buy a car for you, not for them. BUT...that is exactly why I love this car more than any I have ever owned, even ones 2-3x more expensive...because it is not like any other car...but for the right person it is simply amazing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Track Car

by Bibi from Flagstaff, AZ | January 3, 2011

Unlike some of the tools complaining here about the car it is clear that they did not do their homework. The car does perform on par with cars costing 3x more. To me it is as much of a track car as it is my daily driver. Yes getting in and out takes some getting used to but this is not your mama's van! Crearture comforts are there but people forget the purpose, the reason this car was made and they expect the same thing as they did out of their Honda Accord. I am very happy with the car, maintenance is easy and fairly inexpensive if you know something about cars if not it can get $$$$!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Get a Real Track Car

by Get Serious from Toledo | October 29, 2010

My Lotus cost 43k not 70k, but it is the base model with 200hp. This car is no track star. In fact I can easily call it the SmartCar of the racing circuit. The handling is great, but you sacrifice hp, comfort, and the basic amenities found in cars of this price range. The ride is downrite god-awful. After 3 months of ownership, I got rid of it and bought a Subaru STI which cost me less than the Lotus and beats the Lotus on the track every time. Is the Lotus Elise a "Pure Track Car"? It's more of a "Pure Track Dog". Get a real car .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Services for this Lotus Elise

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.