1998 Mazda 626

Change Vehicle
1998 Mazda 626

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  626 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$635–$4,959
Estimated MPG

21–26 city / 27–33 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Best car ever

by Wrecked from Indianapolis | May 2, 2014

I wrote a review for this car in 2010 with the name of "Mazdas are cool" or something like that. Four years later it was still the best car that I could've ever owned. I crashed it into a tree going about 30-40 mph but still managed to walk away fine, the car was totaled but I was totally fine. I thank Mazda for making such a nice car that probably saved my life. After 16 years and 224,000 miles, I had only two problems with it: the fuel pump went out and the horn quit working (cost about $337 to fix). Ironically, the day after I repaired the car, I totaled it. Undoubtedly, the best car anyone could own. The seats were comfortable too, and it was a thrill to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love this car!!

by April from Saint Paul, MN | January 24, 2014

I received this car as a gift from one of my father's friends about a year ago. The car had sat in his driveway for about 6 months and I was worried it wasn't going to be a good car and that I was going to get stuck with a piece of junk. A year later it is running just fine and I have had no major problems. It holds up to the Minnesota weather like A CHAMP! It starts up an the first try even in our -30 degree weather. This car runs so smooth I'm so happy to have such a reliable car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Flawless car

by Mazdas are cool from Indianapolis, Indiana | April 13, 2010

My mom purchased this car from a rental company in 1998, and it became a hand-me-down for me. So far, even to 2010 it has only had one small problem. The brakes are a little noisy and thats about it. The only thing that I don't like about it thats its old and you can't hold that agaisnt the car. I would totally get another Mazda for my next car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very reliable

by average guy from Bristol, TN | June 9, 2009

I have had this car for a year now. I bought it with 115K miles on it for 2,800 and now it has 128K miles. There have been no major mechanical issues and it runs great every time. I average about 30 mpg city and 35 mpg highway with the 2.0 5spd. It got me through this last year just fine, very reliable carm couldnt ask for better. Performance is even pretty good with the 5spd manual anyway and the handling is great. It has saved me from a couple possible accidents. Mazda knew what they were doing on this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


zoomzoomzoom

by 1lasttime2 from Memphis, TN | March 17, 2009

I bought this car new off the lot with 5 miles on it. Right now it has 350000+. NO major problems at all, like the energizer bunny, it keeps going and going and going! Never left me stranded, always starts 1st time! Takes curves like a champ! EXCELLENT automobile!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Too bad I wrecked it!

by Allison from West Des Moines, IA | January 12, 2009

I got my 1998 Mazda from the original owner in 2003. GREAT CAR! I never had any problems! It rides smooth and handles well. Mine, a manual, has nice pick up and is fun to drive. I'm not a fan of traction control, as when it's slippery, I feel that I have NO control. Other than that, I have no complaints. One interesting fact: it has oscillating vents in the center. Kind of a cool feature. I just wrecked it last week so I'm looking for a replacement. It's difficult to find something after being spoiled with my Mazda for 5 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Also best car I'VE ever had

by NYDGH from Candor, NY | November 2, 2008

We bought this in December, '05 for $3,000 at 141k miles. Now has 176k, no noteworthy problems (both CV axles and a some carboned fuel injection sensor issue, or something), runs strong, never left me stranded, 35-37mpg with the 2.0 manual transmission, even the AC still works like new! It is comfortable yet hugs the dips and turns on our country roads.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


best car i have had.

by going for 200,000 miles! from FL | February 28, 2007

"Most Reliable Car I've Owned". I bought it new in 1998 and now have over 144,000 miles and never had a single problem. V6 Still runs strong and trans. is great. Highly recommended!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Apealing car, bad reliability

by HLMM from Honduras | October 6, 2006

Broke four times in 8 months. Last time a hose rip and all tranny oil lost. New tranny required. No less than $2,500 in repairs. no motors problems biggest flaw is the tranny. It?s a shame 'cause is agood looking car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda 626

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.