2000 Mazda 626

Change Vehicle
2000 Mazda 626
Available in 4 styles:  2000 Mazda 626 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$954–$6,890
Estimated MPG

21–26 city / 27–32 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

NEVER PUT ME DOWN... TAKEN MANY LONG TRIPS

by GHANDHI from SARASOTA | August 24, 2011

HAVE THIS CAR AND IVE TAKEN MANY TRIPS FROM FLORIDA TO OHIO AND HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM. VERY RELIABLE AND RUNS PERFECT.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Not so reliable.

by Frank M from Inveress, Florida | August 11, 2010

I have own this car for about three years now, and had really bad headaches with this car. When I brought the vehicle, it had around 68,000 miles on it and I'll drive 20,000 in the last three years. In that timeframe, I had to replaces/repair the A/C compressor, engine oil leaks, alternator, and radiator. So the reliability is not so good in the high miles area. But it has its pros and cons. PROS -very comfortable -Price is reasonable -Boss system is very good -Good gas miles CONS -Not Reliability -Speed is not so great -Runs high on RPMs -Performance is low

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Amazing Vehicle for the Price

by Mazda Man from Chapel Hill, TN | March 21, 2010

This car is amazing for short. There is a little more road noise than expected. This is my first vehicle and I absolutely love it. I drive it to school, work, and home everday. I only have to fill it up about once a week. Overall, i would recommend this car to a first time driver.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


So Far So Good...

by hey882 from California, CA | February 7, 2010

I can say this car is a good car to have it for transporting stuff like to places within one or two hours. However, this car doesn't seems to have the great big power when you do the "kick-down"...All it have is the sound but not the speed. Also the CD player is not that good because it comes from the manufacture and so the CD player cannot read MP3 files...so which i went to get a new player so it can read the disc. So if you are not a music person this car will suit you unless you want to pay more money for better quality things. Overall I will say this is a good car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very good and cost-effective car!

by Weinon from Dallas | December 2, 2009

Very good and cost-effective car! Nice looking like Bentz, solid body, generally good performance, and better price than most similar cars!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Cost-effective, solid car!

by Peter from Plano | November 28, 2009

A solid, cost-effective car! Rarely down in cold, hot weathers. The body looks more solid than most Japanese cars (better metal, alloys). Starting a little at green light, which may be better for safety. Better price than compared with equivalent-quality Toyota Camry.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Issue with Collant Reservoir

by Disappointed from | November 21, 2009

There is a known issue with the coolant reservoir. You have to change it all the time. I just recently had to change it again and previously changed it three years ago. This is a known issue with the car but the Mazda people know this is a money maker for them so, they make the coolant reservoir as minimum as possible and with no warranty and you have to replace it often. They charge you around $150 for the part itself when it only costs around $40 for labor to replace. The dealer has told me time and time again that there is nothing they can do about it that this will happen often as long as I have this car. I previously had a Saturn SL1-1993 and lasted me for a while up to 190,000 miles and I sold it in great shape and it is still running today. I never had to change the coolant tank on that thing once and never had a major issue with that car until I hit around 165,000 miles. Currently I am only at 140,000 miles on the Mazda and I have had to change this thing twice!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Good all aroung city car.

by RJ from Wichita Ks. | November 21, 2009

The 626 4cyd. auto is a good all around car for it's class. Avg.22-24 mpg city, and 26-30 hwy. Had the car for 8 years, if buying one again would get extended warranty for any thing over 70,000 miles. Repairs can be expensive. These are basic transportation and should be veiwed as such. They can be unconfort- able on long trips. Power is good but at highspeeds iffy when passing. Makes good work or student car. Would buy another but only if the interior was up graded to better seats. The car should be maintained by dealer and have extended warranty, make sure when buying that all regular maintance has been done according to manufacture.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Do not recommend

by katmcginty from Woodway, TX | October 21, 2009

Although it can be a good car, its appearance is nothing to write home about and the reliability factor is suspect. My 2000 model has stranded me twice in the 14 months that I have owned it, most recently for a broken transmission cable that is going to cost me upwards of $400.00 to repair. While searching the internet for descriptions of this problem, I encountered an alarming number of reported problems with the transmission on this model - none of the problems have been acknowledged by Mazda and none of the owners have been recompensed by the company or by dealerships. My transmission has yet to fail me, but I wouldn't take the risk. Buy another car - my next will be a Honda or a Toyota.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


no

by shelly b from Burlington IA | February 5, 2009

I bought this car used and have problems in as little as 6 months after purchsing. I have put 2 transmissions in it and its still messed up not worth all the money I put into it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda 626

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.